Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.513 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,920 reviews)
5 stars
1,773
4 stars
607
3 stars
336
2 stars
265
1 star
939
2,217 out of 3,061(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Secure
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Halifax
Province: NS
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
signing on line
Date:April 24, 2012
when my password is not recognized all attemps to reset it fail -- something wrong with your sytem response?
C Yeates
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorApril 25, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with the sign on to Online Banking, C. Yeates.

If you entered the wrong card number and password 3 times, your password may have been suspended. To reset your password, please call Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. If you don't have a Telephone Banking password, at the start of your call press 0 twice to be connected to a representative. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Secure
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Halifax
Province: NS
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:April 28, 2012
Very difficult to set up an account. I tryed 3 times to do it then they put me with the opperator for an hour and I gave up, soon after.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorApril 30, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with registering for CIBC Online Banking.

To register for CIBC Online Banking, you’ll need your CIBC debit card and a 3-digit Telephone Banking password or a 6-digit temporary CIBC Online Banking password. If you use the 3-digit Telephone Banking password, you will be prompted to enter the transit and account number for one of the accounts attached to your debit card.

You can find that information by reviewing your bank account statement or one of your personal cheques. At the bottom of your cheque, there will be a 5-digit number, which is your branch transit number, followed by a 3-digit number, which is CIBC's financial institution number (010) and finally a 7-digit number, which is your account number.

If you don't have a CIBC debit card, you can register using your CIBC credit card. To do this, you’ll need your CIBC credit card and most recent CIBC credit card statement.

To register from the CIBC homepage:

1. Select the "Register" link located on the right hand side.
2. Enter your card number and press "Next".
3. Enter your 3 digit Telephone Banking/6-digit temporary Online Banking Password, Account Number and Transit Number, and press “Next”.
4. Read the Electronic Access Agreement and select "I Agree" to continue.
5. Following the instructions on the screen, set up 2 different personal verification questions and answers. Confirm the answers and select "Next".
6. Choose a 6 to 12 character password and enter it. This password can be letters or numbers or both, and is case-sensitive. Special Characters are not allowed.
7. Enter the password again for confirmation and select "Next”.
8. You will receive confirmation that you have registered successfully. Select "Start CIBC Online Banking" to continue.

If you need help with registering for CIBC Online Banking, please call CIBC Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Secure
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Prince George
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
CIBC
Date:June 12, 2012
Your bank is only barely adequate at best. I am looking for another bank that offers better rates and does not make changes to customer accounts without consent.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJune 20, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

CIBC is committed to protecting the privacy and security of your personal account information and your financial transactions. Since the online public form is not a secure medium of communication, we are unable to respond to online reviews involving personal banking information.

We welcome you to contact CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422 to discuss your interest rates and account types with a representative. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Secure
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Coquitlam
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
on-line banking (VISA)
Date:June 15, 2012
On several occasions I have been asked for my card number and password, have entered them correctly and have been refused entry - and no, my CAPS Lock has not been turned on.
Attempts to reenter these numbers have failed and I have had to phone in to reestablish connections.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJune 20, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with accessing Online Banking with your CIBC Visa.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that you have entered the credit card number and password correctly.

If you are unable to sign in, you may be able to regain access online by re-registering for Online Banking. To do this, you’ll need your CIBC credit card and the most recent CIBC credit card statement.

To register from the CIBC homepage:

1. Select the "Register" link located on the right hand side.
2. Enter your credit card number. Select "Next".
3. Following the instructions on the screen, enter your credit card details, date of birth and statement information.
4. Read the Electronic Access Agreement and select "I Agree" to continue.
5. Set up two personal verification questions and answers then click "Next".
6. Choose a 6 to 12 character password and enter it. This password can be letters or numbers or both, and is case-sensitive.
7. Enter the password again and click "Next" to continue.
8. Click "Start Online Banking".

If it doesn’t work, please call us at 1-888-872-2422. We will clear your old password and allow you to access Online Banking again. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
getting to on-line banking
Date:June 30, 2012
generally getting on to the on-line banking page is a one or two step process that just takes moments. Something has changed overnight, and instead of a minute or two, I was jumping around TRYING to find the actual site where I could log in - over 5 minutes - going back and forth. What the heck happened to the easy, simple CUSTOMER FRIENDLY
process. I don't want all the ads, I want to bank and get on to other things!!!! Put it back the way it was, thanks very much! Wouldn't recommend it for this reason.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJuly 10, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with locating the CIBC Online Banking sign on page.

To access CIBC Online Banking, simply visit www.cibc.com. The sign on panel is located on the right side of the page.

