Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.448 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,381 reviews)
5 stars
1,917
4 stars
656
3 stars
389
2 stars
310
1 star
1,109
2,358 out of 3,263(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 41 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Brampton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Best Online Banking Site
Date:June 13, 2016
I have accounts at five different financial institutions in Canada and US and CIBC's is by far the easiest to navigate and the most intuitive. Well done.
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 42 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Kanata
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Frustated
Date:June 10, 2016
Every 2nd time I try to log on to do banking I get some sreen advertising the latest/greatest way to invest. The screen won't go away & prevents me from doing the 1 thing I wanted to do BANKING!!!!!!
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 43 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Midland
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
advertising
Date:June 9, 2016
I am absolutely sick of all the advertising preambles which I do not want. It slows and cancels out my getting into my accounts. And you gave me no choice but to go online since you cut back the service of getting a printout at the itw.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 44 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
E- deposit
Date:June 8, 2016
I am having trouble with e-deposit since CIBC changing to the new system. Error " retake photo" keeps appearing even when the pic is clear and readable.
This is not acceptable. I have to visit the bank to deposit cheques after multiple tries.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 45 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
Online Banking: Not registered
Had enough!
Date:June 6, 2016
At one time this app worked perfectly on my phone. No issues. Then it would not let me enter the site without their upgrade. From there, I had to enter my bank card # every time. However the real trouble was my password. At first it worked, then wouldn't, then I finally had to change it. Again it worked and now it doesn't. I've now deleted the app from my phone. So...done!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 46 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Thunder Bay
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
excellant
Date:June 4, 2016
When we moved to the townhouse two years ago, it was a while before I had the on line banking available. I was lost until it was hooked up.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 47 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Hamilton
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
I love The online banking
Date:June 2, 2016
I do love the online banking! Only thing that upsets me is they wont cash a check from the USA They want to hold it for 30Days!! They are a bank and for the last 6 months I've been cashing my checks ay money mart! Is that not messed up?
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 48 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Annoyed at Increased Advertising
Date:June 2, 2016
On-line banking is fine but the 'offers' when I log in are getting more and more intrusive and making the on-line experience more annoying. If there is a service I really need I'd rather that the person I deal with at the bank contacted me.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 49 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Date:June 1, 2016
As to features our friends down south of the boarder have greater features such as alerts on credit card charges by text.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 50 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Fredericton
Province: NB
Online Banking: Not registered
CIBC Visa transfer Gold to Classic -Why the delay?
Date:May 31, 2016
I have my new Classic visa card with new number I have been using. I'm wondering why my old visa aeroplan Gold has not been transferred funds onto my new Classic visa card yet online.
I would like to pay off my existing debt on classic card. I'm waiting for transfer from old card to new Classic card online.
Why the delay?
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I can certainly appreciate your concerns, in regards to your Classic Visa. Through this channel I cannot determine the reason why the funds have not been transfered over. If you recently completed a product change, it can take 6 weeks for the new account to reflect the funds that you had prior. To investigate this further, you can contact CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653. Assistance is available Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to midnight, and Saturday through Sunday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. eastern time. If you're calling from abroad, please call (514) 861-4653. Collect calls are accepted.
Review 51 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:ottawa
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Asked a question, got a joke for a reply!
Date:May 30, 2016
I decided to ask a question about the interest charged in April, since it had spiked in that month, even though I had made no purchases and the balance was lower than in prior months. Rather than looking into the account got a standard letter...that's not customer service, that's plain laziness.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I regret to read of the following, and I apologize for this experience you have encountered. I would like to review this further. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #113111000” as the subject . Ultimately you can also contact CIBC Telephone Banking to investigate further. Telephone Banking can be reached at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 52 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:West Kelowna
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:May 30, 2016
I find the online pages to bulky and confusing. Too much info showing and once you start a process such as e-transfer there are too many steps compared to other banks pages. I would prefer a simple page with access to further info at the side bar. I would also like to have the available funds removed as it's distracting and misleading. Thank you.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I can certainly appreciate your concerns. Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 53 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Fantastic service
Date:May 30, 2016
Having over the years dealt with various banks here and abroad I have decided to be a loyal CIBC customer as the service is excellent and I never feel like I am wasting time/energy/funds - Thank You CIBC
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I am very pleased to read of the following, thank you for your continued years of banking with CIBC.
Review 54 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Westbank
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Not helpful
Date:May 30, 2016
Asking me to call the branch after I ask for online help is not helpful. I asked for a way to send an attachement and they did not.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I can certainly appreciate your concerns. And I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I would like to review this matter further on your behalf. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will look into your concerns. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #113058303 ” as the subject. For immediate assistance, you can contact CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 55 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:grand falls windsor
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
services
Date:May 30, 2016
i found the site to be extremly easy to use would definately recommend cibc tto friends
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
Thank you, for your wonderful remakrs in regards to our online website.
Review 56 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
So fed up with maintenance all the time
Date:May 29, 2016
It's honestly ridiculous that there always doing maintenance espically when you need to get online but they have shut down online services for hours. And it happens so often !! This really needs to change
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016

