Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.527 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,759 reviews)
5 stars
1,713
4 stars
586
3 stars
320
2 stars
249
1 star
891
2,162 out of 2,981(73%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Linda
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Just the bare bones
Date:May 31, 2013
I really wish I could see more detailed information regarding my investment account.
I used to be able to review the past 3 or 6 months worth of transactions but now that feature isn't even available.
Not happy.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Beth
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Online response
Date:June 5, 2013
Didn't get the information needed - was referred to telephone customer
Service which I already had used with no real results.
Online reply seemed to be one size fits all solution with no individualization
to fit my needs.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJune 18, 2013
I'm sorry for the unsatisfactory automated response that you received. To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements.

I would like to ensure that you receive a reply to your original correspondence. Please write to us with your original note with the following methods:

1. Sign on to CIBC Online Banking and send a secure e-mail
2. Send us a regular e-mail by completing the online form at www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Aurel
City:Montreal
Province: QC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
No canceled check view
Date:June 17, 2013
Poor service about the fact I couldnt, remotely obtain a DOCUMENT summarizing my account details (transit-account no) like I can with my others banks.
Moreover, I got swinged from one call to another, from my branch to another, without anyone being able to get me the required document, as I can not physically go to my branch office.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJune 19, 2013
When reviewing your account details within CIBC Online Banking, you can select any underlined cheque to view the related image. Visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/online-banking/view-cheque-images.html for details.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Orleans
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:June 18, 2013
The place to sign in needs to be better indicated.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJune 19, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion. Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Doug
City:Cloverdale
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Poor Service
Date:June 21, 2013
Line of credit went dormant. so made a deposit as requested. Account was supposed to be come active. Did not. Wrote a message and got same reply, make a deposit. Talking in circles with these people.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJune 24, 2013
To activate a dormant PLC, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you have an active CIBC bank account, a Telephone Banking Representative can easily reactivate your line of credit within 2 business days by transferring funds from your line of credit to your account, or from your account to your line of credit.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:efficiency seeker
City:toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
issues re. statement download to Spreadsheet
Date:June 25, 2013
I need to download the statement to spreadsheet so that I could do the expense reports for my business more efficiently. However I have the following issues:
Issue#1: Transaction dates cannot be downloaded, but I need those dates for accounting purposes. Posting dates are downloaded, but they are useless for me.
Issue#2: There are several cardholders under one account. The download file does not sort the transactions by cardholders and I had to manually separate them.
To sum up, I don't think the "download to spreadsheet" feature is quite useful if it cannot download the transaction dates and sort the transaction by cardholders. If Visa statements from other banks can do these, why can CIBC not?
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJune 26, 2013
We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Dundas
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Ordering cheques online
Date:June 26, 2013
Tried to order cheques online and bounced out of the system 4 times in a row. Finally gave up and will not use the online ordering system again. Frustrated to say the least.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJune 27, 2013
We regret this incident caused you unnecessary frustration. For assistance with your cheque order, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Consistency
Date:July 3, 2013
Recently you changed the time you updated the information available. It used to be 6am PST. It then became inconsistent. And now I think it is around 8am PST (although it was not available today at 8:05).
The amount to be paid each month and the actual statement are made available inconsistently and several days apart
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with CIBC. We appreciate you providing quality feedback. We will use your review to improve our products and services in the future.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Brossard
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
OVERDRAFT??? ME??? UNACCEPTABLE!!!
Date:July 4, 2013
All my payments were due July 2nd, 2013...I went online and I paid all my due amounts on June 30th, 2013...now, CIBC overdrafted me AND charged me a $5 fee to boot? Really? It's CIBC's fault, or their website, but if they checked my Visa payment was done "on time", but for some reason, my line of credit wasn't? I DO IT ALL DURING THE SAME ONLINE BANKING SESSION!!! So, how is this possible? grrrrrrrrrrr
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 9, 2013
To investigate this issue further, please call please call Online Banking support at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:LenD
City:Richmond Hill
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Too complicated
Date:July 8, 2013
There is much too much information to wade through to access a specific function. The web site needs to be simplified
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJuly 10, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion. We welcome comments about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Glenn
City:fort saskatchewan
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
problems with signing in
Date:July 10, 2013
Cannot get into the sign-in page to access my accounts. Why Not????
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 13, 2013
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to Online Banking, Glenn.

Please visit www.cibc.com to sign on to CIBC Online Banking.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen.
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have forgotten your Online Banking password or have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at logging in, you can reset the password online.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password.

Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:JohnON
City:Tiverton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
System clunky
Date:July 17, 2013
The features are good (online access, paying bills, transfers, alerts etc) but I get anoyed with some of the interfaces. The worst is the messages where I have too many clicks to delete them. Also, the system keeps kicking me out and requiring my password again even after a break of less than a minute.
One more thing- Terms and Conditions for posting - I have no trouble agreeing to them, but why do you have to demand that I have READ them? This is not a legal contract and even when I deal with legal contracts, my lawyer summarizes the non-intuitive points in just a few sentences. That "have READ" statement for comment posting lowers my rating another star.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC Moderator July 26, 2013
Thanks for your suggestions.

