Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,178 reviews)
5 stars
1,541
4 stars
514
3 stars
256
2 stars
194
1 star
673
2,018 out of 2,770(73%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 1,141 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Pattimae S
City:Port Alberni
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
doing things in my account
Date:January 6, 2013
I love the CIBC banking online cause they are right on top of what I do and message me back very quickly when needed.
It's awesome when I make an unusual transaction and they message me about it, just in case it wasn't me. I thank them for that.
I have been with CIBC for over 35 years, and tend to be there another.
The only bank, as I use 3, that are there for me to make the best with my monies.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 1,142 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:North Bay
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Could not do without it!
Date:January 7, 2013
I find online banking the best thing since slice bread. I can not do without it! My days are extremely busy and I do not have time to go to the bank to transfer funds or pay bills. I did have doubts at the beginning but I wish I got started sooner. Don't knock it until you try it It's convenient, save time and money.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 1,143 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Judy B
City:Fort Frances
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC response to online inquiries via secure email
Date:January 8, 2013
While the CIBC online banking services provide detailed and accurate account details in a very convenient manner I feel the customer service responses to secure online inquiries are lacking. The email contact link indicates my message has been sent yet I have not received any reply from the CIBC concerning my message. I am left with the impression my email was sent (and should have been received) but no one is willing to take the time to respond. I feel there is much room for improvement. Apart from this I am very satisfied as a customer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
We apologize that we did not respond to your earlier correspondence, Judy.

We make every effort to answer all messages quickly and accurately. I regret we did not meet this commitment to you.

I would like to ensure that you receive a reply to your original inquiry. Please write back to the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre and include your original note. If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422.
Review 1,144 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Sudbury
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Easy to move around
Date:January 8, 2013
Love the iPhone and ipad app!! Way to go CIBC! One recommendation is to be able to easily book an appointment with an advisor when you are logged on instead of trying to figure it out through "contact us". If there was a single click "book appointment here" button-would have made my life easier. Other than that, love the site!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Online Banking experience with us. We appreciate your positive review.

Your comments are important to us, as the information is utilized to identify our Online Banking enhancement opportunities for a more positive customer experience. Your suggestion has been reviewed for consideration.
Review 1,145 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Ajax
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
no one answers your phones
Date:January 9, 2013
Online registration isn't functioning and no one answers the phones
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

At the time of your call, we may have been experiencing a higher than usual call volume and accordingly, our response time may have been longer than usual. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Visit www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=register+online to read about how to register for CIBC Online Banking. The registration process will take 10 minutes or less to complete.
Review 1,146 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:ljbsafety
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Change was not necessary
Date:January 9, 2013
The previous version of home page was very user friendly. I am a senior and the change from having the sign on menu infront of you as soon as the interenet page loaded encouraged me to START BANKING. The current page was and is very difficuult to navigate around and the sign in button is not obvious. The rest of the home page is crowded and too bjsy. Thats my two cents oh inflation .5 cents worth whether it will be considered or not.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. Your feedback is valuable to enhance the CIBC Online Banking experience.

To sign on to CIBC Online Banking from our homepage:

1. Go to www.cibc.com.
2. Enter your card number into the 'Card Number' field.
3. Enter your password into the "Password' field.
4. Select the blue 'Sign On' button.
Review 1,147 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Napanee
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
cannot access my on-line accounts
Date:January 10, 2013
Once again I am in Panama and I cannot use my on line accounts because I have incorrectly answered my personal question! Please help me out
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
I'm sorry to read about your difficulties signing on to Online Banking in Panama.

If you've forgotten your Personal Verification Answers and have been locked out of Online Banking, please call Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

If you're calling from Panama, please call 1-902-420-2422. Collect calls are accepted if you cannot access your account online because you have been locked out by your Personal Verification Questions. Please specify this at the beginning of your call.

Then,
1. Press "1"
2. Enter your 16 digit debit card number.
3. Enter your 3 digit Telephone Banking Password (If you don't have a Telephone Banking password, at the start of your call press 0 twice to be connected to a representative).
4. Press "1" for Online Banking Password Reset.
5. Select a temporary 6 digit password.

Now you can go back to CIBC.com and log in using your Card Number and the temporary password that you have selected.

Due to international calling restrictions, this method may not work when attempting to reset your password from abroad.

Please note, to select a new password, you will need your branch transit number and account number for which you have access through CIBC Online Banking or can be obtained from your cheques or an Online Banking representative.
Review 1,148 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:anobymous
City:Belleville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
outstanding
Date:January 10, 2013
I am a sole personal care giver and on line banking with CIBC is the greatest feature I have going. Easy;accurate; quick.
I could ask no more thank you
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 1,149 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Castlegar
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
no after hours banking
Date:January 11, 2013
It takes two days to process requests made after bank hours. What is the point of internet banking?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Transactions done through Telephone, Online or Mobile Banking after 6:00 p.m. eastern time will have a transaction date of the next business day. Please note that Saturday, Sunday and holidays are not considered business days.

This information is available online at https://www.cibc.com/ca/pdf/personal-acct-service-fees-en.pdf on page 35.
Review 1,150 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Fredericton
Province: NB
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 11, 2013
I am having a difficult time when signing on. I have tried to set up a fake card id(as stated) but it will not hold the code I choose.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I am sorry to read of your difficulties with the 'Remember my card number' feature.

With the ‘Remember my card number’ feature, you'll have the choice of labeling your card number with a card description (e.g., Rachael's Bank Card).

When using this feature, you must:

- accept persistent cookies
- accept session cookies

Cookies cannot read your hard drive and they cannot access files and information stored on your computer. If you clear your cookies, your bank card number will be removed.

