Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.498 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,146 reviews)
5 stars
1,860
4 stars
634
3 stars
362
2 stars
292
1 star
998
2,299 out of 3,172(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Duncan
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Online Banking
Date:September 12, 2012
Overal a very user friendly site, I just transfered out of a TSFA account into standard chequing and it was such an easy smooth process and I had even opted for the email which lets me know the status of my transfer as it goes!! How great is that !?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
remmittance forms /hst etc.
Date:September 12, 2012
As a small business owner , how do set up for paying government payroll remittance forms , gst/hst etc.?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 14, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about the CIBC Government Payment and Tax Filing Service.

The CIBC Government Payment and Tax Filing Service allows small business and Imperial Service customers to pay their taxes using Online Banking.

To pay and file business taxes, you must sign on to Online Banking with a Small Business or Imperial Service bank card. Then:

1. Select the "Customer Services" tab from the left side navigation.
2. Select "Pay and File Business Taxes."

The Tax Payment and Filing Demo is available at http://promo.telus.com/CIBC/index.html.

To learn more about this feature, please visit http://www.cibc.com/ca/lrg-corporate/cash-management/govt-pmt-and-filing-srvc.html.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
EXCELLENT!!
Date:September 11, 2012
the best thing is that I can check my accounts anytime and transfer money anytime, anywhere. Really easy and the upgrade to Bill Pay is amazing and time saving.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Blainville
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
traduction française
Date:September 10, 2012
I am perfectly bilingual, but I chose the french version of this site. I must say the translation is rather inadequate and I had to refer to the original version which is in english to understand some directions. You should really, as one of the most reliable banks in the world, get a better translation for this website, after all it is our banking route of the future. On this page what do you mean by registered?? Do you mean the time I have been a cibc customer or a online cibc customer. As an example, in your translation you translate registered to french as registered MAIL A comment is a comment no matter how long I have been a "customer". I read your guidelines and writing this is simply as a favor I am doing you. I am sure that french only customers must have problems with your translation. ok i just read in the review of my comment that registered meant online customer!!!
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us, Gazelle.

We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of CIBC.com. Your remarks have been forwarded appropriate departments for further actions.

Thank you for choosing CIBC and providing us your valuable feedback.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Port Alberni B.C.
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
online banking
Date:September 10, 2012
When I sign off,@the sign in appears again if I click on the right hand edge of my card # @ click back on the dropdown my whole account appears @ I can go thru all of my accounts.this is not what I call a secure online service @ I would like an explanation or a fix.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 14, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention.

To sign on to CIBC Online Banking after you logged off successfully from the previous banking session, you must enter the password again to regain access online.

CIBC can track up to 10 card numbers by placing a cookie on your computer's hard drive. The next time you sign on, CIBC will recognize your computer through the cookie, and enable you to choose from a dropdown list of CIBC card numbers that you've provided. However, CIBC does not save your online password on the Sign On page. Some internet browsers offer users the ability to save their passwords when they log into certain sites. You may have enabled the save password feature on the browser.

You can keep your private information secure by closing your web browser after your banking session or by clearing your browser's cache.

Please follow these instructions to clear your browser's cache:

Using Internet Explorer 6.0:
1. From the browser menu bar, select "Tools" and then from the dropdown menu, select "Internet Options…" The Internet Options window appears.
2. Select the "General" tab. This is usually the default.
3. In the Temporary Internet Files section, select "Delete Files…". A "Delete Files" message window appears.
4. Select "OK".
5. In the "Internet Options" window, select "OK".

Using Safari 2.0:
1. From the browser menu bar, select "Safari" and then from the dropdown menu, select "Empty Cache". A pop-up window asks you to confirm your request to empty the cache.
2. Select "Empty".

Using Firefox 3.0:
1. Click Tools and select Options on the Firefox menu bar.
2. Click the Privacy Icon on the Option menu bar to open the Privacy Properties.
3. From the "Clear Private Data" section, select the "Clear Now" button
4. Ensure that the "Cache" option is checked and select "Clear Private Data Now" button
5. Select "OK" to close the "Options" window

Once you've cleared the cache, please close the browser and re-open it before signing back into CIBC Online Banking.

