Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.515 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,873 reviews)
5 stars
1,754
4 stars
603
3 stars
328
2 stars
258
1 star
930
2,197 out of 3,034(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:LuwilloArrows
City:Montreal
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Good when it works...
Date:November 5, 2012
I have the unfortunate problem that I can only access CIBC from my home network. If I'm at school, at work, at a friend's house, travelling in Nova Scotia or Ontario, Online banking does not let me log in because : "You have incorrectly answered your personal verification question. You will need to reset your password to regain access to CIBC Online Banking." But if I go home the very same evening, and use my username and password from my home network, everything works fine.
This is a huge inconvenience for me personally, and it's very, very, very annoying.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorNovember 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

You may have been locked out of CIBC Online Banking due to your Personal Verification Questions (PVQs). It is possible that sometime in the past, you did not answer your PVQs correctly and you have been locked out of your PVQs since that time.

Although you were able to bypass this requirement (answering your PVQs) when you accessed Online Banking from your home computer; it is not possible to do so when you are accessing Online Banking from a different IP address.

Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information.

For assistance with gaining access to CIBC Online Banking from a new IP address and setting up your PVQs and password, please call Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:NOTTOOHAPPY
City:Shawniganlake
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Lack of information on RRIF investments
Date:November 19, 2012
I am disappointed and frustrated that CIBC does not provide any on-line information on RRIF holdings, except for the RRIF account number and the current value. As a customer, it would help me manage my holdings if more detail was provided, such as rate of return, withdrawals and maturity date.. I don't understand why I cannot get this info at CIBC because I can access it at my other RRIFs at other banks. I've complained about this for a number of years, nothing changes.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorNovember 20, 2012
Your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share your Online Banking experience with us.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Mary
City:Exeter
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 1, 2012
Please update your website to Windows 8 compatibility. I cannot get any account transaction info.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, Mary.

We have recently updated our system to resolve the reported technical issues when accessing CIBC Online Banking with Internet Explorer 10. If you experience the same error, please write to us using the Online Banking Message Centre and we’ll invesitgate further.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Data Availability for Transaction Downloads
Date:December 9, 2012
It is extremely frustating how you are only able to download the last 13 months to the day of transactions, especially when it comes to doing yearends for small business owners. It would be extremely helpful for accounting purposes if there was two full years of data available. If CIBC is not capable of doing this, even having a full 13 months plus of data available for the full calendar month would be extremely useful for accounting purposes. Thank you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent, until Dec 8, 2012
Date:December 10, 2012
Now that scrolling left-right is required along with up-down on the investment pages, the website is NOT convenient to use. I recommend it to those who want to monitor only their credit cards and bank accounts.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the new layout on our investment pages.

Please rest assured your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:MONTREAL
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
best fried
Date:December 20, 2012
someone can't spell or this site is fraudulent
You wrote as a security question"best fried" - i think you meal best friend????
VERY SCARY
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We can confirm that 'The name of your best friend' is not a default CIBC Personal Verification Question (PVQ). When you choose your own PVQ, it will be displayed by the way you have entered it online.

To edit your PVQs, when signed on to CIBC Online Banking:

1. Select “Customer Services” from the left-hand navigation
2. Select “Create or change your personal verification questions”

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=Guidelines+Selecting+PVQs.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Bill
City:Sidney
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
POOR SERVICE
Date:January 1, 2013
I have a CIBC mortgage but do not do any other business with CIBC. I would like to view my mortgage statement on line but because I do not have an account at CIBC other than the mortgage I have no bank card. At one time I did have an account and a card but because my account was dormant I had to close it or be faced with service charges for the dormant account
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 22, 2013
We appreciate your interest to register for CIBC Online Banking, Bill.

It is not possible to register for CIBC Online Banking without holding a bank account with us. During the registration process, you will be prompted to enter a transit and an account number for a bank account that is attached to your debit card.

You may open a CIBC savings account with no standard monthly charges at any branch. A bank card will be issued at that time.

To learn more about our savings accounts, go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/chequing-savings/saving-accts.html.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:ljbsafety
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Change was not necessary
Date:January 9, 2013
The previous version of home page was very user friendly. I am a senior and the change from having the sign on menu infront of you as soon as the interenet page loaded encouraged me to START BANKING. The current page was and is very difficuult to navigate around and the sign in button is not obvious. The rest of the home page is crowded and too bjsy. Thats my two cents oh inflation .5 cents worth whether it will be considered or not.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your feedback is valuable to enhance the CIBC Online Banking experience.

To sign on to CIBC Online Banking from our homepage:

1. Go to www.cibc.com.
2. Enter your card number into the 'Card Number' field.
3. Enter your password into the "Password' field.
4. Select the blue 'Sign On' button.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Castlegar
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
no after hours banking
Date:January 11, 2013
It takes two days to process requests made after bank hours. What is the point of internet banking?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Transactions done through Telephone, Online or Mobile Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day. Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days.

This information is available online at https://www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/personal-acct-service-fees-en.pdf on page 35.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Lewisporte
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
access to personal account
Date:January 24, 2013
seems like every other time I try to access my account on line, my account number/password is rejected. After several times trying I end up going in to "reset password" in order to get into my account. what's wrong with the access site. I keep resetting or changing my password almost every time I try to access my account. It is frustrating & time comsuming.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:red deer
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
trying to get accounts linked.
Date:January 30, 2013
Cut or dropped lines 4 times over 30''. Unable to solve problem. Back and forth to Investors and online.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I'm sorry for the issues you are experiencing with linking your investment accounts online.

