Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.514 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,895 reviews)
5 stars
1,762
4 stars
606
3 stars
333
2 stars
260
1 star
934
2,205 out of 3,046(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:jeff
City:lethbridge
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
customer service
Date:August 26, 2012
It is very always sad when a company ask,s you for a review or comments etc and never respond or let you know they even recieved your comments. Most of the feautres are getting better but the mobile apps are still not advanced enough they should be the same across the board.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 27, 2012
Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention, Jeff.

We're always looking for ways to improve the Mobile Banking experience for our customers. We encourage you to visit www.cibc.com to keep abreast of our latest Mobile Banking enhancements.

Please let us know if you have other recommendations.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Calgary
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
problem interfacing with Explorer 9 ??
Date:August 28, 2012
Had a problem with the CIBC web page not displaying a checking acct. debit as a debit (put it in the credit columnn). After more than an HOUR, and speaking to several agents, after 3 hang-ups, they finally pawned the problem off as an Explorer 9 problem and left it as that. No solution No time frame for a fix!
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 29, 2012
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with viewing the online transactions with Internet Explorer 9.

Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory way your call was handled and for the inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

Security starts with your web browser. When you access CIBC Online Banking, CIBC checks your browser to ensure it meets our minimum requirements. At this time, CIBC.com has not completed all the necessary testing with IE9 to ensure the website displays properly when being viewed with that particular browser. We expect full compatibility in the upcoming future. If you are experiencing issues using IE9, please try again using a compatible browser.

For a current listing of supported browsers, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/legal/browser-requirements.html.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Tanoshatron
City:Sudbury
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Period of Time
Date:September 1, 2012
The online banking is good for doing minor things, such as checking accounts or paying off a VISA bill. However, I would not use it for paying off large bills since it takes so long to process the request and can be unreliable when it comes to dating transactions.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review about the bill payment processing time.

When a bill is paid, funds are debited from your bank account immediately. All merchants have agreed to process payments within two business days, regardless of the amount. Payments are dated the day the merchant credits your account. The merchant could credit your account sooner, depending on how prompt they are. Some merchants date your payment to the day you completed the transaction, but this is at their discretion.

The cut-off time for same day submission of bill payments through CIBC is 6:00 p.m. eastern time (with processing expected within two business days by the merchant). Payments made after 6:00 p.m. eastern time are dated for the following business day and will be submitted the following day. This time frame applies to payments completed through CIBC bank machines, Telephone Banking and Online Banking. Therefore, we recommend that you make your bill payments about three business days before the due date of your bill.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:MCDT
City:Denman Island BC
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Remember card box
Date:September 22, 2012
Have yet to have this work where it remembers my card #..have to input it every time ...even though I click in the box "to remember"...seems to have a short "memory"
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 24, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Customers must have persistent and session cookies enabled to access the 'Remember my card number' feature. CIBC places a cookie on the computer's hard drive, which contains:

• the bank card number
• card description (optional)

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer.

If you clear the cookies on your browser, the saved card number will be removed. Remember my card number feature should only be used when you are the only user on the computer, or when sharing the computer with trusted family members.

To set Internet Explorer 6.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Internet Options.
2. Select the Privacy tab.
3. Under Settings, click Advanced.
4. Make sure that Override automatic cookie handling is selected.
5. To accept all cookies on CIBC.com, select the Accept option for first-party and third-party cookies.
6. If you wish to disable persistent cookies, select the Block option for first-party cookies and then select the checkbox for Always allow session cookies. Session cookies must be enabled for CIBC Online Banking to function.
7. In Advanced Privacy Settings, click OK.
8. In Internet Options, click OK.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Options.
2. From the Options menu, select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. To apply the changes and close the Options dialog, click OK.

To set Safari 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Safari menu, select Preferences.
2. In the Preferences box, select the Security icon.
3. In the Accept Cookies section, select Always to accept all cookies or Only from sites I visit. CIBC Online Banking will work with either option. You cannot disable cookies in Safari without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking, so do not select Never.
4. Close the Preferences window.
5. Exit and restart the browser.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Firefox menu, select Preferences.
2. Select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. Select the appropriate option for Keep Until.

For assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:frustrated caller
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Telephone banking
Date:September 26, 2012
I have been a CIBC client for over 40 years. While my experience with CIBC online banking is great, phoning to say I was travelling was an exasperating experience. Had to finally pick a number, number 1, which THEN allowed me to choose travelling option. Really need to improve this aspect of telephone banking.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

You can access a full range of banking services using CIBC Telephone Banking. There is an automated service available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and customer service agents available to assist you during business hours.

Our Quick Reference Guide available at www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/tb_quick_ref_eng.pdf will assist you with performing common CIBC Telephone Banking transactions.