If CIBC Online Banking is open and there's no activity for 10 minutes, the session will expire (time-out). This means that there was no movement between screens or features in Online Banking. Typing is not considered as a movement. This feature was put in place to ensure the security of your Online Banking transactions.

You can minimize your session time-outs by following these tips:

- If your transaction is taking longer than expected try to continue interacting with Online Banking to keep your session active.
- Your CIBC Online Banking session becomes inactive while you are on third-party sites. Try to limit your time on the third-party site to only a short period of time or sign off from Online Banking.
- Access CIBC Online Banking directly by going to www.cibconline.cibc.com - don't use an embedded browser.
- To navigate back and forth in CIBC Online Banking, use the site's navigation keys. Don't use your browser's "back" and "forward" buttons.

If you are still experiencing issues, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Scipio
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
CREDIT CARD INTEREST
Date:July 18, 2013
In the credit card monthly statements you do not show the interest charged. Please correct this by adding an entry in the VISA and MASTER CHARGE credit card statements showing the interest charged.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC Moderator July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We can confirm the interest charge transactions are displayed in CIBC Online Banking within my “My Account” section.

This information is also accessible online if you registered for eStatements. For information about eStatements, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html.

Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Need some extra features
Date:July 19, 2013
I would like to see money transfers to other bank accounts such as TD,ROYAL,BMO through online banking , I know email money transfer works but its fees are high. Also there shouldn't be additional fees to use other ATM machines.
All banks try to profit from clients , the service part is doesn't exist.
Response from CIBC:By Tanya CIBC ModeratorJuly 24, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion.

I regret that this feature is currently not available.

Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service. Your remarks have been noted for review.

Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
online like dial-up
Date:July 29, 2013
Cibc.com loaded without field Card Number. This field loded with delay 2-3 minutes. The field actually loaded, I was find it occasionally when left it unattended. Online dial-up service.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 31, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We would like to investigate this further. Please send us an e-mail via https://www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html or call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 to initiate an investigation. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Sherwood Park
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Visa transactions take FOREVER to show online
Date:July 29, 2013
I also have a bank account with another bank and I never have this problem.. It should not take 5-7 days to upload transactions or payments on my credit card. I am frustrated and disappointed in the lack of urgency and would love to see you improve this system.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorJuly 31, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

For CIBC credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by up to two business days. For information on credit card payment processing time, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=credit+card+payment+I+just+made+reflected+on+my+balance.

If you wish to review your real time transactions, please call CIBC Credit Card Services directly at 1-800-465-4653.

Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Andy
City:Richmond
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
too difficult to get around web site
Date:July 30, 2013
I want to see my statements for my Aerogold card on line. why am I asked to complete a survey before proceeding to where I can sign up?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, Andy. Please send us a screen shot of the survey you received. Please forward the screenshot to fraud@cibc.com.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:alzh
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Convenience is average
Date:July 31, 2013
I can never log into my online banking account if I am not in my normal province of residence. This is VERY bad since I can't pay my visa bills right away and then end up getting charged.
It's a good service though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
We apologize to read of your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking. If you experience the same problem again while you are travelling, please contact CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 for immediate assistance.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Qmaster
City:Parksville
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC Service
Date:July 31, 2013
I needed some financial assistance today. The website said that the Parksville branch was open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., however they do not open until 9:30 a.m. When I asked to see a loan's officer, I was informed that none would be available today. I took my business to another bank in the area and they had me in and out with my business complete in 15 minutes. That is service!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By TanyaCIBC ModeratorAugust 1, 2013
We hate to see you go. Transit 00742, located at 130 Morison Ave. in Parksville is opened Monday to Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., and Saturday, 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. It is the best to book a branch appointment in advance. To do so, please visit phttps://www.cibc.com/ca/redirect/locator.html.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Cranbrook
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
sign on
Date:August 3, 2013
After I came back form holidays at the end of May, I have to go to a sign on page that takes me to another sign on page. which sometimes take me to another sign on page This is an exercise in redundancy and is becoming frustrating to the point that I am thinking of changing bank, after fourty year with CIBC
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By AdamCIBC ModeratorAugust 12, 2013
We are concerned with the problem you have been experiencing as this is not a common occurrence.

We would like to investigate this further. Please send us an e-mail via https://www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html. Once we receive the details of your situation, we will respond to you shortly.

Alternatively, for immediate assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. If you don't have a Telephone Banking password, at the start of your call press 0 to be connected to a representative. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you're calling from abroad, the number is 1-902-420-2422.
1541-1560 out of 2294 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 115 next>>