You can your Online Banking accounts with your Investor's Edge accounts so that you can easily navigate between the sites without needing to sign on separately. This feature is only applicable if you already have access to Investor's Edge and Online Banking.

To associate your accounts:

1. Sign on to Online Banking.
2. On the My Accounts page, click the Investing tab at the top of the page. This takes you to the Investor's Edge Sign in page.
3. Enter your User ID and password. This takes you to the Investor's Edge Single Sign On Association Page.

Next time you sign on to either site, you can switch between both without having to sign in again.

If it doesn't work, please speak to one of our Investor's Edge Represenatives. More info available at www.investorsedge.cibc.com/ie/about-us/contact-us.html.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:north vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Notes Field
Date:February 3, 2013
I would like a notes field added so that you can add a note for future reference when making Transfers or Payments.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion to add a new feature to write your personal note within Online Banking.

We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:MARKHAM
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
PAINFUL UNLOCK PROCESS
Date:February 5, 2013
ONCE IT GET LOCKED BY THE SYSTEM, IT SPEND A GREAT DEAL OF EFFORT IN ORDER TO HAVE IT RESET BY CONTACTING THE CALL CENTRE. PAINFUL & HEADACHE.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
We are sorry to read about your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking.

At CIBC, an important part of our commitment to you is to protect your financial information online. We use multiple layers of protection to increase your security while using CIBC Online Banking.

If you have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at signing in, and you have already set up personal verification questions, you may be able to reset your password online.

For more information, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Hagersville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Withheld funds
Date:February 8, 2013
I hate that my Ontario works cheque gets held 5 business days. That's a whole week. I have 3 children and we depend on that $. If an official government cheque has to be held, why can't it be only 3 business days?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry about hold funds.

Government cheques up to $1,500 can be cashed with appropriate ID. Since bank machines cannot differentiate the source of deposited funds, a hold period may apply. In the future, you may cash a Government cheque with a teller to access your money sooner.

For more information, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/branch-banking/inquire-on-hold-funds.html.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:not happy
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Not Happy
Date:February 9, 2013
The way I read the review is that 23 % of the people would NOT recommend.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I'm sorry for the way you feel about us.

Customer feedback is important to us. Please write to us and let us know how we can do better. To submit your suggestions, go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html. We will pass on your feedback to our Online Banking team for review.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:martin
City:Bowmanville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Online banking shows feb 11
Date:February 9, 2013
Today is Feb 9th 2013 but all my online banking transactions (even debit purchases made today) show Feb 11.. what's up?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, Martin.

Transactions done through Telephone, Online or Mobile Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day. Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days.

For details, visit at https://www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/personal-acct-service-fees-en.pdf and review the information on page 35 under the “General Terms and Conditions” section.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Leduc
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
No answer within 48 hours
Date:February 11, 2013
CIBC should get up with the times and have a online 'live' customer service rep that can answer questions right away.
When it comes to peoples money, why should we have to wait over 48 hours for an automated reply?
Yes.... I have the option to call in, but work out out of town a lot so don't have the option of cell service all the time and dont' want to wait on hold for the 'next' representative. I want to know what is happening with my money, now. :)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 11, 2013
We apologize for the wait.

To have a live chat with a CIBC Representative, all you need to do is to go to https://cibc.via.infonow.net/locator/inter/ and click on our chat link. A window will pop-up for the chat service to begin. Our chat services are available Monday to Friday between the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. eastern time subject to agent availability.

As chat may not be secure, you may be asked to call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422 about specific personal banking matters.

We strive to respond to all e-mails and secured messages within one business day. At the time when we received your inquiry, we may have been experiencing a higher than usual volume of correspondence and accordingly, our response time may have been greater than usual. Thank you for your understanding.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Paul
City:GTA
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Date:February 16, 2013
1. Foreign Exchange on-line. Poor. The last time I went to use the on-line rates it said the rates quoted were not guaranteed and the rate at time of of posting would be used. It appears to me that posting would be manually overnight, instead of instantaneous transfer from Cdn Acct to US$ Acct.
2. CIBC Visa system appears to me to to lack modern features (although if the following two examples have been instituted recently, I appologize).
2a. Why not post all authorizations so I can see, on-line, what merchants have posted what authorizations and for how much.
2b. Why not strive to prevent fraud by having a system of allowing a cardholder to sign-on to obtain a one-time use Visa number which would be attached to the original Visa number. This one-time use number would be useful for on-line purchases. The cardholder would specify the $ amount limit, such as $25.00 and the duration, such as 2 months.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
credit card payment processing time
Date:February 19, 2013
It can take several days after depositing a check into a bank machine, to pay a credit card balance for this deposit to show up on electronic banking. This is unacceptable to not even show that the transaction has taken place even if it can't be credited to the account until the check clears. You have the technology just not the will to provide this service.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Review of Online Credit Card Banking
Date:March 3, 2013
The website is awkward to use and appears poorly designed. Text actually overlaps when viewed in Safari unless you reduce the font size drastically. If you don't support Safari, that ought to be posted somewhere and the alternative that provides the best support on a Mac, suggested. The 'improvements' seem to be making it worse, not better.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1541-1560 out of 2369 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 119 next>>