Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.459 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,308 reviews)
5 stars
1,896
4 stars
651
3 stars
377
2 stars
304
1 star
1,080
2,337 out of 3,231(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sidney
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
POOR SERVICE
Date:January 1, 2013
I have a CIBC mortgage but do not do any other business with CIBC. I would like to view my mortgage statement on line but because I do not have an account at CIBC other than the mortgage I have no bank card. At one time I did have an account and a card but because my account was dormant I had to close it or be faced with service charges for the dormant account
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 22, 2013
We appreciate your interest to register for CIBC Online Banking, Bill.

It is not possible to register for CIBC Online Banking without holding a bank account with us. During the registration process, you will be prompted to enter a transit and an account number for a bank account that is attached to your debit card.

You may open a CIBC savings account with no standard monthly charges at any branch. A bank card will be issued at that time.

To learn more about our savings accounts, go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/chequing-savings/saving-accts.html.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Bragg Creek
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Convenience is #1
Date:December 28, 2012
I have been using online banking for years (since it first started); never had any major issues. I love the convenience of paying ALL your bills online; you just have to add them. If they don`t exist, just phone the service desk and they will be added if the provider allows online payments. Recently, I post dated payments including 1 for CIBC Visa; a week later I went in to view these post dated payments and I could see them all except the VISA payment which was still a couple of days away (at least I thought it was). So, then I was questioning whether I actually made the payment or not. Where can you see the post dated payments for CIBC visa
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:north bay
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
tried twice
Date:December 27, 2012
Based on the information you have provided, we are unable to register your credit card for Online Banking. Please re-enter your information to retry the registration process.
{Result #U108}
Iam no nube to online banking this site is very unfriendly.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with registering for CIBC Online Banking.

The error message U108 implies that you may have entered the expiry date, CVV number, date of birth, or previous balance amount incorrectly.

For assistance, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=register+online.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Grande Cache
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Best Customer Phone/Personal/Online Service
Date:December 27, 2012
I always find it so easy to go online and all my enquiries were answered. Even if I phone the customer service, the Staffs are polite and very patient to answer my questions. Keep it up CIBC! Happy Holidays and More Power! All the best for 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Caroline
Province: AB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Date:December 27, 2012
I tried many times to set up online banking with no luck, so frustrated. No help came from the phone call either. New to the area I found the phisical location branch, talked to them for five minutes and got set up. Iam totaly impressed with online banking now, I should have done it long ago, but always lived within walking distance. I would recomend to anyone trying to set it up, first talk to your bank and let them do it, they are happy to do it, thats what they do, and they will help solve probems and answer any quetions. Its only been two months for me, so for now its 5 stars. Thanks.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Peace River
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Locating a branch
Date:December 27, 2012
Tried multiple times to find contact information for the branch in my town. Each time I put the requested information in I was flipped back to the "what is your question" screen. I would think the CIBC would have a better way of providing customers with branch information. I am already irritated that I could not get a branch appointment through the online help and now I can't even reach my branch. Do you REALLY want my patronage?
Response from CIBC:By Rachael CIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

To find the contact information of a CIBC branch, please visit www.cibc.com. From the right side of the page, under "Find a Branch or ABM", type a postal code to find CIBC branches in a specific area or select the link “more search options” to customize your search. The locator helps you find a CIBC branch anywhere in Canada using different methods of searching. You can search by city name, by city name and street name, by city name and major intersection, or by branch transit number.

To request a branch appointment, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/chequing-savings/unlimited-acct.html and select 'Chat Now'. Please note that this online service is available Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. eastern time.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC STUCK IN 20TH CENTURY
Date:December 25, 2012
This Christmas season I decided to sign up for CIBC's Aeroplan Visa Gold Card. Because I do my banking with another bank it took me a while to figure out how to make an online payment for the first pay period on my new card. But all that is to be expected. What made me most angry is that because I made the payment on a weekend my payment had not been processed a week after I transferred the funds. To make matters worse, when I called to ask why it was taking so long the operator told me that it was my bank withholding the payment. So, I called up my bank and they assured me that the payment had been authorized on the first business day, 5 days prior to my calling CIBC. It is ridiculous that with the technology at our disposal any bank should take this long to process a payment. Especially considering the interest rates they charge us consumers when we make late payments. I will most likely be cancelling this credit card in the new year.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience.

Payments made through other financial institutions will be posted to your credit card account within 3-5 business days. Payments are dated for the day CIBC receives them.

