Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,349 reviews)
5 stars
1,909
4 stars
655
3 stars
382
2 stars
308
1 star
1,095
2,352 out of 3,247(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 41 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Cochrane
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Trying to find statement
Date:May 12, 2016
Every month I have a hard time trying to find me statement. I don't think its very user friendly, even typing in the number does not help, getting very frustrated with it. Not sure the Petro-Points are worth it. Would like to pay my bill.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 42 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Grande Prairie
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Online Bank Statement
Date:May 9, 2016
Why are cheque images not available with the online bank statement? They should be included like they are for the paper statement. It is an onerous task to print off each individual cheque (not to mention the excess use of paper).
I do bookkeeping for 18 clients, most who get online statements. CIBC is the only bank who does not provide cheque images with the online statements.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By NirojaCIBC ModeratorMay 13, 2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Online Cheque imaging has been a feature of our Online Banking since April 1, 2013. You can view a cheque by using the Account Details feature of CIBC Online Banking.


I certainly appreciate your suggestion with respect to how Online Banking can be improved. Communications such as yours help determine areas that require attention. Thank you for taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 43 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Hamilton
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Date:May 7, 2016
I have been banking with CIBC for more than 7 years and they have improved tremendously. I am confident I have chosen the best bank for me.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By NirojaCIBC ModeratorMay 13, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction. I am delighted to hear such positive feedback regarding our services. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue looking after your Banking needs.
Review 44 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Great customer Service
Date:May 2, 2016
I contacted the call centre on May 2nd and had a wonderful experience speaking with a rep - she was thorough, polite and respectful and very knowledgeable. I was very impressed with the level of service I receive.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 45 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Richmond
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Online Banking
Date:May 2, 2016
The site is easy to navigate. Occasionally, when there is a difficulty, it is resolved quickly through customer service.
This is an extremely convenient way to manage transfers and payments. Transactions and balances are easy to access.
E-Statements facilitates finding data re: past purchased, deposits, etc. At tax time I use E-statements to compute expenses and income.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 46 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Washago
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
security
Date:May 1, 2016
CIBC online banking never feels secure to me. On other sites I sign in with a nickname (I don't have to give my full legal name), a password, and I'm asked a security question. On CIBC I have to write in my actual account number and no security question. I want to see an upgrade in security measures.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ElodieCIBC ModeratorMay 2, 2016
Thank you for your comment.

I can certainly appreciate your concerns.

I can assure you that as long as you maintain the security of your bank card number and password, no one can gain access to your account information through the Online Banking application. Similarly, no one can gain access to your accounts from a banking machine without your bank card and secret code.

Additionally, various security measures are an integral part of Online Banking. For example, encryption technology scrambles information with a digital password. Firewalls mask the access path to computers and inhibit unauthorized or irregular access. Other security measures are also used.

In the unlikely event that someone gains unauthorized access to your accounts through CIBC online services, we will reimburse you 100% of the money lost from your accounts provided you have met your responsibilities to us.

If you have more question about CIBC Online Banking security, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422.
Review 47 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
The requests prior to banking online are driving m
Date:April 29, 2016
Please stop doing all these requests for reviews, services etc before I can get into my accounts and pay bills. You have constructed these so that it is hard to navigate out of them - frustrating! I just want to do banking
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 13, 2016
I apologize for the inconvenience caused when you were presented with the Online Banking offer.

We use this as an opportunity to provide information to customers about products and services that may be of interest to them. We also provide updates on security issues, and new releases.

I can appreciate your point of view, and would like to assure you that you have the option of cancelling this feature – except for information on security issues and new releases.

To opt out, simply select the link "Do not send me Online offers in the future."

Alternatively, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. The representative you speak with will be able to make changes to your Online Banking profile that will eliminate future offerings. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

If you decide to opt in for such offers again, simply call the number above.
Review 48 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Surrey
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
System not working
Date:April 28, 2016
It has been weeks since the weekend 'fix' and now when you hit 'sign' on the page flickers on and off like its going to crash. Of course you cannot log on and the confidence level for this system keeps getting lower. This has been going on for weeks! Could not find an entry of 'in' for convenience rating ...inconvenienced again.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ElodieCIBC ModeratorMay 2, 2016
Thank you for your comment.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience and frustration this caused you.

This situation can happen if you are accessing our website using a bookmark or if your browser remembers a previous Online Banking session. We would recommend that you always access CIBC Online Banking using the Sign on button located on our main page at www.cibc.com. We also recommend you to always clear your browser's cache after you complete your Online Banking session.