For assistance, please call Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Personal Budget Tools
Date:July 6, 2012
Please make the personal budget tools for visa cards available for bank accounts
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJuly 9, 2012
Thank you for your suggestion, Tish. Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our Online Banking service.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Kamloops
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
????
Date:July 11, 2012
frequently, I find that using the sign on is very, very annoying in that I constantly have to type in my customer account number because it soesn't remember my card number from one session to the next which could sometimes only be a couple of days!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJuly 12, 2012
I'm sorry to learn that you are having difficulties saving your CIBC card number to your computer.

When using this feature, you must:
- accept persistent cookies
- accept session cookies

To set Internet Explorer 6.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. Select "Tools" from browser menu bar and then "Internet Options…".
2. Select the "Privacy" tab.
3. Select the "Advanced… " button.
4. Select the "Override automatic cookie handling" option.
5. Select "Always allow session cookies" and then select the OK button.
6. Select the OK button on the Internet Options window.

To set Firefox 3.0 for Windows or later to accept cookies:
1. Choose "Options" from the "Tools" menu
2. Select the "Privacy" icon in the "Options" menu
3. To enable cookies, check the "Accept cookies from sites" box from the "Cookies" section
4. Select "OK" to close the "Options" window

To set Apple Safari 2.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:
1. Choose "Preferences" from the "Safari" menu
2. Select the "Security" icon from the menu
3. Select "Always" to accept all cookies or "Only from sites you navigate to". CIBC Online Banking will work with either option. You cannot disable cookies in Safari without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking, so do not select "Never"
4. Close the Preferences window

To set Firefox 2.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:
1. Choose "Preferences" from the "Firefox" menu
2. Select the "Privacy" icon
3. To enable cookies, check the "Accept cookies from sites" box from the "Cookies" section. You cannot disable cookies in Firefox without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking. Instead, you may choose "Ask me every time" from the drop-down box next to "Keep Cookies"
4. Select "OK"

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer.

Note: If you clear your cookies, your bank card number will be removed.

If you continue to experience difficulties with this feature, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Peterborough
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Online Banking is Glitchy
Date:July 20, 2012
The online banking system runs fine when it works. Every couple of months when I go to do my online banking, and enter my password, the system says I have incorrectly entered the wrong password, or it won't accept it. But my passwords are CORRECT and it is annoying that it doesn't respond to my passwords.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJuly 23, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to Online Banking.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen (passwords are case-sensitive).
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If the problem persists, please reach us at 1-888-872-2422 to review this matter further. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Markham
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Download delays
Date:August 23, 2012
It takes 2 full business days before a banking or Visa item can be downloaded to your own software
None of the other 5 big banks have such a delay - one bank has a one day delay, the other three have no delay at all - you can download the previous business day's transactions
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.

CIBC Online Banking offers customers the ability to download their transactions to their financial management software. You can download transactions from up to 13 months ago. However, authorizations will not be displayed.

Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to credit card transactions available for downloading can be delayed by 2 business days. The current day and 2 previous business days’ transactions may not be included in your download request.

To view these newer transactions, please check the transaction history on your Account Details page. For CIBC credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard.

Your credit card transactions include a "posted date" and a "transaction date". The "posted date" is when the transaction is sent by the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard, while the "transaction date" is when the actual purchase was made. Results will appear by posted date.

If you have any other questions, please call CIBC Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Burlington
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
on-line banking
Date:August 24, 2012
I have to input my card # each time I want to get into my accounts. It never used to be that way. Your tech people can't seem to be able to fix it . It is most inconvenient to have to put the # in each time I want to get on.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 27, 2012
Thank you for providing us an opportunity to explain the ‘remember my card number’ feature.

When using this feature, you must accept persistent cookies and session cookies. If you clear your cookies, your bank card number will be removed.

To set Internet Explorer 6.0 or later to accept cookies:

1. Select "Tools" from browser menu bar and then "Internet Options…".
2. Select the "Privacy" tab.
3. Select the "Advanced… " button.
4. Select the "Override automatic cookie handling" option.
5. Select "Always allow session cookies" and then select the OK button.
6. Select the OK button on the Internet Options window.