Payments made through mail are credited and the available credit updated the next business day after they are received at CIBC Credit Card Payment Processing Centre. However, they are dated for the day they are received.

A CIBC credit card payment made through Online Banking is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for 1-3 business days. Whether the payment is made using the Pay Bills or Transfers features of Online Banking, it is immediately shown as available credit and can be used for new purchases. You may need to sign off from Online Banking and sign on again to see this update.

If you transfer funds from your CIBC deposit account to your CIBC credit card through Telephone Banking or at a bank machine, it is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for 1-3 business days.

If you deposit the payment directly to your CIBC credit card account at a bank machine, it will be credited and show up on your credit card balance within 3 business days.

Payments made at a CIBC branch will not show on your credit card balance for up to 5 business days. However, payments are dated for the day they were made.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Oakville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Trying to automatically pay credit card when due
Date:December 24, 2012
Most credit card companies provide a quick and convenient option for you to go to their on line site and set up a process to automatically pay the balance due. For the life of me i can not find how to do this at CIBC and trying to get a straight answer on it is non existent. I think i will simply get rid of the card and go to another bank
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
To set up pre-authorized payments on your credit card, please contact CIBC Credit Card Services directly at 1-800-465-4653. Pre-authorized payments cannot be set up online.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Date:December 23, 2012
Your website is beyond illogical. I go to 'pay bills' in order to pay my credit card bill, and I'm given the option to apply for a CIBC chequing account, but nowhere on God's green earth is there the option to make a payment from my existing CIBC chequing account, nor is there any function that will allow me to link it. If there is you did an excellent job of hiding it, because I've been looking for an hour.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

You can link a total of ten CIBC bank accounts to your debit card. To do so:

1. Sign on to Online Banking and select "My "Accounts".
2. From your list of accounts, locate the one you would like to link to your debit card. If you do not see it, please speak to a representative at the number below.
3. Click "Link Account" beside the account that you would like to link to your debit card.
4. Select the appropriate slot, and then click "Confirm Slot".

Please note: Joint accounts can only be attached if they are set up as "either to sign" (i.e. either accountholder can authorize withdrawals or other transactions).

For assistance, please call 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:MONTREAL
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
best fried
Date:December 20, 2012
someone can't spell or this site is fraudulent
You wrote as a security question"best fried" - i think you meal best friend????
VERY SCARY
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We can confirm that 'The name of your best friend' is not a default CIBC Personal Verification Question (PVQ). When you choose your own PVQ, it will be displayed by the way you have entered it online.

To edit your PVQs, when signed on to CIBC Online Banking:

1. Select “Customer Services” from the left-hand navigation
2. Select “Create or change your personal verification questions”

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=Guidelines+Selecting+PVQs.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Owen Sound
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
I'd like to see something added.
Date:December 20, 2012
Overall very good. I only gave 4 stars as I recently needed to change my address and found I couldn't do this online. If this feature was added I'd give it 5 stars.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Moving can be stressful, but at CIBC we've taken the hassle out of changing your address by making the change address feature available to you to online, 24/7. The information for your personal accounts and credit cards can be changed at the same time and that information is updated on your accounts in 5 business days.

Just sign on to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "Customer Services" from the left-hand navigation
2. Select "Change your address"

To see step by step instructions on how to change your address online, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/online-banking/address-change.html.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Chilliwack
Province: BC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
trying to set up online banking
Date:December 18, 2012
you ask for my account number BUT YOU DONT SEND nothing to me showing my account number so i cant set this up?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC RachaelDecember 20, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention.

When registering for CIBC Online Banking for a CIBC debit card, you will be prompted to enter the transit and account number for one of the accounts attached to your debit card. This additional step is intended for security purposes. You can find that information by reviewing your bank account paperwork or one of your personal cheques.

At the bottom of your cheque, there will be a 5-digit number, which is your branch transit number, followed by a 3-digit number, which is CIBC's financial institution number (010) and finally a 7-digit number, which is your account number.

For more information online, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=account+number.

Otherwise, you may speak to one of our representatives at 1-888-872-2422. We’ll be able to provide you with your account and transit numbers after we confirm your identify by asking some security questions.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
E-Statements causes system crashes on my Mac
Date:December 18, 2012
When it comes to service I find that CIBC is average, which really means mediocre now a days. The online features are getting better but still have a ways to go. I find the online banking convenient only because I don't care to stand and wait for service. All in all CIBC gives it a good try and I have banked with them for nearly 40 years.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with accessing your eStatements online, Kate.

