Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.648 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (3,180 reviews)
5 stars
1,543
4 stars
514
3 stars
256
2 stars
194
1 star
673
2,018 out of 2,771(73%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 41 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Bill
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Canadian Online Banking
Date:March 16, 2014
Living in Europe I find that online banking in Canada is only slightly better than when I left. In Europe I can use online banking to make payments all over the world as long as I have the proper SWIFT code and the appropriate bank number. For example I made online banking payments to Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, UK and US directly from my PC. I hope CIBC will be the first bank in Canada to allow full online banking. On the other hand I find that the CIBC customer service is top notch and convenient. Of course, since I live in Europe, my personal data is not entirely right as I cannot use a city and province outside Canada.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 42 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Bluebird
City:Ladysmith
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Excellent Service for CIBC patrons
Date:March 14, 2014
I was never a believer in online banking until the CIBC rep in town here explained how quick and easy it was to use, that was 21/2 years ago! I just love its convenience to do transactions online at home or from my Smart Phone while travelling. Safe, Reliable and Convenient Service.
Review 43 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Lauretta
City:North York
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
So simple and convenient!
Date:March 14, 2014
I am 86 years old and the on-line service is a God send. No matter how cold or hot the whether or how well or lousy I feel I almost always am able to do my banking fast just sitting at my desk at home and it is always right. I never had any kind of trouble and I have used it since the service started. The only thing I have to do at the bank with interact is getting money from my daughter's European credit card account when I need it, but I guess the technology is not up to it yet.
Thank you for your marvelous service, keep up the good work
Kind regards,
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 44 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:crestenann
City:calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
bEST
Date:March 7, 2014
All bank i been applied this the bank dont give me hard time.Thank u so much
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 45 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Hummer
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Account issue
Date:March 7, 2014
I had a issue with an Interac e-transfer which could not be dealt with online. The agent, Marshall, assured me that the monies were in our account (wrong one) and that I would be able to correct this with a visit to my branch on my rector home from vacation. Marshall was courteous, professional, and pleasant to deal with.
Review 46 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:SueD
City:Guelph
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
deposit
Date:March 7, 2014
The staff at the CIBC on Clair Road in Guelph and the staff at the CIBC on Ottawa and River in Kitchener were really helpful and deserve a 10 out of 10 for service.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 47 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Alerts
Date:March 6, 2014
It was really helpful to be aware of the hold on funds that had happened on our newly created joint savings account.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 48 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:vicky
City:chisasibi
Province: QC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
password and secret question
Date:March 5, 2014
I entered my secret question. I dont remember if I left a space in the name. Ive been trying to fix it and create a new password. Maybe it's the cell but it doesnt give me an option to enter my banking Info to restart. I am very frustrated.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 49 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Elaine
City:Thornhill
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
postdated payment online banking
Date:March 5, 2014
I am a senior - this is so convenient, process easy to understand & being notified when payment has gone through really helpful
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 50 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Paul
City:Lethbridge
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Cant login
Date:March 4, 2014
I keep getting a page asking me to verify my personal details. is this legit? if so what a stupid way to do this without notifying your customers first.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMarch 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the sign on procedure for Online Banking.

There are a number of reasons why you may be asked to answer one of your Personal Verification Questions (PVQ’s). For example, if you are signing in from an unfamiliar IP Address, the system may require further identification as a security precaution.

Adding PVQs to the sign on process is intended to provide an extra level of security for our customers' financial information.

Also, you will be prompted more frequently if you are traveling.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 51 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Jahneisha
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:March 4, 2014
i was very happy with my services today from the CIBC representative that helped me today. He was amazing and he helped me switch to the right accounts , so i wouldn't get unnecessarily charged. I am thankful for Johnathan 3253, he was a great help. This makes me want to keep banking with CIBC.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 52 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Angus
City:Deux-Montagnes
Province: QC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Can't Access Online Banking!
Date:March 4, 2014
I've been entering my Login information correctly since last night with no luck. CIBC Login tells me "Incorrect Information" or fix "Caps Lock Key". There is nothing wrong with my entries!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMarch 7, 2014
I am concerned to read of your difficulties signing in to your Online Banking.

We are unable to give you access to your online account if your password is incorrect.