To set Firefox 3.0 to accept cookies:

1. Choose "Options" from the "Tools" menu
2. Select the "Privacy" icon in the "Options" menu
3. To enable cookies, check the "Accept cookies from sites" box from the "Cookies" section
4. Select "OK" to close the "Options" window

To set Apple Safari 2.0 or later to accept cookies:

1. Choose "Preferences" from the "Safari" menu
2. Select the "Security" icon from the menu
3. Select "Always" to accept all cookies or "Only from sites you navigate to". CIBC Online Banking will work with either option. You cannot disable cookies in Safari without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking, so do not select "Never"
4. Close the Preferences window

To set Firefox 2.0 or later to accept cookies:

1. Choose "Preferences" from the "Firefox" menu
2. Select the "Privacy" icon
3. To enable cookies, check the "Accept cookies from sites" box from the "Cookies" section. You cannot disable cookies in Firefox without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking. Instead, you may choose "Ask me every time" from the drop-down box next to "Keep Cookies"
4. Select "OK"

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer.

If you continue to experience difficulties with this feature, please call CIBC Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:lethbridge
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
customer service
Date:August 26, 2012
It is very always sad when a company ask,s you for a review or comments etc and never respond or let you know they even recieved your comments. Most of the feautres are getting better but the mobile apps are still not advanced enough they should be the same across the board.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 27, 2012
Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention, Jeff.

We're always looking for ways to improve the Mobile Banking experience for our customers. We encourage you to visit www.cibc.com to keep abreast of our latest Mobile Banking enhancements.

Please let us know if you have other recommendations.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
problem interfacing with Explorer 9 ??
Date:August 28, 2012
Had a problem with the CIBC web page not displaying a checking acct. debit as a debit (put it in the credit columnn). After more than an HOUR, and speaking to several agents, after 3 hang-ups, they finally pawned the problem off as an Explorer 9 problem and left it as that. No solution No time frame for a fix!
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 29, 2012
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with viewing the online transactions with Internet Explorer 9.

Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory way your call was handled and for the inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

Security starts with your web browser. When you access CIBC Online Banking, CIBC checks your browser to ensure it meets our minimum requirements. At this time, CIBC.com has not completed all the necessary testing with IE9 to ensure the website displays properly when being viewed with that particular browser. We expect full compatibility in the upcoming future. If you are experiencing issues using IE9, please try again using a compatible browser.

For a current listing of supported browsers, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/legal/browser-requirements.html.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sudbury
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Period of Time
Date:September 1, 2012
The online banking is good for doing minor things, such as checking accounts or paying off a VISA bill. However, I would not use it for paying off large bills since it takes so long to process the request and can be unreliable when it comes to dating transactions.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review about the bill payment processing time.

When a bill is paid, funds are debited from your bank account immediately. All merchants have agreed to process payments within two business days, regardless of the amount. Payments are dated the day the merchant credits your account. The merchant could credit your account sooner, depending on how prompt they are. Some merchants date your payment to the day you completed the transaction, but this is at their discretion.

The cut-off time for same day submission of bill payments through CIBC is 6:00 p.m. eastern time (with processing expected within two business days by the merchant). Payments made after 6:00 p.m. eastern time are dated for the following business day and will be submitted the following day. This time frame applies to payments completed through CIBC bank machines, Telephone Banking and Online Banking. Therefore, we recommend that you make your bill payments about three business days before the due date of your bill.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Denman Island BC
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Remember card box
Date:September 22, 2012
Have yet to have this work where it remembers my card #..have to input it every time ...even though I click in the box "to remember"...seems to have a short "memory"
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 24, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Customers must have persistent and session cookies enabled to access the 'Remember my card number' feature. CIBC places a cookie on the computer's hard drive, which contains:

• the bank card number
• card description (optional)

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer.

If you clear the cookies on your browser, the saved card number will be removed. Remember my card number feature should only be used when you are the only user on the computer, or when sharing the computer with trusted family members.

To set Internet Explorer 6.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Internet Options.
2. Select the Privacy tab.
3. Under Settings, click Advanced.
4. Make sure that Override automatic cookie handling is selected.
5. To accept all cookies on CIBC.com, select the Accept option for first-party and third-party cookies.
6. If you wish to disable persistent cookies, select the Block option for first-party cookies and then select the checkbox for Always allow session cookies. Session cookies must be enabled for CIBC Online Banking to function.
7. In Advanced Privacy Settings, click OK.
8. In Internet Options, click OK.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Options.
2. From the Options menu, select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. To apply the changes and close the Options dialog, click OK.

To set Safari 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Safari menu, select Preferences.
2. In the Preferences box, select the Security icon.
3. In the Accept Cookies section, select Always to accept all cookies or Only from sites I visit. CIBC Online Banking will work with either option. You cannot disable cookies in Safari without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking, so do not select Never.
4. Close the Preferences window.
5. Exit and restart the browser.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Firefox menu, select Preferences.
2. Select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. Select the appropriate option for Keep Until.

For assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Telephone banking
Date:September 26, 2012
I have been a CIBC client for over 40 years. While my experience with CIBC online banking is great, phoning to say I was travelling was an exasperating experience. Had to finally pick a number, number 1, which THEN allowed me to choose travelling option. Really need to improve this aspect of telephone banking.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

You can access a full range of banking services using CIBC Telephone Banking. There is an automated service available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and customer service agents available to assist you during business hours.

Our Quick Reference Guide available at www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/tb_quick_ref_eng.pdf will assist you with performing common CIBC Telephone Banking transactions.

For more information about CIBC Telephone Banking, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/accessibility/telephone-services.html.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Online Banking
Date:October 2, 2012
It works great, although it would be nice if they had a tab for "Pending Transactions"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 4, 2012
Thank you for your suggestion to include a 'Pending Transactions' column within the Account Details view.

Your interest in this feature has been noted for review and consideration.

For personal bank accounts, the Account Details feature allows you to review all your transactions on one page. This feature provides up to the minute account transactions. All transactions, except for those that occurred from approximately 10:00 p.m. the previous business day, include detailed descriptions.

For credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by CIBC Credit Card Services. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by two to three business days.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
All the excuses
Date:October 5, 2012
Cancelled a automatic transaction in August with written and verbal confirmation to both the vendor and CIBC, still being charged by vendor and CIBC cannot help as this is a automatic charge. I find CIBC mannor of dealing with these type of charges typical of not caring. I did due dilagence on my part I would hope CIBC could do theirs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 10, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about cancelling a pre-authorized debit that is set up on your CIBC account, Finnegan.

You must contact the merchant directly to notify them that you are cancelling your authorization to debit your credit card or bank account for the goods/services before the next billing date. However, your right to cancel may be subject to the terms of the merchant’s cancellation policy or contract with you.

Contact CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if the merchant continues to debit your credit card after you have cancelled with them. Otherwise, visit your home branch if the merchant continues to bill your bank account after you instruct them to discontinue applying charges to your bank account. If certain conditions are met, CIBC may be able to initiate a dispute on your behalf pertaining to further debits to your CIBC account.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:victoria
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Account Names
Date:October 6, 2012
I am told that the naming of accounts on business accounts is not available. I am disappointed and can not understand why this simple feature that makes juggling numerous accounts so much easier is not available to business customers.
Is there a reason for the feature not being available?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 10, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about assigning nicknames to your business accounts.

This feature is only available for personal accounts. Business accounts are held by multiple users and the nickname personalization feature may not be desirable for all account holders as the changes will affect all users.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Surrey
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
changing password
Date:October 21, 2012
I AM SO FRUSTRATED I just want to scream!!! I wanted to change me password so I went to the frequently asked question and they say "go to sign in page and click on customer service". There is no customer service on that page. I am old and just don't understand why the instructions to change my password are not what the web site says. YES I now know I can do it by pressing "forgot password" but that IS NOT WHAT YOUR INSTRUCTIONS SAY. Why can't you just have a line that says "change password" or is that just to simple for all the computer savvy people. Regardless your instructions are wrong on how to change a password. I suggest you either change your instructions or add a line on your web banking that says "change password". You might think everyone knows that "forgot my password" is how you change your password but I can guarantee that is no right.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 22, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with changing your CIBC Online Banking password.

To change your CIBC Online Banking password online, you will need to sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password. To do so:

1. Select “Customer Services” from the left-hand navigation menu.
2. From the "Site Preferences" column, select "Change your password".
3. Enter your existing Online Banking password for your CIBC debit card.
4. Enter your new 6 to 12 character password twice, then select "Save Changes". A confirmation page will let you know if the change was accepted.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Good when it works...
Date:November 5, 2012
I have the unfortunate problem that I can only access CIBC from my home network. If I'm at school, at work, at a friend's house, travelling in Nova Scotia or Ontario, Online banking does not let me log in because : "You have incorrectly answered your personal verification question. You will need to reset your password to regain access to CIBC Online Banking." But if I go home the very same evening, and use my username and password from my home network, everything works fine.
This is a huge inconvenience for me personally, and it's very, very, very annoying.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorNovember 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

You may have been locked out of CIBC Online Banking due to your Personal Verification Questions (PVQs). It is possible that sometime in the past, you did not answer your PVQs correctly and you have been locked out of your PVQs since that time.

Although you were able to bypass this requirement (answering your PVQs) when you accessed Online Banking from your home computer; it is not possible to do so when you are accessing Online Banking from a different IP address.

Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information.

For assistance with gaining access to CIBC Online Banking from a new IP address and setting up your PVQs and password, please call Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422.
1541-1560 out of 2403 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 121 next>>