Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,387 reviews)
5 stars
1,923
4 stars
656
3 stars
389
2 stars
310
1 star
1,109
2,362 out of 3,267(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Wadena
Province: SK
Online Banking: Not registered
survey
Date:February 8, 2013
I like people to decide for themself about bank stuff
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Nipigon
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
$3.50 Confusion
Date:February 8, 2013
Your 10,000 word response could have been revised into 8 simple words!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
We are available to answer your questions about your banking fees at any time.

CIBC Telephone Banking is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-800-465-2422. You may also send us a secured message after you sign on to CIBC Online Banking. We strive to respond to all inquiries within one business day.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
lack of support for BB10 customers
Date:February 8, 2013
The lack of mobile banking apps for the new blackberry platform, especially considering CIBC's support for the legacy BBOS is a cause of great frustration to me and many other canadians who are left with mediocre service due to our choice of mobile phones. As a respected banking institution, CIBC should aim to make banking convenient for all its customer with no bias based on their choice of phone.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we strive to improve our services as a direct result of your opinions.

Your mobile banking needs are important to us. I've passed this feedback to our mobile banking team.

We do not offer a native BlackBerry 10 app at this time. We do support BlackBerry10 devices through our mobile banking website, please visit www.cibc.mobi from your mobile device to sign in.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Leduc
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
T5, TFSA, ETC.
Date:February 8, 2013
With the last 3 questions I've asked, I've received an online question, I get an electronic reply saying to make an appointment with an advisor.
If I could get away from work during their banking hours to see someone, I wouldn't be submitting online questions...
Does CIBC not have 'live' online reps like other businesses do?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 11, 2013
We are here to answer your questions online, Sharyn.

To have a live chat with a CIBC Representative, all you need to do is to go to https://cibc.via.infonow.net/locator/inter/ and click on our chat link. A window will pop-up for the chat service to begin. Our chat services are available Monday to Friday between the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. eastern time subject to agent availability.

As chat may not be secure, you may be asked to call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422 about specific personal banking matters.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Guelph
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Funds Held
Date:February 8, 2013
This is the first time that I have used this application and found it to be very useful.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Hagersville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Withheld funds
Date:February 8, 2013
I hate that my Ontario works cheque gets held 5 business days. That's a whole week. I have 3 children and we depend on that $. If an official government cheque has to be held, why can't it be only 3 business days?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry about hold funds.

Government cheques up to $1,500 can be cashed with appropriate ID. Since bank machines cannot differentiate the source of deposited funds, a hold period may apply. In the future, you may cash a Government cheque with a teller to access your money sooner.

For more information, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/branch-banking/inquire-on-hold-funds.html.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
not helpful at all
Date:February 6, 2013
i sent an e-mail saying i am out of the country and don't have my last staementt so cant re re regiser so what kind of help is gelling me to fill out the questions WHEN ICANT.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with registering for CIBC Online Banking from abroad.

To register for CIBC Online Banking for your credit card, you must be the primary cardholder. You’ll need your CIBC credit card and most recent CIBC credit card statement.

As e-mail channels may not be secure, we ask that you call CIBC Credit Card Services directly to obtain your most recent statement balance.

To obtain the telephone number to call us from abroad, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/inside-cibc/dept-contacts.html.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
Visa Payment
Date:February 6, 2013
Could not get an appropriate response to a simple inquiry. Will NEVER use this method of communication again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
I'm sorry for the unsatisfactory response that you received.

We're here to help.

I would like to ensure that you receive a complete reply to your original inquiry. Please write back and if possible, include your original note. We strive to respond to all e-mails and secured messages within one business day.

As e-mail channels may not be secure, we ask that you call our Telephone Banking Contact Centre at 1-800-465-2422 about specific Visa account matters.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Alerts
Date:February 5, 2013
Don't subscribe to their mobile/SMS alert system - the only alerts you get are the ones notifying you that you've subscribed to CIBC mobile alerts.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
Thank you for bringing the fact that you are not receiving SMS alerts to our attention.