CIBC is aware of the issue that you are bringing to my attention. The problem has been resolved, please try to access your eStatements again.

If the problem persists, you may write to us through CIBC Online Banking Message Centre with the following information:

- What is your full name?
- What is your postal code on file?
- What is the name and version of your browser? (e.g., Apple Safari 6.0.2)
- What is the name and version of your operating system? (e.g., Apple MacOS 10.6)
- What were you trying to do when the problem occurred? Provide the exact steps you performed on your computer to trigger the issue you encountered with as much details as possible.
- When was the exact date and time you last experience the issue you encountered?
- Were you able to perform the action that triggered the issue in the past without problems? If yes, do you remember when you were last able to perform that action?
- Was there an error code or error message displayed on the page? Please provide description.
- If you access Online Banking using another computer, are you able to replicate the issue?
- If you access Online Banking using a different browser, are you able to replicate the issue? What is the name and version of that browser?
- Did anything change on your account or card recently?
- Did you change anything on your computer recently?

Once we receive your response, we will reply through a secured message to your CIBC Online Banking account.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Burnaby
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Online Customer Service
Date:December 18, 2012
When I send out a email to online customer service, I received a auto reply on the next day; however, it has nothing to do with my questions. I sent the second email and the Internet Communications Specialist wrote me back. To my surprised, I was told he/she did not have the authorization to access my account and suggested to contact Telephone banking.
The reason I accessed to online banking is because of its convenience. I always has to wait if I use telephone banking. I was disappointed to receive the answer from the online service and hoping it will be improved soon.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
I can certainly understand your frustration, Yi Su.

To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements. If our automated response does not answer your question, simply reply to the message to receive a personalized response.

In response to your comments, the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre was created to inform customers of certain account information that may not be available using CIBC Online Banking. Through the Message Centre, we can perform certain account modifications like updating addresses on file, changing language preferences, etc. However, we are unable to fulfill certain customer requests that require customer's verbal confirmation. These requests must be directed to CIBC Telephone Banking directly by phone or by contacting the branch. I apologize for any inconvenience caused to you.

I trust that this information will provide you with a better understanding of the services that we provide through the Message Centre.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Hope
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Online CIBC Bankinf
Date:December 17, 2012
I love how user friendly the CIBC website is. I set up my account online so I could access an email transfer . I needed my account # so I set myself up for telephone banking as well. Now I have 3 convenient ways to access my bank account by phone, online, and in person. I'm a very satisfied customer! Thank you :-)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Cape st George
Province: NL
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Changing to e statement
Date:December 14, 2012
I have done multiple searches to change from mailed statements to e statements with no results. I keep getting directed to the question about the difference between the two
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 17, 2012
We appreciate your interest in paperless banking.

With your eStatement, you can view a free electronic copy of current or previously available credit card and bank account statements anytime within the security of CIBC Online Banking.

Setting up eStatements is easy. Just sign on to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "Customer Services" from the left-hand navigation
2. Select "Change your statement preferences"
3. Choose “Edit Preferences” and follow the steps to set up eStatements for your account

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:St. John's
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
internet team: Message Centre
Date:December 12, 2012
answer was clear, prompt and helpful
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:peterborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
change password
Date:December 11, 2012
This message, "The password you have entered is invalid. Please reenter your password. {Result #117}" Is not helpful. Please explain the reason...ie what password rule am I not following?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking.

Error code 117 implies that an incorrect online password was entered on the CIBC Online Banking sign on page.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen.
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have forgotten your Online Banking password or have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at logging in, you can reset the password online.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password or call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:richmond hill
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
good service
Date:December 11, 2012
unable to pay online to revenue Canada for my live-in nanny taxes. I hope someday they will add this feature.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
Thank you for your suggestion.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/small-business/cash-management/govt-pmt-and-filing-srvc.html.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Brampton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Love it!
Date:December 11, 2012
I absolutely love all the new innovative online features...and of course the anti-fraud & id theft download. I feel safe and secure when using CIBC online banking. I have never had my card compromised and have been a CIBC client for more than 20 years. To add to the easy online banking, I really enjoy the CIBC mortgage advisor app!
Thank you CIBC for simplifying and giving me the convenience to bank online, save time and the troubles of travelling with my little one to make payments, transfers etc. All at my finger tips and it truly is easy!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1541-1560 out of 2675 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 134 next>>