Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.463 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,290 reviews)
5 stars
1,893
4 stars
647
3 stars
374
2 stars
304
1 star
1,072
2,332 out of 3,220(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Cape st George
Province: NL
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Changing to e statement
Date:December 14, 2012
I have done multiple searches to change from mailed statements to e statements with no results. I keep getting directed to the question about the difference between the two
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 17, 2012
We appreciate your interest in paperless banking.

With your eStatement, you can view a free electronic copy of current or previously available credit card and bank account statements anytime within the security of CIBC Online Banking.

Setting up eStatements is easy. Just sign on to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "Customer Services" from the left-hand navigation
2. Select "Change your statement preferences"
3. Choose “Edit Preferences” and follow the steps to set up eStatements for your account

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:St. John's
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
internet team: Message Centre
Date:December 12, 2012
answer was clear, prompt and helpful
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:peterborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
change password
Date:December 11, 2012
This message, "The password you have entered is invalid. Please reenter your password. {Result #117}" Is not helpful. Please explain the reason...ie what password rule am I not following?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking.

Error code 117 implies that an incorrect online password was entered on the CIBC Online Banking sign on page.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen.
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have forgotten your Online Banking password or have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at logging in, you can reset the password online.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=reset+password or call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:richmond hill
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
good service
Date:December 11, 2012
unable to pay online to revenue Canada for my live-in nanny taxes. I hope someday they will add this feature.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
Thank you for your suggestion.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

For more information, visit www.cibc.com/ca/small-business/cash-management/govt-pmt-and-filing-srvc.html.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Brampton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Love it!
Date:December 11, 2012
I absolutely love all the new innovative online features...and of course the anti-fraud & id theft download. I feel safe and secure when using CIBC online banking. I have never had my card compromised and have been a CIBC client for more than 20 years. To add to the easy online banking, I really enjoy the CIBC mortgage advisor app!
Thank you CIBC for simplifying and giving me the convenience to bank online, save time and the troubles of travelling with my little one to make payments, transfers etc. All at my finger tips and it truly is easy!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent, until Dec 8, 2012
Date:December 10, 2012
Now that scrolling left-right is required along with up-down on the investment pages, the website is NOT convenient to use. I recommend it to those who want to monitor only their credit cards and bank accounts.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 20, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the new layout on our investment pages.

Please rest assured your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Fort Macleod
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
e- banking
Date:December 10, 2012
I would like to see CIBC move to being able to allow patrons to email funds to the United States from their CIBC account. I know that other banks provide this service but see that CIBC only provides the service with in Canada and with Canadian fund account. Please review
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion, Stepho.

INTERAC e-Transfers only allows you to send money to and receive money from other financial institutions within Canada at this time.

We are looking forward to expand our electronic payment networks in the near future.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Data Availability for Transaction Downloads
Date:December 9, 2012
It is extremely frustating how you are only able to download the last 13 months to the day of transactions, especially when it comes to doing yearends for small business owners. It would be extremely helpful for accounting purposes if there was two full years of data available. If CIBC is not capable of doing this, even having a full 13 months plus of data available for the full calendar month would be extremely useful for accounting purposes. Thank you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent
Date:December 8, 2012
I have been a CIBC customer for a long time, and all personal banking with CIBC has been excellent.
I also use online banking, have found it to be very convenient.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 7, 2012
It's a nightmare to use CIBC on line banking. It's impossible to log in, no matter how many times one would try, it's like the site has decided against it.
On several occasions now, I've tried to log in -- have all the correct information and entered it -- but keep getting a window saying the information is not correct. It's not only frustrating, but most aggravating. Isn't this supposed to help make our lives easier? I spent more time trying to log in at the CIBC on line than any other website related business or work.
I keep hoping that the site would improve and next time it will be different. Alas, that's yet to happen. I've used different softwares to see if one can work better than other, again, to no avail.
For years, I've been grateful, extremely pleased with CIBC services. Each time I've visited my branch or another location, there's been kind, welcoming smiles and I've been served quickly and well. I used Telephone banking and it was easy to use and simple. Then I was encouraged to use on line banking and thought it would make life easier, especially since I travel a lot and can check my accounts on line, pay bills, etc. But it's like being in a bad dream and never waking up.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 8, 2012
Thank you for being your concerns to my attention.

Please retry the sign on process and ensure that:

1. You have the Num Lock turned on if you are using the keypad to enter your card number.
2. You enter the password exactly as it was originally chosen.
3. You have the Caps Lock turned off.