Go to https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=cookie to read about how to accept cookies , or you can use your browser's Help section.
Review 1,151 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Sean
City:Oakville
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Love it
Date:January 12, 2013
Great all around - use it on the PC, ipad and BlackBerry - all work great and I am always on top of my banking.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,152 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Fort Frances
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Paying Corporate Taxes online
Date:January 12, 2013
There is nothing in your helps to be able to pay corporate taxes online, through my business account.
Very unsatisfactory.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

To pay and file business taxes, you must sign on to Online Banking and:

1. Select the "Customer Services" tab from the navigation bar.
2. Select "Pay and File Business Taxes."

Watch the demo at http://promo.telus.com/CIBC/index.html to find out how easy it is to file and pay government taxes online.
Review 1,153 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Saskatoon
Province: SK
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Pleased
Date:January 14, 2013
I have used CIBC online banking as my main resource for all banking needs for several years now and have never been disappointed. My one suggestion (submitted earlier this week) has been responded to and I look forward to hearing the results.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,154 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:clydefsmith67
City:West Van
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
e-statements only
Date:January 14, 2013
They do not tell you you can not download statements (unless you go to e-statements) until AFTER you sign up.
Other credit cards allow it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.

You can choose to receive either a mailed statement or an eStatement, but not both for the same deposit or credit card account.

eStatements contain the same information as mailed etatements. eStatements offer greater convenience with secure, electronic delivery through CIBC Online Banking whereas Mailed Statements are printed and mailed to you. eStatements minimize paper clutter and help the environment by using less paper.

Visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/features/estatements.html for more information.
Review 1,155 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Thornhill
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 15, 2013
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 1,156 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:luna0013
City:St Leonard
Province: QC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
CIBC Visa
Date:January 15, 2013
I have four products with CIBC and all of them work relatively well to use online. One of the suggestions I would make it to update your CIBC Visa website quicker. I made a payment 4 days ago (from my CIBC account) and it's just now that I am seeing that the payment went through. Also, the "available funds" field gets updated automatically as soon as you submit the payment but the other fields such as "Balance" do not and so the calculations never match for me. I have to literally stop using the card, nor make payments, and wait 4 to 5 days until everything gets updated on the site in order for everything to match and for the calculations to be correct. This is very frustrating. It is extremely important for me to see my credit card balance "live" or as soon as possible and using this product online is not living up to my expectations
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

A CIBC credit card payment made through CIBC Online Banking is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for two business days. Whether the payment is made using the Pay Bills or Transfers features of Online Banking, it is immediately shown as available credit and can be used for new purchases. You may need to sign off from Online Banking and sign on again to see this update.

The "Available Funds" field for your CIBC credit card account reflects the most up to date transactions processed on your card. The "Balance" column does not. The most recent balance on your personal CIBC credit card account will be displayed, but again will not include all transactions or accrued interest.
Review 1,157 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Frank
City:Baden
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Small business HST payments
Date:January 17, 2013
To pay HST I have to transfer to another bank to pay online from my account.When will CICB allow direct transfers for HST.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 18, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry about filing and paying government taxes online, Frank.

CIBC Government Payment and Filing Service allows you to remit tax payments electronically to avoid mail delays and late payment charges. You require a CIBC Business Operating Account™ with additional option and a CIBC Small Business Convenience Card® to use this service.

To pay and file business taxes, you must sign on to Online Banking with a Small Business or Imperial Service bank card. Then:

1. Select the "Customer Services" tab from the navigation bar.
2. Select "Pay and File Business Taxes."

For more information, visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/small-business/cash-management/govt-pmt-and-filing-srvc.html.
Review 1,158 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:malcom
City:calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Everything fine except for one thin
Date:January 20, 2013
I understand that its good to have a filter for online questions, but when someone really needs a response, cant use a phone because of location, and they get sent in a circle with an automated response that double the time between a question and a real person looking at the problem, its really quite irritating.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I'm sorry for the unsatisfactory automated response that you received.

To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply. Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements.

I would like to ensure that you receive a reply to your original correspondence. Please write to us with your original note with the following methods:

1. Sign on to CIBC Online Banking and send a secure e-mail
2. Send us a regular e-mail by completing the online form at www.cibc.com/ca/write-to-us.html

If you would prefer to speak with someone directly, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

I apologize for any inconvenience this error may have caused and thank you for the opportunity to address this issue.
Review 1,159 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Geor
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
informations on address
Date:January 20, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam:
It is possible to write the addess for Canada. Unfortunately, for International purpose it is impossible to complete my address in Italy.
This area must be upgraded to International standard!
Italian provinces impossible to write.
Also, to write some area in upper case would make acces easier to read.
Sincerely
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion to allow online address changes located outside of Canada, Geor.

Your feedback is important to us, as the information is utilized to identify our Online Banking functionality for a more positive customer experience. Your review has been noted for consideration.

For any update to an address located outside of Canada, please write to us through the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre or call CIBC Online Banking.

Please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/inside-cibc/dept-contacts.html to obtain the telephone number to call us from abroad.
Review 1,160 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Ridgetown
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:January 21, 2013
Didnt help me at all. Still cant make transfers from my cibc account to my cibc visa account
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorJanuary 21, 2013
I’m sorry to read of your difficulties with transferring funds online to your credit card account.

To transfer funds online from your CIBC bank account to your CIBC credit card as a primary cardholder, the credit card must be linked to your bank card.

Just sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:

1. Select "My "Accounts" from the left hand navigation
2. Click "Link Account" beside the credit card account that you would like to link to your debit card.
3. Select the appropriate slot and click on "Confirm Slot".

If you are unable to locate the credit card you would like to link to your debit card, or if the above scenario does not apply to your situation, please call Online Banking support at 1-888-872-2422.
1141-1160 out of 1868 reviews <<prev 1 ... 56 57 58 59 60 ... 94 next>>