SMS texts are sent between 9:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. eastern time. If a transaction takes place after 9:00 p.m., the alert will be sent the following day.

CIBC delivers SMS Alerts as well as the 4-digit PIN to complete the SMS Alerts registration using a “short-code” (eg. 242222). Most new cellular phone carriers in Canada (eg. Wind Mobile, Public Mobile, Mobilicity) do not support sending and receiving SMS from a “short-code.” Unfortunately, customers of these carriers will not be able to register for SMS Alerts until their carriers update their networks.

If you recently activated your service from your cellular phone carrier or recently obtained a new number from your carrier, please note that you may not be able to register for SMS Alerts shortly after these events. CIBC recommends that you try again later.

To troubleshoot the issues you are experiencing, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Penticton
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Re setting password
Date:February 5, 2013
Terrible instructions and service. I still cannot solve my signing on problems!
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking.

Please try the sign on process again and ensure that:

- You have the “Num Lock” function turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your debit card number.
- You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen (passwords are case-sensitive).
- You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at signing in, and you have already set up personal verification questions, you will be able to reset your password online.

For more information, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password.

Alternatively, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 for assistance.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:DARTMOUTH,
Province: NS
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Date:February 5, 2013
If I could open my messages it would be helpful but when I asked how to do so I did not get an answer
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with accessing the Online Banking Message Centre.

You may face difficulties accessing the Message Centre if you have installed a pop-up blocker. Changing the settings of the pop-up blocker will allow pop-ups from our site while blocking those from most other sites.

To change the settings of the pop-up blocker:

1. Select "Tools" from the browser menu bar, then "Pop-up Blocker" and "Pop-up Blocker" Settings.
2. Add the following address to the "Address of web site to allow field": https://www.cibconline.cibc.com. This will allow pop-ups from CIBC.
3. Select "Close"

If this does not solve the issue, please send us a regular e-mail at https://www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html with the following information:

- What is the name and version of your browser? (e.g., Internet Explorer 8, Firefox 5, or Safari 5)
- What is the name and version of your operating system? (e.g., Windows 7, Windows Vista, or Apple MacOS 10.6)
- What kind of Internet connection are you using (dialup/high-speed)?
- What were you trying to do when the problem occurred? Provide the exact steps you performed on your computer to trigger the issue you encountered with as much details as possible.
- When was the exact date and time you last experience the issue you encountered?
- Were you able to perform the action that triggered the issue in the past without problems? If yes, do you remember when you were last able to perform that action?
- Was there an error code or error message displayed on the page? Please provide description.
- If you access Online Banking using another computer, are you able to replicate the issue?
- If you access Online Banking using a different browser, are you able to replicate the issue? What is the name and version of that browser?
- Did anything change on your account or card recently?
- Did you change anything on your computer recently?

Once we receive your response, we will forward it to our technology team for further investigation.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Truro
Province: NS
Online Banking: More than 5 years
My Online Banking
Date:February 5, 2013
Great experience doing my banking online, and with ongoing improvements and new features!
Thank you
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

I am pleased that you are enjoying the convenience of Online Banking and that you have taken the time to express your satisfaction. We hope our future enhancements will continue to meet your expectations.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:MARKHAM
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
PAINFUL UNLOCK PROCESS
Date:February 5, 2013
ONCE IT GET LOCKED BY THE SYSTEM, IT SPEND A GREAT DEAL OF EFFORT IN ORDER TO HAVE IT RESET BY CONTACTING THE CALL CENTRE. PAINFUL & HEADACHE.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
We are sorry to read about your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking.

At CIBC, an important part of our commitment to you is to protect your financial information online. We use multiple layers of protection to increase your security while using CIBC Online Banking.

If you have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at signing in, and you have already set up personal verification questions, you may be able to reset your password online.