For instructions on resetting your Online Banking password, please visit:

https://www.cibc.com/ca/query/index.html?qt=lost+password

Thank you for your comments.
Review 53 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:WHITEHORSE
Province: YT
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Online banking interruptions
Date:March 3, 2014
I have been trying for 3 days to pay my PLC and other bills online, and I have been unable to do so because the online banking function has been down.
This is not the first time I have experienced online banking being out of service at month-end. I rely on online banking for bill paying because I live out of town - where my bank is located - and severe weather often limits my ability to travel the distance required to access my account in person.
My PLC payment is due today, and it will now be late. I don't believe I should have to pay a penalty or have my credit history affected as a result of this interruption to the online banking service. I hope you can assist me in this regard.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 54 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:t times two
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Great Customer Service Received!
Date:March 3, 2014
I just got off the phone with an excellent CIBC representative, S. S.. He addressed all my problems and concerns even though I wasn't 100% sure what I was trying to ask, myself. He was extremely patient and this must have been the most non-frustrating conversation I've had! Five gold stars for you and your superb service, S. S.!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 55 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Saanichton
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Still waiting for a response
Date:March 2, 2014
Sent a request to CIBC to explain a double debit on the same day to the same company in Oct 2013 and still have not received a reply. Sent a follow-up request in Dec and again no reply. Why have the site if you questions will not be answered?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMarch 7, 2014
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

We would like the opportunity to address your inquiry.

Please send us a secure message through the Message Centre. To avoid getting an automated response, please select Other and Other from the drop down menus. In the subject line, please put BV#54812262.

Once we receive your inquiry, we will respond.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 56 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Christine
City:London
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Customers using credit cards overseas
Date:March 2, 2014
I find CIBC incredibly unhelpful when it comes to trying to deal with credit card concerns overseas. It is not possible to make overseas collect calls from most countries, if you are travelling on a pay-as-you go phone card then you can't keep track of calling costs, and the advice to send concerns by fax is ridiculous. Who even owns a fax machine these days? I don't understand why concerns cannot be made directly to VISA via email and why scanned documents for proof of problems cannot be sent. Surely an email is no less or more secure than a fax machine. I am not sure why I pay a $99 annual fee when I am the one who has to pay money every time I have a problem. Even when I notify VISA that I will be travelling for instance, my credit card gets declined and it is I who must pay for the phone charges, and it takes forever to be bounced from one operator to the next, only to be given, every single time, some unclear explanation that a computer declines the credit card and that VISA has no control over it. What therefore is the point of letting you know I am travelling if you have no control over declined purchases.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMarch 7, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to clarify our procedures with regards to contacting and communicating with Credit Card Services.

From abroad, Credit Card Services can be reached at (514) 861-4653. Collect calls are accepted.

If you are unable to make a collect call from your current location, you can make a regular long distance call by calling the above-mentioned number. CIBC Credit Card Services will reimburse you for any long distance charges incurred as long as you are able to provide a phone bill or invoice indicating the charge.

Concerns regarding client accounts cannot be made through email as this is not a secure form of communication. It is actually one of the least secure.

Fax, on the other hand, is an encrypted transmission. People cannot hack and decode your fax message, even if you're using a standard old fax service on telephone lines. Fax service also quite popular with many businesses.

We offer the use of fax machines in order to accommodate and reach out to as many of our clients as possible.

By informing CIBC Credit Card Services of your travel plans, it does not eliminate any chance of your card being blocked.

Instead, it minimizes the likelihood that your account will be blocked.

Information regarding your travel plans is taken into consideration when monitoring your account for suspicious transactions. This information will minimize the likelihood of your account being blocked while travelling and minimize any inconvenience to you.

Thank you for comments.
Review 57 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:sigi
City:Haliburton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
very happy
Date:March 1, 2014
I was very happy with the customer service, prompt answers and ease of use of the CIBC site, which I use regularly.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 58 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:nan2
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
online banking service
Date:March 1, 2014
The system is so good and efficient to do all my banking needs, i.e. balance checking, fund transfer, settling of credit card's bills...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 59 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Sparwood
Province: BC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Message center
Date:February 28, 2014
My message center no longer works but i still recieve emails , i have the latest update alaivable .. Please fix !!!!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 60 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:slimebuck
City:Vernon.
Province: BC
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Awesome, I get treated very well
Date:February 27, 2014
Very happy with CIBC, and their online banking. No complaints, no problems.
They make everything easy to deal with and easy to understand.
I personally have never seen the online banking down or unavailable.
best bank I have ever used.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
41-60 out of 1869 reviews <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>