Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.455 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,348 reviews)
5 stars
1,909
4 stars
655
3 stars
382
2 stars
308
1 star
1,094
2,352 out of 3,247(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,541 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Gatineau
Province: QC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
ON-LINE BANKING
Date:January 27, 2013
We have used the services of on-line banking for several years and are fully satisfied with this service. The site is clear and easy to use.Please do not change the format of showing the accounts and investment details in a more complex manner as this will lead to unnecesary frustration. It's fine just as it is.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,542 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:ajax
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 24, 2013
The help screens do not answer my question. where does one go!!!!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
We're here to help.

Please send us a secured message after you sign on to CIBC Online Banking. We strive to respond to all messages within one business day.

If you are not an Online Banking customer, you may still send us an e-mail. As e-mail channels may not be secure, we ask that you call our Telephone Banking Contact Centre at 1-800-465-2422 about specific account matters.

For more information, please go to www.cibc.com/ca/contact-cibc.html.
Review 1,543 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Lewisporte
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
access to personal account
Date:January 24, 2013
seems like every other time I try to access my account on line, my account number/password is rejected. After several times trying I end up going in to "reset password" in order to get into my account. what's wrong with the access site. I keep resetting or changing my password almost every time I try to access my account. It is frustrating & time comsuming.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 1,544 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Albert Bridge
Province: NS
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Unable to access online from Mexico
Date:January 24, 2013
Even after contacting CIBC in Canada before I left for Mexico on the 20th of January, 2013, letting them know I needed access while away, I am unable to get online. Someone please fix this problem. I am going to be here for 2 months and want to be able to carry on my business while away. Please do something about this as soon as you receive this post. It is unfortunate I have to do this but I am at my wits end.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
We are sorry to read about your difficulties with signing on to CIBC Online Banking in Mexico.

At CIBC, an important part of our commitment to you is to protect your financial information online. We use multiple layers of protection to increase your security while using CIBC Online Banking.

As part of the sign on process, you may occasionally be prompted to answer one of the Personal Verification Questions (PVQs) you have set up. Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information. Also, you will be prompted more frequently if you are traveling.

If you've forgotten your PVQs and have been locked out of Online Banking after two failed attempts, you will be asked to call CIBC Online Banking on the third attempt.

If you're calling from abroad, the number is 1-902-420-2422. Collect calls are accepted if you cannot access your account online because you have been locked out by your Personal Verification Questions. Please specify this at the beginning of your call. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 1,545 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Easiest Banking EVER!
Date:January 23, 2013
I love CIBC's online banking. It is so easy to use, you can do everything with a few clicks of the mouse and there is a clarity, which is lacking from most banking websites. Your mobile app is very impressive as well.
I am a big fan and use online banking a few times per week!
Sarah
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 1,546 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:prince george
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
why can't you have image of cheque to explain-
Date:January 22, 2013
why can't you have image of cheque to explain- it seems that my cheque has institution number in the middle of account and transit number
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, Sarat.

The institution number for CIBC is always 010, no matter the cheque, transit or account number(s) involved.

Your branch transit number is a 5-digit number which identifies your home branch.

This number, along with your 7-digit bank account number, can be found on the bottom of your CIBC cheques or on the top right corner of your CIBC statement.

The cheque number is the first three numbers in the bottom left corner of the cheque. For personal accounts, it can be found in the top right corner of the cheque.

You can also find your bank account and branch transit number by signing on to Online Banking. Your deposit account information is listed in "My Accounts" in the format (ttttt-aa-aaaaa) where the first 5-digit number (t) is the transit number and the last 7-digit bank account number (a) is the account number.
Review 1,547 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:orleans
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
paiements online
Date:January 21, 2013
i always trust paying my bills online, and this month i tought everything was fine and i realize 2 weeks later that my paiement didnt go trought. I am so mad, cause now all my paiements are late.
So please be carreful , always verify if it went trough few days later!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 1,548 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Ridgetown
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 21, 2013
Didnt help me at all. Still cant make transfers from my cibc account to my cibc visa account
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I’m sorry to read of your difficulties with transferring funds online to your credit card account.

To transfer funds online from your CIBC bank account to your CIBC credit card as a primary cardholder, the credit card must be linked to your bank card.

Just sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "My "Accounts" from the left hand navigation
2. Click "Link Account" beside the credit card account that you would like to link to your debit card.
3. Select the appropriate slot and click on "Confirm Slot".

If you are unable to locate the credit card you would like to link to your debit card, or if the above scenario does not apply to your situation, please call Online Banking support at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 1,549 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
informations on address
Date:January 20, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam:
It is possible to write the addess for Canada. Unfortunately, for International purpose it is impossible to complete my address in Italy.
This area must be upgraded to International standard!
Italian provinces impossible to write.
Also, to write some area in upper case would make acces easier to read.
Sincerely
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion to allow online address changes located outside of Canada, Geor.

Your feedback is important to us, as the information is utilized to identify our Online Banking functionality for a more positive customer experience. Your review has been noted for consideration.

For any update to an address located outside of Canada, please write to us through the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre or call CIBC Online Banking.