For more information, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:LaRonge
Province: SK
Online Banking: More than 5 years
CIBC Online Banking Survey
Date:February 4, 2013
I can not even read this survey correctly. Text is overlapping.
Can not download eStatements. Have sent emails but problem has not been corrected. Always just ask for more information for tech staff.
Can not view balance when a deposit/payment is made to my credit card.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Terrible
Date:February 4, 2013
I wait a very long time trying to get in. When I shut down because it is not responding, I am returned to CIBC Online Banking without keying it in again. Interestingly enough, when I see Contact Customer Service while I am in the accounts section, and reply to it, I am told it is not available and that I should telephone.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with accessing CIBC Online Banking.

We want to resolve this issue. Please write to us via the Online Banking Message Centre with the following information:

- What is the name and version of your browser? (e.g., Internet Explorer 8, Firefox 5, or Safari 5)
- What is the name and version of your operating system? (e.g., Windows 7, Windows Vista, or Apple MacOS 10.6)
- What kind of Internet connection are you using (dialup/high-speed)?
- What were you trying to do when the problem occurred? Provide the exact steps you performed on your computer to trigger the issue you encountered with as much details as possible.
- When was the exact date and time you last experience the issue you encountered?
- Were you able to perform the action that triggered the issue in the past without problems? If yes, do you remember when you were last able to perform that action?
- Was there an error code or error message displayed on the page? Please provide description.
- If you access Online Banking using another computer, are you able to replicate the issue?
- If you access Online Banking using a different browser, are you able to replicate the issue? What is the name and version of that browser?
- Did anything change on your account or card recently?
- Did you change anything on your computer recently?

Once we receive your answers, we will write to you again.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Maple Ridge
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
On Line Banking
Date:February 4, 2013
I just find it great to be able to do all of my banking any time, day or night.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:belleville
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
no place to find foreighn exchange.
Date:February 4, 2013
other banks have it posted so that old people like myself do not have to go into the bank to find it. maybe I will change banks that are helpful. Needing 24hrs on a call into the bank ,take a second shake of your head and go with your products to another BANK>
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion.

The feature to view foreign exchange rates online is not available at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience.

To obtain historical or current foreign exchange rates, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:cibc comunity
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
poor on line service
Date:February 4, 2013
hello,
You ask for it. Your on line banking is realy poor: It takes a month to see transaction posted or process. By the time you compleate the transaktion we all can die from huger. But then it is your money after all. You are lendor/overstreached with your money supply. Maby you lost some in cassino?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for providing us an opportunity to explain the online transaction posting time.

If you just registered for and accessed CIBC Online Banking, it may take up to 2 business days for your transaction to be permanently recorded in the Account Details section of CIBC Online Banking. If you initiate any transactions during that period of time, the Account Details section of CIBC Online Banking may display these transactions temporarily but will not retain them.

Any transactions you initiated prior to the date of your CIBC Online Banking registration will not be included in your list of transactions when using the Account Details feature.

For CIBC deposit accounts, the Account Details feature allows you to review all your account transactions on one page. This feature provides up to the minute account transactions. All transactions, except for those that occurred from approximately 10:00 p.m. the previous business day, include detailed descriptions.

For CIBC credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard. This includes transactions for the last 13 months. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by a few days.

If you need further assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC online banking is down...
Date:February 3, 2013
It's been down all weekend and there is no indication as to when it's coming back. What more is there to say?
Response from CIBC:By Rachael CIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused.

To ensure the stability and reliability of the service, we had to complete maintenance of our Online Banking servers and network. In general, we do our best to schedule maintenance sessions during non-peak banking hours. We regret that it was not possible to inform you in advance. Full-service banking is available 24 hours at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:north vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Notes Field
Date:February 3, 2013
I would like a notes field added so that you can add a note for future reference when making Transfers or Payments.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion to add a new feature to write your personal note within Online Banking.

We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
1541-1560 out of 2738 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 137 next>>