For more information about CIBC Telephone Banking, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/accessibility/telephone-services.html.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Skyla
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Online Banking
Date:October 2, 2012
It works great, although it would be nice if they had a tab for "Pending Transactions"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 4, 2012
Thank you for your suggestion to include a 'Pending Transactions' column within the Account Details view.

Your interest in this feature has been noted for review and consideration.

For personal bank accounts, the Account Details feature allows you to review all your transactions on one page. This feature provides up to the minute account transactions. All transactions, except for those that occurred from approximately 10:00 p.m. the previous business day, include detailed descriptions.

For credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by CIBC Credit Card Services. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by two to three business days.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Finnegan
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
All the excuses
Date:October 5, 2012
Cancelled a automatic transaction in August with written and verbal confirmation to both the vendor and CIBC, still being charged by vendor and CIBC cannot help as this is a automatic charge. I find CIBC mannor of dealing with these type of charges typical of not caring. I did due dilagence on my part I would hope CIBC could do theirs.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 10, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about cancelling a pre-authorized debit that is set up on your CIBC account, Finnegan.

You must contact the merchant directly to notify them that you are cancelling your authorization to debit your credit card or bank account for the goods/services before the next billing date. However, your right to cancel may be subject to the terms of the merchant’s cancellation policy or contract with you.

Contact CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if the merchant continues to debit your credit card after you have cancelled with them. Otherwise, visit your home branch if the merchant continues to bill your bank account after you instruct them to discontinue applying charges to your bank account. If certain conditions are met, CIBC may be able to initiate a dispute on your behalf pertaining to further debits to your CIBC account.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:victoria
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Account Names
Date:October 6, 2012
I am told that the naming of accounts on business accounts is not available. I am disappointed and can not understand why this simple feature that makes juggling numerous accounts so much easier is not available to business customers.
Is there a reason for the feature not being available?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 10, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about assigning nicknames to your business accounts.

This feature is only available for personal accounts. Business accounts are held by multiple users and the nickname personalization feature may not be desirable for all account holders as the changes will affect all users.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:frustrated
City:Surrey
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
changing password
Date:October 21, 2012
I AM SO FRUSTRATED I just want to scream!!! I wanted to change me password so I went to the frequently asked question and they say "go to sign in page and click on customer service". There is no customer service on that page. I am old and just don't understand why the instructions to change my password are not what the web site says. YES I now know I can do it by pressing "forgot password" but that IS NOT WHAT YOUR INSTRUCTIONS SAY. Why can't you just have a line that says "change password" or is that just to simple for all the computer savvy people. Regardless your instructions are wrong on how to change a password. I suggest you either change your instructions or add a line on your web banking that says "change password". You might think everyone knows that "forgot my password" is how you change your password but I can guarantee that is no right.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorOctober 22, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with changing your CIBC Online Banking password.

To change your CIBC Online Banking password online, you will need to sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password. To do so:

1. Select “Customer Services” from the left-hand navigation menu.
2. From the "Site Preferences" column, select "Change your password".
3. Enter your existing Online Banking password for your CIBC debit card.
4. Enter your new 6 to 12 character password twice, then select "Save Changes". A confirmation page will let you know if the change was accepted.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:LuwilloArrows
City:Montreal
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Good when it works...
Date:November 5, 2012
I have the unfortunate problem that I can only access CIBC from my home network. If I'm at school, at work, at a friend's house, travelling in Nova Scotia or Ontario, Online banking does not let me log in because : "You have incorrectly answered your personal verification question. You will need to reset your password to regain access to CIBC Online Banking." But if I go home the very same evening, and use my username and password from my home network, everything works fine.
This is a huge inconvenience for me personally, and it's very, very, very annoying.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorNovember 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

You may have been locked out of CIBC Online Banking due to your Personal Verification Questions (PVQs). It is possible that sometime in the past, you did not answer your PVQs correctly and you have been locked out of your PVQs since that time.

Although you were able to bypass this requirement (answering your PVQs) when you accessed Online Banking from your home computer; it is not possible to do so when you are accessing Online Banking from a different IP address.

Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information.

For assistance with gaining access to CIBC Online Banking from a new IP address and setting up your PVQs and password, please call Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:NOTTOOHAPPY
City:Shawniganlake
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Lack of information on RRIF investments
Date:November 19, 2012
I am disappointed and frustrated that CIBC does not provide any on-line information on RRIF holdings, except for the RRIF account number and the current value. As a customer, it would help me manage my holdings if more detail was provided, such as rate of return, withdrawals and maturity date.. I don't understand why I cannot get this info at CIBC because I can access it at my other RRIFs at other banks. I've complained about this for a number of years, nothing changes.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorNovember 20, 2012
Your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share your Online Banking experience with us.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Mary
City:Exeter
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 1, 2012
Please update your website to Windows 8 compatibility. I cannot get any account transaction info.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, Mary.