If the problem persists, please report it to CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Strathmore
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Exceeding my expectations!
Date:September 10, 2012
I recently moved to a new city and called in to change all my information. This was an easy udpate for me, and fit perfectly into my lack of available time to go into a branch. That in itself was great. However, when I logged onto my online banking a couple days later I had received an email from CIBC as well, confirming the address change and noting that if I hadn't made this change to contact Customer Service. I was quite impressed that CIBC took the extra step in sending something so simple out to me to ensure that my account's security was not breached. Thank-you!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with us.

Your compliments are very much appreciated.

At CIBC, an important part of our commitment to you is to protect your personal information. Keeping your information and affairs secured is a cornerstone of our business and an integral part of our commitment to service excellence.

Moving can be stressful, but at CIBC we've taken the hassle out of changing your address by making the change address feature available to you to online, 24/7. The information for your personal accounts and credit cards can be changed at the same time and that information is updated on your accounts in 5 business days.

Just sign on to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "Customer Services" from the left-hand navigation.
2. Select "Change your address".

To see step by step instructions on how to change your address online, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/online-banking/address-change.html.

In addition, alerts are notifications that CIBC sends to keep you informed of transactions and to monitor your CIBC accounts. All alerts are sent automatically to your Message Centre by default, and to any other additional contact methods you select.

To view the complete list of CIBC Alerts that are available to you, simply select "Manage My Alerts" from the left-hand navigation after you signed on to CIBC Online Banking.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:caledon
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
computerized investment information
Date:September 10, 2012
investment cost information is lacking compared to other investment dealers
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Customer feedback is very important to CIBC and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We welcome suggestions about the content of our websites. Your remarks have been noted for consideration.

Your investment needs are our priority. We're committed to doing all we can to help you with your investments. If you wish to review the types of investments we offer to help you move towards your savings goal, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Edmoton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Everything great except......
Date:September 9, 2012
I really like all this site has to offer with the exception of not being able to transfer money into my TFSA
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 10, 2012
Thank you for providing us an opportunity to explain how to transfer funds into your Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) online.

You can make contributions to an existing CIBC TFSA through Online Banking. To do so:

1. Sign on to Online Banking.
2. Select the "Offers and Products" tab.
3. Select the "Tax-Free Saving Accounts" link.
4. Select the "Purchase or Contribute" link of the appropriate product.
5. If you accept the terms and conditions, select "Next."
6. Complete and submit the form by choosing "Existing" and entering your current TFSA number.

We hope this information answers your question.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Alerts
Date:September 9, 2012
I wish I was able to access my alerts through Mobile Banking.
Thank you
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Extremely Convenient and Reliable!
Date:September 8, 2012
I love the convenience of paying my credit card bills when I remember, not 'later, when I get home' (and might forget!), by using the CIBC app for Android. I love its many features, I can do everything I do on the website on my phone as well.
I really like the website as well, though my only tiny complaint would be that credit card amount due could be a little clearer - I've had to explain to others the difference between balance owing/statement balance. But once that's clear, it's pretty straightforward.
Thanks CIBC, for making banking very easy for me!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:edmonton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
online register
Date:September 8, 2012
repeat get a new card!! that is annoying.. refuse to give me temp password i have to go to the bank to get a new card.. i follow instruction and keep saying it is incorrect.. poor..
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 10, 2012
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with registering for Online Banking.

If you received a replacement card with the same card number, your online login information should remain the same. If the card numbers are different from before, you will need to register the new card for CIBC Online Banking.

To register for CIBC Online Banking, you’ll need your CIBC debit card and a 3-digit Telephone Banking password or a 6-digit temporary CIBC Online Banking password. If you use the 3-digit Telephone Banking password, you will be prompted to enter the transit and account number for one of the accounts attached to your debit card.

