Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,714 reviews)
5 stars
1,702
4 stars
583
3 stars
314
2 stars
245
1 star
870
2,154 out of 2,968(73%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Glenn
City:fort saskatchewan
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
problems with signing in
Date:July 10, 2013
Cannot get into the sign-in page to access my accounts. Why Not????
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 13, 2013
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to Online Banking, Glenn.

Please visit www.cibc.com to sign on to CIBC Online Banking.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen.
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have forgotten your Online Banking password or have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at logging in, you can reset the password online.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password.

Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:JohnON
City:Tiverton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
System clunky
Date:July 17, 2013
The features are good (online access, paying bills, transfers, alerts etc) but I get anoyed with some of the interfaces. The worst is the messages where I have too many clicks to delete them. Also, the system keeps kicking me out and requiring my password again even after a break of less than a minute.
One more thing- Terms and Conditions for posting - I have no trouble agreeing to them, but why do you have to demand that I have READ them? This is not a legal contract and even when I deal with legal contracts, my lawyer summarizes the non-intuitive points in just a few sentences. That "have READ" statement for comment posting lowers my rating another star.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC Moderator July 26, 2013
Thanks for your suggestions.

If CIBC Online Banking is open and there's no activity for 10 minutes, the session will expire (time-out). This means that there was no movement between screens or features in Online Banking. Typing is not considered as a movement. This feature was put in place to ensure the security of your Online Banking transactions.

You can minimize your session time-outs by following these tips:

- If your transaction is taking longer than expected try to continue interacting with Online Banking to keep your session active.
- Your CIBC Online Banking session becomes inactive while you are on third-party sites. Try to limit your time on the third-party site to only a short period of time or sign off from Online Banking.
- Access CIBC Online Banking directly by going to www.cibconline.cibc.com - don't use an embedded browser.
- To navigate back and forth in CIBC Online Banking, use the site's navigation keys. Don't use your browser's "back" and "forward" buttons.

If you are still experiencing issues, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Scipio
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
CREDIT CARD INTEREST
Date:July 18, 2013
In the credit card monthly statements you do not show the interest charged. Please correct this by adding an entry in the VISA and MASTER CHARGE credit card statements showing the interest charged.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC Moderator July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We can confirm the interest charge transactions are displayed in CIBC Online Banking within my “My Account” section.

This information is also accessible online if you registered for eStatements. For information about eStatements, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html.

Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Need some extra features
Date:July 19, 2013
I would like to see money transfers to other bank accounts such as TD,ROYAL,BMO through online banking , I know email money transfer works but its fees are high. Also there shouldn't be additional fees to use other ATM machines.
All banks try to profit from clients , the service part is doesn't exist.
Response from CIBC:By Tanya CIBC ModeratorJuly 24, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion.

I regret that this feature is currently not available.

Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service. Your remarks have been noted for review.

Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
online like dial-up
Date:July 29, 2013
Cibc.com loaded without field Card Number. This field loded with delay 2-3 minutes. The field actually loaded, I was find it occasionally when left it unattended. Online dial-up service.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 31, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We would like to investigate this further. Please send us an e-mail via https://www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html or call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 to initiate an investigation. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Sherwood Park
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Visa transactions take FOREVER to show online
Date:July 29, 2013
I also have a bank account with another bank and I never have this problem.. It should not take 5-7 days to upload transactions or payments on my credit card. I am frustrated and disappointed in the lack of urgency and would love to see you improve this system.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 31, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

For CIBC credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by up to two business days. For information on credit card payment processing time, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=credit+card+payment+I+just+made+reflected+on+my+balance.

If you wish to review your real time transactions, please call CIBC Credit Card Services directly at 1-800-465-4653.

Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Andy
City:Richmond
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
too difficult to get around web site
Date:July 30, 2013
I want to see my statements for my Aerogold card on line. why am I asked to complete a survey before proceeding to where I can sign up?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, Andy. Please send us a screen shot of the survey you received. Please forward the screenshot to fraud@cibc.com.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:alzh
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Convenience is average
Date:July 31, 2013
I can never log into my online banking account if I am not in my normal province of residence. This is VERY bad since I can't pay my visa bills right away and then end up getting charged.
It's a good service though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
We apologize to read of your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking. If you experience the same problem again while you are travelling, please contact CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 for immediate assistance.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Qmaster
City:Parksville
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC Service
Date:July 31, 2013
I needed some financial assistance today. The website said that the Parksville branch was open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., however they do not open until 9:30 a.m. When I asked to see a loan's officer, I was informed that none would be available today. I took my business to another bank in the area and they had me in and out with my business complete in 15 minutes. That is service!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
We hate to see you go. Transit 00742, located at 130 Morison Ave. in Parksville is opened Monday to Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., and Saturday, 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. It is the best to book a branch appointment in advance. To do so, please visit phttps://www.cibc.com/ca/redirect/locator.html.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Cranbrook
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
sign on
Date:August 3, 2013
After I came back form holidays at the end of May, I have to go to a sign on page that takes me to another sign on page. which sometimes take me to another sign on page This is an exercise in redundancy and is becoming frustrating to the point that I am thinking of changing bank, after fourty year with CIBC
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 12, 2013
We are concerned with the problem you have been experiencing as this is not a common occurrence.

We would like to investigate this further. Please send us an e-mail via https://www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html. Once we receive the details of your situation, we will respond to you shortly.