We have recently updated our system to resolve the reported technical issues when accessing CIBC Online Banking with Internet Explorer 10. If you experience the same error, please write to us using the Online Banking Message Centre and we’ll invesitgate further.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Data Availability for Transaction Downloads
Date:December 9, 2012
It is extremely frustating how you are only able to download the last 13 months to the day of transactions, especially when it comes to doing yearends for small business owners. It would be extremely helpful for accounting purposes if there was two full years of data available. If CIBC is not capable of doing this, even having a full 13 months plus of data available for the full calendar month would be extremely useful for accounting purposes. Thank you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent, until Dec 8, 2012
Date:December 10, 2012
Now that scrolling left-right is required along with up-down on the investment pages, the website is NOT convenient to use. I recommend it to those who want to monitor only their credit cards and bank accounts.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the new layout on our investment pages.

Please rest assured your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:MONTREAL
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
best fried
Date:December 20, 2012
someone can't spell or this site is fraudulent
You wrote as a security question"best fried" - i think you meal best friend????
VERY SCARY
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We can confirm that 'The name of your best friend' is not a default CIBC Personal Verification Question (PVQ). When you choose your own PVQ, it will be displayed by the way you have entered it online.

To edit your PVQs, when signed on to CIBC Online Banking:

1. Select “Customer Services” from the left-hand navigation
2. Select “Create or change your personal verification questions”

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=Guidelines+Selecting+PVQs.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Bill
City:Sidney
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
POOR SERVICE
Date:January 1, 2013
I have a CIBC mortgage but do not do any other business with CIBC. I would like to view my mortgage statement on line but because I do not have an account at CIBC other than the mortgage I have no bank card. At one time I did have an account and a card but because my account was dormant I had to close it or be faced with service charges for the dormant account
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 22, 2013
We appreciate your interest to register for CIBC Online Banking, Bill.

It is not possible to register for CIBC Online Banking without holding a bank account with us. During the registration process, you will be prompted to enter a transit and an account number for a bank account that is attached to your debit card.

You may open a CIBC savings account with no standard monthly charges at any branch. A bank card will be issued at that time.

To learn more about our savings accounts, go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/chequing-savings/saving-accts.html.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:ljbsafety
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Change was not necessary
Date:January 9, 2013
The previous version of home page was very user friendly. I am a senior and the change from having the sign on menu infront of you as soon as the interenet page loaded encouraged me to START BANKING. The current page was and is very difficuult to navigate around and the sign in button is not obvious. The rest of the home page is crowded and too bjsy. Thats my two cents oh inflation .5 cents worth whether it will be considered or not.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your feedback is valuable to enhance the CIBC Online Banking experience.

To sign on to CIBC Online Banking from our homepage:

1. Go to www.cibc.com.
2. Enter your card number into the 'Card Number' field.
3. Enter your password into the "Password' field.
4. Select the blue 'Sign On' button.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Castlegar
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
no after hours banking
Date:January 11, 2013
It takes two days to process requests made after bank hours. What is the point of internet banking?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Transactions done through Telephone, Online or Mobile Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day. Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days.

This information is available online at https://www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/personal-acct-service-fees-en.pdf on page 35.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Lewisporte
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
access to personal account
Date:January 24, 2013
seems like every other time I try to access my account on line, my account number/password is rejected. After several times trying I end up going in to "reset password" in order to get into my account. what's wrong with the access site. I keep resetting or changing my password almost every time I try to access my account. It is frustrating & time comsuming.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:red deer
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
trying to get accounts linked.
Date:January 30, 2013
Cut or dropped lines 4 times over 30''. Unable to solve problem. Back and forth to Investors and online.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
I'm sorry for the issues you are experiencing with linking your investment accounts online.

You can your Online Banking accounts with your Investor's Edge accounts so that you can easily navigate between the sites without needing to sign on separately. This feature is only applicable if you already have access to Investor's Edge and Online Banking.

To associate your accounts:

1. Sign on to Online Banking.
2. On the My Accounts page, click the Investing tab at the top of the page. This takes you to the Investor's Edge Sign in page.
3. Enter your User ID and password. This takes you to the Investor's Edge Single Sign On Association Page.

Next time you sign on to either site, you can switch between both without having to sign in again.

If it doesn't work, please speak to one of our Investor's Edge Represenatives. More info available at www.investorsedge.cibc.com/ie/about-us/contact-us.html.
1541-1560 out of 2383 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 120 next>>