You can find that information by reviewing your bank account statement or one of your personal cheques. At the bottom of your cheque, there will be a 5-digit number, which is your branch transit number, followed by a 3-digit number, which is CIBC's financial institution number (010) and finally a 7-digit number, which is your account number.

If you don't have a CIBC debit card, you can register using your CIBC credit card. To do this, you’ll need your CIBC credit card and most recent CIBC credit card statement.

To register from the CIBC homepage:

1. Select the "Register" link located on the right hand side.
2. Enter your card number and press "Next".
3. Enter the required information and press “Next”.
4. Read the Electronic Access Agreement and select "I Agree" to continue.
5. Following the instructions on the screen, set up 2 different personal verification questions and answers. Confirm the answers and select "Next".
6. Choose a 6 to 12 character password and enter it. This password can be letters or numbers or both, and is case-sensitive. Special Characters are not allowed.
7. Enter the password again for confirmation and select "Next”.
8. You will receive confirmation that you have registered successfully. Select "Start CIBC Online Banking" to continue.

If you need help with registering for CIBC Online Banking, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Visit www.cibc.com/ca/demos/welcome.html to learn more about CIBC Online Banking.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Saint John
Province: NB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Awesome
Date:September 7, 2012
I love using online banking, anytime i need a question answered they are very quick to response. Also finding what you need on the Site is very easy.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:saint-georges
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
quick and safe
Date:September 7, 2012
I've been respond in less then 24 hours. the information was precise and perfect. thanx CIBC
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:vancouver
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Date:September 7, 2012
The only problem I encounter with online banking is for some reason your website does not remember my bank card number. It remembers for 1 use and then I have to re imput the number and hit "remember my card number." It doesn't. Very frustrating and would like this fixed.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, Rocky.

CIBC is currently not experiencing any issues with the ‘Remember my card number’ feature that is available on the CIBC Online Banking sign on page. This feature is functioning as per designed at the moment.

Customers must have persistent and session cookies enabled to access this feature. Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer. CIBC places a cookie on the computer's hard drive, which contains:

• the bank card number
• card description (optional)

If you clear the cookies on your browser, the saved card number will be removed. Remember my card number feature should only be used when you are the only user on the computer, or when sharing the computer with trusted family members.

To set Internet Explorer 6.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Internet Options.
2. Select the Privacy tab.
3. Under Settings, click Advanced.
4. Make sure that Override automatic cookie handling is selected.
5. To accept all cookies on CIBC.com, select the Accept option for first-party and third-party cookies.
6. If you wish to disable persistent cookies, select the Block option for first-party cookies and then select the checkbox for Always allow session cookies. Session cookies must be enabled for CIBC Online Banking to function.
7. In Advanced Privacy Settings, click OK.
8. In Internet Options, click OK.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for Windows to accept cookies:

1. From the Tools menu, select Options.
2. From the Options menu, select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. To apply the changes and close the Options dialog, click OK.

To set Safari 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Safari menu, select Preferences.
2. In the Preferences box, select the Security icon.
3. In the Accept Cookies section, select Always to accept all cookies or Only from sites I visit. CIBC Online Banking will work with either option. You cannot disable cookies in Safari without disabling the session cookies required for Online Banking, so do not select Never.
4. Close the Preferences window.
5. Exit and restart the browser.

To set Firefox 3.0 or later for MacOS to accept cookies:

1. From the Firefox menu, select Preferences.
2. Select the Privacy icon.
3. To enable cookies, from the Cookies section select Accept cookies from sites.
4. Select the appropriate option for Keep Until.

For further assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Courtice
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
On Line Banking
Date:September 5, 2012
Just love the convienence of on line banking including buying US $ and ability to schedule and pay bills.. been with CIBC 35 years and intend staying. Now I even get a bank in Courtice soon.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Greater Personalized Messages
Date:September 4, 2012
Please don't have so many automated messages, they are honestly a waste of time. Please allocate a larger budget to the team to answer these questions and less on in-bank representatives.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
I'm sorry for the incorrect response that you received, Katzup.

To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements.