If you have been locked out after 3 unsuccessful attempts at logging in, you may reset the password online. The Online Banking password must be entered in the proper case, as it is case-sensitive.

To reset your password:

1. Go to www.cibc.com.
2. Enter your card number and select the "Forgot your password" link.
3. On the "Forgot Your Password" page, answer each of the two personal verification questions, and select "Next."
4. Set up your new Online Banking password. This password can be letters or numbers or both, and is case-sensitive.
5. Enter the password again and select "Next."
6. You will be taken to a confirmation screen.
7. Select "Next" to continue and continue your banking.

If you have forgotten your personal verification questions and answers, please call Online Banking Customer Support at 1-888-872-2422. The representative will clear your old password and enable you to re-register for Online Banking with a temporary password. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

If you've forgotten the password for your credit card, you must go through the CIBC Credit Card Online Banking registration process again. This erases your existing password and allows you to create a new one. To register your CIBC credit card for Online Banking, please go to the Sign On page at www.cibc.com and select the "Register" link. You will be directed to the Online Banking Registration page where you will be asked to provide your credit card details, date of birth and statement information.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
This product does not support basic configuration
Date:December 7, 2012
CIBC online eStatement service does not support Windows 7, IE 9, Adobe Acrobat X. This is very inconvenient and it makes the service unuseful.
Support Staff suggests customers installing other browsers. We don't see why we have to do so, just for CIBC. CIBC is not the only financial companies we deal with. We deal with at least 2 other financial companies. They do not require us to install anything else to use eStatement. We are also concerned that installing more than one browsers on our PC will cause problems as I had learned the hard lesson in the past.
Please invest some effort to make online service more pleasant. Thanks.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 7, 2012
I’m sorry to read of your difficulties with accessing the eStatements online.

Here are some reasons that could be preventing you from viewing the eStatements:

You may be using a browser version that Adobe Acrobat Reader does not support. Adobe does not currently support opening PDF documents in a 64-bit version of Internet Explorer. For more information about when Adobe will extend its support to the 64-bit version of Internet Explorer, please contact Adobe directly.

If you are able to, as an alternative, you can access your eStatements using another browser supported by both Adobe and CIBC. To view CIBC’s list of supported browsers, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/legal/browser-requirements.html.

Furthermore, your computer might be using pop-up blocking software when accessing CIBC Online Banking. Pop-up blocking software may prevent you from viewing your eStatement. CIBC recommends that you turn off your pop-up blocking software to prevent access issues. Alternatively, you could add the following address to the list of allowed sites in your pop-up blocking software settings: “https://www.cibconline.cibc.com”

If none of the above scenarios apply to your situation, please write to us through CIBC Online Banking Message Centre and we’ll investigate further.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Ticked off
Date:December 6, 2012
I got a new card number (had to cancel my old card because someone was using my number...a good thing thanks to fraud protection). Now all I want is to access my Visa statements etc online. Tried to re-register 3 times with no success. Tried phoning and had to wait while my cell phone minutes click by...not happy ...lousy system of re-registering. Frustrated and not wanting to spend my time waiting to chat with an operator.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 7, 2012
I'm sorry to read that you are experiencing issues with the online registration.

To read about how to register for CIBC Online Banking, please visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=register+online+banking.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Delay in posting visa pmt. from another cibc acct.
Date:December 4, 2012
I find it frustrating that cibc does not instantly post an online Visa payment when it is transferred from a cibc chequing account. I checked my Visa account and found that an online transfer that I had made on Sunday afternoon still hadn't been posted today (Tuesday evening). My screen also indicated that there was no pending payment either. Why isn't online banking posted instantly?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry about the credit card processing time.

Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days. Transactions done through Online Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day.

A CIBC credit card payment made through Online Banking is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for 1 to 3 business days. Whether the payment is made using the 'Pay Bills' or 'Transfers' features of Online Banking, it is immediately shown as available credit and can be used for new purchases. You may need to sign off from Online Banking and sign on again to see this update.

The "Available Credit" field for your CIBC credit card account reflects the most up to date transactions processed on your card. The "Balance Owing" column does not. The most recent balance on your personal CIBC credit card account will be displayed, but again will not include all transactions or accrued interest.

Your most recent credit card payments, purchases authorized but not posted, convenience cheques or refunds (credit vouchers) may not be reflected in the Balance column.