Alternatively, for immediate assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. If you don't have a Telephone Banking password, at the start of your call press 0 to be connected to a representative. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you're calling from abroad, the number is 1-902-420-2422.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:libz
City:St. Andrews
Province: NB
Online Banking: Not registered
cannot sign on
Date:August 6, 2013
Quite frequently this site will not allow me to log in. I provide the correct log in information and it says I incorrectly answered my personal verification question. Normally within a few days it will let me on with the SAME information I was entering the entire time. Now normally it will correct itself, so it's not an issue of providing incorrect information. This has been on going since I set up my online banking. Now I am trying to accept an e-transfer, it will not allow me to sign in, and hasn't for 6 days. I am getting extremely frustrating, I have had CIBC for 10 years now and am seriously considering going elsewhere, where this isn't an issue
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We're sorry to learn of the difficulties that you are experiencing with your access to the CIBC Online Banking Services.

We would like to investigate this further. Please send us an e-mail via https://www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html or call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 to initiate an investigation. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Diane
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Transactions on credit card bills always late.
Date:August 8, 2013
I like banking online but sometimes it can be frustrating because when you buy something today it will show after a week which can be annoying. I like paying my bills at the end of the month but because of the delay, I have to wait and wait until all the transactions are there. The amount you owe doesn't add up, because the amount you owe is already updated but the transactions are not there yet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC Moderator August 12, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion to view pending credit card transactions through CIBC Online Banking.

We're always looking for ways to improve the Online Banking experience for our clients. Feedback like yours’ help us to determine areas that need our immediate attention.

As client recommendations are given a high priority in the development of our bank, I have noted your concern and it has been sent to the appropriate area to review.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Mr rollo
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
I just checked my chequeing account
Date:August 9, 2013
Very disappointed they over drew me by $6.00 can you beleave this I never use that account much seeing as I'm a great costomer I have a loc , visa , chq, all in great standing order , for 6.00 you would think they would give us a break lol not ! And another thing I have been waiting for a manager form another Cibc office to call me to this day nothing I have left Msg Meg I even got a call from someone from the Cibc head office nothing to this day !
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:smgs
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
ratae online access credit card
Date:August 9, 2013
I find it difficult to pinpoint where the link to online access for credit card statements, etc. It is all about the sign on to a card and benefits, etc. very frustraring!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Arthur
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Security Questions everytime I try to sign on!!
Date:August 12, 2013
Everytime, for the last few months I have tried to sign on, I am asked to answer a security question. I did have to do this every once in a while before but not evry time. Today I was asked a question that i knew the answer to but it told me it was wrong and I am now unable to get in to my online banking. I have to call and sit on the phone to fix this problem. Is a password not enough????????? Why does there have to be a security question to get on?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 14, 2013
I'm sorry to read about your difficulties signing on to Online Banking.

If you've forgotten your personal verification answers and have been locked out of Online Banking, please call Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.

Please note that clients are not required to complete this each time they sign into their accounts. Once you have established your Personal Verification Questions you will only need to access this page again if you forget your Online Banking password, and occasionally, you may be prompted to answer one of the Personal Verification Questions you have set up.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:CASsie
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
When it works, it works well...
Date:August 15, 2013
Historically, I've usually had a good experience however when I received my replacement card, I had to re-register for online banking, where I'm asked for my previous statement balance (which can be found from the last statement CIBC mailed me, according to the website).
As I've moved to online banking, I also moved to e-statements only, I cannot find out my last statement balance because I cannot log in!! It's a silly circle.
A right pain, as I'm currently travelling overseas and am lost without my card!!
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 21, 2013
Thank you for pointing out how we can improve the features of Online Banking.

Your feedback is important to us, as the information is utilized to identify our Online Banking functionality and performance opportunities for a more positive customer experience. Your suggestion has been noted for review.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Experienced user
City:Erin
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC INTERNET BANKING
Date:August 16, 2013
Changes to site means can no longer access via Internet Explorer which I use plus the log in via Google Chrome, the necessary alternative, is difficult....and all to try to sell us more credit cards!!
No interest from customer services in the problem
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 21, 2013
We welcome your suggestions.

Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. We welcome feedback about the content of future upgrades to our Online Banking services. Your comments have been noted and submitted for review.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC never ceases to amaze me with their idiocy
Date:August 17, 2013
The only positive of CIBC's online banking is that you don't have to deal with a useless teller who doesn't know how to process basic transactions.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 21, 2013
I regret to read of your impression of the service at a CIBC Branch.

We would like the opportunity to change your opinion. Please write to us at https://www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

We would like to escalate your experience to the appropriate department to resolve.

Thank you for your time.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:clies
City:Saint Laurent
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
Useless
Date:September 5, 2013
Transaction wise, nothing to say, the website is a good tool. Regarding the questions and contact with the internet communication specialists: completely useless. Asked several questions regading some products, web specialist had no clue what I was talking about. Poor answers also for other general questions like is it safe to pay with Visa and that or that website.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorSeptember 10, 2013
I regret to read that you had an unsatisfactory experience through our online channel.

We would like the opportunity to answer your questions regarding CIBC products or services. Please direct your questions to us using either of the following methods:

1. Sign on to CIBC Online Banking and send us a secure message through the Online Banking Message Centre.

2. Send us a regular e-mail by competing the online form at https://www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

Please note: To avoid getting an automated response, please select “Other” and “Other” form the dropdown menu.

In your correspondence with us, please place BV#45713723 in the subject line.

We will respond to you shortly.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Port Perry
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
email contact
Date:September 11, 2013
I sent an email into the CIBC website on Aug 26th requesting that my
personal banker contact me and they replied that she would within 2 days.
I never received a call from her and that is not unusual. I never receive calls back from her!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorSeptember 12, 2013
I am sorry to read that you have not yet been contacted.

I received the requested contact information and have forwarded it to the CIBC Branch Manager to review.

I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. You will be contacted shortly.

Thank you for your feedback.
1541-1560 out of 2263 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 114 next>>