I would like to ensure that you receive a reply to your original e-mail. Please write back to us at feedback@cibc.com and if possible, include your original note. If you are a CIBC Online Banking customer, please sign on to Online Banking and send us a secure e-mail.

If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

I apologize for any inconvenience this error may have caused and thank you for the opportunity to address this issue.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
your on line set up
Date:September 4, 2012
The online set up is far too complicated. It may work for some but I have been with CIBC since the early 1959, when it was the bank of commerce. Now I have to have a degree in computing to pay my bills.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Paying bills doesn't have to be a hassle. With CIBC Online Banking, you can pay bills anywhere you use a computer with Internet access.

Keep on top of your bills, with the ability to pay them at your convenience through CIBC Online Banking. Any bill that you've registered with CIBC- whether online, by phone or in-branch- is already available to you to make payments online.

An added feature when pay your bills online is that your accounts- such as multiple accounts you hold with the same payee- can have nicknames assigned to help tell them apart.

Just sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "Pay Bills" from the left-hand navigation.
2. Select the payee(s) from the page.

To pay bills, you will need:

- The exact dollar amount of the bill payment
- The account number you wish to take the payment from

You can see step by step instructions on how to pay your bills online at https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/online-banking/pay-registered-bills.html.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Feedback on service
Date:September 3, 2012
Very poor service. Lack of effectiveness. I am considering moving my banking because of it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
I am sorry that you did not receive the attention you would have expected and deserved from us.

CIBC is committed to providing our customers with the highest level of service possible. However, it is obvious in this instance that we failed in this commitment and for this we apologize.

Customer feedback is very important to CIBC and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

We're here to help. To understand the nature of your complaint, please send us an e-mail and go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html. Once we receive your correspondence, we will write back with two business days.

To help us resolve your concern in a timely manner, be sure to include:

- Your name on file
- The nature of your complaint
- Details relevant to the matter and with whom you have already discussed the issue

If you are a CIBC Online Banking customer, please sign on to Online Banking and send us a secure e-mail.

Again, we regret if your experience with us caused you any unnecessary frustration.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
online banking
Date:September 3, 2012
I love the CIBC online banking site...the last payments are listed with the payees which saves so much time in knowing when your bills are due. The only disappointment I had when switching from another bank was that I cannot have a personal payee, there is no free way of putting money in my son's CIBC account without visiting the branch. This causes a big inconvenience to me and him. At my other bank I could just "pay him" from my list of payees... We both switched to CIBC but assumed this was a common service. When I asked at the branch I was told to use the money email transfer that it was free and of course when I used it I was charged...
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 4, 2012
I'm sorry for the incorrect response that you received. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur.

At this time, it is not possible to transfer funds online from your CIBC account to a CIBC account that is not in your name without initiating an INTERAC e-Transfer.

CIBC charges the following fees to CIBC senders and CIBC recipients:

- Sending an INTERAC e-Transfer - $1.50
- Receiving an INTERAC e-Transfer using CIBC Online Banking - Free

For more information about CIBC INTERAC e-Transfer, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/how-to-bank/online-banking/send-receive-emts.html.

We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sudbury
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Period of Time
Date:September 1, 2012
The online banking is good for doing minor things, such as checking accounts or paying off a VISA bill. However, I would not use it for paying off large bills since it takes so long to process the request and can be unreliable when it comes to dating transactions.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorSeptember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review about the bill payment processing time.

When a bill is paid, funds are debited from your bank account immediately. All merchants have agreed to process payments within two business days, regardless of the amount. Payments are dated the day the merchant credits your account. The merchant could credit your account sooner, depending on how prompt they are. Some merchants date your payment to the day you completed the transaction, but this is at their discretion.

The cut-off time for same day submission of bill payments through CIBC is 6:00 p.m. eastern time (with processing expected within two business days by the merchant). Payments made after 6:00 p.m. eastern time are dated for the following business day and will be submitted the following day. This time frame applies to payments completed through CIBC bank machines, Telephone Banking and Online Banking. Therefore, we recommend that you make your bill payments about three business days before the due date of your bill.
1541-1560 out of 2542 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 128 next>>