To view the history of your CIBC credit card payments while signed on to CIBC Online Banking:

1. Select "My Accounts"
2. Select "View Account Details"
3. Select the bank account which the credit card payment was made from

CIBC credit card payments made through CIBC Online Banking will appear as 'INTERNET TRANSFER'.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:whitecourt
Province: AB
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Date:December 4, 2012
Havent seen any other bank having so many technical issues :(.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2012
I’m sorry to read that your Online Banking experience did not meet your expectation.

All of us at CIBC strive to provide the best in customer services and products and I am sorry to learn you have been left with less than that impression. We want to investigate the technical issues that you have brought to our attention.

If you want to provide us more details regarding technical issues you have experienced, please follow the methods outlined below.

- Sign on to CIBC Online Banking and send us a secure e-mail
- Send us a regular e-mail by completing the online form at www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Hamilton
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
difficulty to use your sites
Date:December 3, 2012
Your on line banking so far is very disepointing for me. I received 2 statement about my credit card, annual fee paid, yet when I want pay bills or transffer some funds you send me messages like: U7140 and U7141. Why dont you tell me how is it, that you can claim that my credit card deos not exist or that I can not use it on line when spesifially is issued for on line banking?
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 7, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention.

U7140 and U7141 are not valid CIBC Online Banking error codes. We want to investigate this incident further. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 1-888-872-2422. One of our Online Banking Specialists will be happy to review the error messages you received.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Exeter
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 1, 2012
Please update your website to Windows 8 compatibility. I cannot get any account transaction info.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, Mary.

We have recently updated our system to resolve the reported technical issues when accessing CIBC Online Banking with Internet Explorer 10. If you experience the same error, please write to us using the Online Banking Message Centre and we’ll invesitgate further.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Using the ATM
Date:November 30, 2012
The touch screen method is super to use.
Finding a way around it takes patience at times.
The lack of information on ATM updates can be annoying
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am pleased to read that you are enjoying the convenience of our newly installed touchscreen automated bank machines.

Your feedback will be taken into consideration. We will use your review to improve our bank machine features in the future.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Online Banking Bill Payment History Lost
Date:November 30, 2012
Bill payment history is wonderful but you cannot count on it because CIBC cannot recover the data if your card is replaced with a new number! My card was cancel by mistake by the customer service and the data cannot be recovered!
I have been on the phone and at my branch and the answer is always the same. Sorry and live with it!
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience.

We're always looking for ways to improve the Online Banking experience to our customers. We have forwarded your feedback to our Internet Banking team for consideration.

If you have recently obtained a replacement card with a change of bank card numbers, you may follow the instructions below to retrieve your bill payment history online.

To access your bill payment history while signed on to CIBC Online Banking:

1. Select “My Accounts” from the left side menu
2. Select “View Account Details” and choose the correct account from the dropdown menu
3. Select “Custom Search”
4. Select the date range and choose “Bill Payments” as the Transaction Type
5. Select “Get Details”
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:halifax
Province: NS
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
on-line/mobile banking
Date:November 30, 2012
excellant , easy to use and very convenient . The new app for credit cards sounds good but one for debit would be better . Thanks .
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Online Banking: Not registered
Do not travel with this card. Take many alternati.
Date:November 29, 2012
I answered your initial ID questions correctly. You said I was wrong. I am now marooned in Barbados and must find some other way of getting money so that I can live. I spent a lot of time and care setting up this debit card. Now as soon as I return to Toronto I shall cancel it. Turkeys!!! Give a customer a chance! Offer some alternative ID questions. When a customer is in the Caribbean, you need to know that it is not just a question of picking up the phone and re-setting one's password. It can take DAYS to find a phone and an operator that will agree to help call your HELP number. MAKE IT EASIER FOR PEOPLE who have allegedly made an error in keying in their ID.
I AM DONE WITH CIBC.
You have turned a pleasant holiday into an ordeal.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2012
We are sorry to read about your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking in Barbados.

At CIBC, an important part of our commitment to you is to protect your financial information online. We use multiple layers of protection to increase your security while using CIBC Online Banking.

As part of the sign on process, you may occasionally be prompted to answer one of the Personal Verification Questions (PVQs) you have set up. Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information. Also, you will be prompted more frequently if you are traveling.

If you've forgotten your PVQs and have been locked out of Online Banking after two failed attempts, you will be asked to call CIBC Online Banking on the third attempt.

If you're calling from abroad, the number is 1-902-420-2422. Collect calls are accepted if you cannot access your account online because you have been locked out by your Personal Verification Questions. Please specify this at the beginning of your call. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
1541-1560 out of 2660 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 133 next>>