I can certainly understand your concerns, with online maintenance. We do our best to advise clients of schedule maintenance via "Message Centre" through Online Banking. During maintenance, if you need to access your Online Banking, you can contact CIBC Telephone Banking directly to complete any transactions. They can be reached at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 57 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sherwood Park
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
New APP and online system sucks
Date:May 28, 2016
Everything worked great until a few months ago. Online via PC is down alot of the time. Sometimes my different accounts appear and disappear. The APP on my phone is only rarely able to allow me to log on. Great upgrade guys!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By Ryan CIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I can certainly appreciate your concerns, and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Our technology team would like to investigate the issue you have experienced. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will look into your concerns. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #113079110” as the subject.

For immediate assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 58 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
what happen to the home page of CIBC
Date:May 28, 2016
Why is the home page of CIBC showing so not business like for a bank? it has changed or it is compromised? I went to do my online banking and it does not look like a site to be trusted.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
I can certainly appreciate your concerns, in regards to our website. Please advise if you are utilizing the following website; https://www.cibc.com/en/personal-banking.html. I would like to review a screenshot of the website you are viewing. Please send us a message with the screenshot through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will look into your concerns. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #112950433 ” as the subject. To send a screenshot, you can do the following;

Open a new Word document and paste the screen print on it:
a. by simultaneously holding down the Ctrl and V keys, or
b. by right-clicking in the document and selecting "Paste."
Review 59 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Airdrie
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Assistance with Etransfers not given
Date:May 27, 2016
I have attempted to get assistance with Etransfers twice and been promised a phone call twice, but no help nor phone call comes my way. I am extremely frustrated with trying to get an error message concerning adding Etransfer recipients rectified. When I sent an online message for help, I just got a form letter that did not address my concern in any way, shape, or form. This lack of customer service and communication is appalling from a major bank in Canada!
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
Please accept my deepest apologies for any frustration that this has caused you. I would like to review this matter further on your behalf. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will look into your concerns. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #112918392 ” as the subject. For immediate assistance, you can contact CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 60 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Statement-line of credit
Date:May 26, 2016
I have asked the statement of my line of credit from(2012-2014) since Feb. 2016 and it's now May 26th. Called bank, went there and they suggested to call over the phone for telephone banking. over the 4 months I have talked to 5 people, first employee said, it will take 10 working days, waited for two weeks and third week instead of statements, I got a single piece of paper saying line of credit closed I knew it was but I needed the statements which I had made very clear. Second time I called, nothing happened, third time called, assured me very kindly about taking care of everything, sorry ten times, provided reference number, 6-8 weeks and second week I received a letter saying "Thank you for your request through PC telephone banking for CIBC, we are unable to complete the request due to account number is missing." Is this some kind of joke or unprofessionalism, I have been calling since Feb. and no one bothered to ask me the account number or how hard is it to search account number if you have all other information about me. Fourth time i called and the employee said it is impossible to request over the phone about statement of line of credit that has been closed, you have to go the branch. Ok, I am really confused, if this is the case why did first 4 employees not told me. I am still waiting from fifth person's response because he has e-mailed to the bank and promised me as before like others, that bank will e-mail me about my request. This is May 26th, 2016
Response from CIBC:By RyanCIBC ModeratorJune 6, 2016
Please accept my deepest apologies, this is not the impression we want to leave you with. I would like to escalate this matter on your behalf. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will look into your concerns. Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #112574309 ” as the subject. For immediate assistance, you can contact CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
41-60 out of 2735 reviews <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 137 next>>