Please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/inside-cibc/dept-contacts.html to obtain the telephone number to call us from abroad.
Review 1,550 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Everything fine except for one thin
Date:January 20, 2013
I understand that its good to have a filter for online questions, but when someone really needs a response, cant use a phone because of location, and they get sent in a circle with an automated response that double the time between a question and a real person looking at the problem, its really quite irritating.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I'm sorry for the unsatisfactory automated response that you received.

To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements.

I would like to ensure that you receive a reply to your original correspondence. Please write to us with your original note with the following methods:

1. Sign on to CIBC Online Banking and send a secure e-mail
2. Send us a regular e-mail by completing the online form at www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

I apologize for any inconvenience this error may have caused and thank you for the opportunity to address this issue.
Review 1,551 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Baden
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Small business HST payments
Date:January 17, 2013
To pay HST I have to transfer to another bank to pay online from my account.When will CICB allow direct transfers for HST.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry about filing and paying government taxes online, Frank.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

To pay and file business taxes, you must sign on to Online Banking with a Small Business or Imperial Service bank card. Then:

1. Select the "Customer Services" tab from the navigation bar.
2. Select "Pay and File Business Taxes."

For more information, visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/small-business/cash-management/govt-pmt-and-filing-srvc.html.
Review 1,552 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:St Leonard
Province: QC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
CIBC Visa
Date:January 15, 2013
I have four products with CIBC and all of them work relatively well to use online. One of the suggestions I would make it to update your CIBC Visa website quicker. I made a payment 4 days ago (from my CIBC account) and it's just now that I am seeing that the payment went through. Also, the "available funds" field gets updated automatically as soon as you submit the payment but the other fields such as "Balance" do not and so the calculations never match for me. I have to literally stop using the card, nor make payments, and wait 4 to 5 days until everything gets updated on the site in order for everything to match and for the calculations to be correct. This is very frustrating. It is extremely important for me to see my credit card balance "live" or as soon as possible and using this product online is not living up to my expectations
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

A CIBC credit card payment made through CIBC Online Banking is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for two business days. Whether the payment is made using the Pay Bills or Transfers features of Online Banking, it is immediately shown as available credit and can be used for new purchases. You may need to sign off from Online Banking and sign on again to see this update.

The "Available Funds" field for your CIBC credit card account reflects the most up to date transactions processed on your card. The "Balance" column does not. The most recent balance on your personal CIBC credit card account will be displayed, but again will not include all transactions or accrued interest.
Review 1,553 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Thornhill
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 15, 2013
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,554 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:West Van
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
e-statements only
Date:January 14, 2013
They do not tell you you can not download statements (unless you go to e-statements) until AFTER you sign up.
Other credit cards allow it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.

You can choose to receive either a mailed statement or an eStatement, but not both for the same deposit or credit card account.

eStatements contain the same information as mailed etatements. eStatements offer greater convenience with secure, electronic delivery through CIBC Online Banking whereas Mailed Statements are printed and mailed to you. eStatements minimize paper clutter and help the environment by using less paper.

Visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html for more information.
Review 1,555 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Saskatoon
Province: SK
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Pleased
Date:January 14, 2013
I have used CIBC online banking as my main resource for all banking needs for several years now and have never been disappointed. My one suggestion (submitted earlier this week) has been responded to and I look forward to hearing the results.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,556 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Fort Frances
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Paying Corporate Taxes online
Date:January 12, 2013
There is nothing in your helps to be able to pay corporate taxes online, through my business account.
Very unsatisfactory.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

To pay and file business taxes, you must sign on to Online Banking and:

1. Select the "Customer Services" tab from the navigation bar.
2. Select "Pay and File Business Taxes."

Watch the demo at http://promo.telus.com/CIBC/index.html to find out how easy it is to file and pay government taxes online.
Review 1,557 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Oakville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Love it
Date:January 12, 2013
Great all around - use it on the PC, ipad and BlackBerry - all work great and I am always on top of my banking.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,558 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Fredericton
Province: NB
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 11, 2013
I am having a difficult time when signing on. I have tried to set up a fake card id(as stated) but it will not hold the code I choose.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with the 'Remember my card number' feature.

With the ‘Remember my card number’ feature, you'll have the choice of labeling your card number with a card description (e.g., Rachael's Bank Card).

When using this feature, you must:

- accept persistent cookies
- accept session cookies

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer. If you clear your cookies, your bank card number will be removed.

Go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=cookie to read about how to accept cookies , or you can use your browser's Help section.
Review 1,559 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Castlegar
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
no after hours banking
Date:January 11, 2013
It takes two days to process requests made after bank hours. What is the point of internet banking?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Transactions done through Telephone, Online or Mobile Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day. Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days.

This information is available online at https://www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/personal-acct-service-fees-en.pdf on page 35.
Review 1,560 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Belleville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
outstanding
Date:January 10, 2013
I am a sole personal care giver and on line banking with CIBC is the greatest feature I have going. Easy;accurate; quick.
I could ask no more thank you
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1541-1560 out of 2708 reviews <<prev 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 ... 136 next>>