If you are still experiencing difficulties signing on to Online Banking, our technology team would like to investigate the issue you have experienced. At your earliest convenience, please forward more details to feedback@cibc.com with BV109217163 in the subject line.

Thank you.
Review 49 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Jasper
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
How Apps Should Work
Date:April 27, 2016
It's got what I need, and doesn't have stuff I don't need.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 50 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Victoria
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Online banking
Date:April 26, 2016
constant pop ups selling or promoting that are difficult to decline and have removed from my banking tasks at hand. Don't respond to the decline button.
I've tried several "sites" without finding a user friendly one that allows me to tend to my banking business without interruption. One sight even has pop ups when trying to enter my password.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
I apologize for the inconvenience caused when you were presented with the Online Banking offer.

We use this as an opportunity to provide information to customers about products and services that may be of interest to them. We also provide updates on security issues, and new releases.

I can appreciate your point of view, and would like to assure you that you have the option of cancelling this feature – except for information on security issues and new releases.

To opt out, simply select the link "Do not send me Online offers in the future."

Alternatively, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. The representative you speak with will be able to make changes to your Online Banking profile that will eliminate future offerings. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

If you decide to opt in for such offers again, simply call the number above.
Review 51 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Finding a cheque image
Date:April 23, 2016
Instruction #3 was not clear:
Transaction type (if you want to only view your cheques, select the transaction type “Cheque or Preauth. Debit”)
This instruction does not match what shows on the screen. There is no drop menu for cheque or preauth.debit. I had to scroll through the transactions to find my cheque. When I clicked on it, I got the image. That worked well, but #3 is not valid.
When I called the help no., it hung up on me and then was busy. I figured it out myself with the Help button - very good!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 2, 2016
Thank you for your comments. I can certainly appreciate your concerns when trying to view your cheque image through CIBC Online Banking.

You can view a cheque image by using the Account Details feature of CIBC Online Banking.

In order to be able to sort your transactions to only see cheques, please select "Custom Search" and select "Cheques" under the "Transaction Type". Please note that depending on the date of the cheque clearing, you may also need to sort by the date.

Once sorted, select the underlined cheque number of the cheque you would like to view.

Once you have read and agreed to the disclosure statement that is displayed during the first step, select the "Accept Fee and View Image" button.

If you every require assistance with any Online Banking transactions, you can always call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422.
Review 52 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
1990 Indian Princess Of Dawson Creek
Date:April 23, 2016
I enjoy thd email transfers, although I really like the business for the kind, well-manored, politeness that the staff of cibc has, I enjoy doing business with Your company, Thankyou and have a great day!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 53 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Brampton
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Alert and message options
Date:April 22, 2016
It is great to have control of so many features. It allows us to full customize our banking needs. Well done CIBC.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
I am pleased that you are enjoying the convenience of Online Banking and that you have taken the time to express your satisfaction.

Your praise of our service options are greatly appreciated!
Review 54 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Lindsay
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Time for a refresh
Date:April 20, 2016
This site is tired and old and slow. It is becoming annoying to use as the bank keeps shoving unsolicited offers in front of the log in slowing me down. It needs better integration between my personal, investment and business activities. If it wouldn't cause a huge disruption changing everything that has been in place for years I would be evaluating alternatives. Inertia is a bad form of customer retention.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By MorganCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, comments such as yours are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our services.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused when you were presented with the Online Banking offer. I can appreciate your point of view, and would like to assure you that you have the option of cancelling this feature – except for information on security issues and new releases.

To opt out, simply select the link "Do not send me Online offers in the future.

Alternatively, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422
Review 55 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Brantford
Province: ON
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Date:April 19, 2016
I'm very frustrated haven't been able to get on-line banking for a couple of weeks.
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 2, 2016
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Your access difficulties may be resulting from using an older browser version that we no longer support. In this case, some functions may not work and troubleshooting is not available. Please review our browser requirements. You must have JavaScript enabled on your browser to use CIBC websites. We use JavaScript to make our websites easier to use.

If you are continuing to experience difficulty with accessing CIBC Online Banking, please give us a call at 1-888-872-2422 and an agent can assist you in troubleshooting the problem.
Review 56 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:ladysmith
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:April 17, 2016
at this point, after maintenance shut down, i am terribly disappointed. i have lost my list of bill payees as well as interac list. on one page it lists my savings account as a checking account, very difficult and confusing.
prior to this upgrade the system worked well, so it was fixed?
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while accessing Online or Mobile Banking at the time of your visit.


If you are still experiencing difficulties signing on to Online Banking, our technology team would like to investigate the issue you have experienced. At your earliest convenience, please forward more details to feedback@cibc.com with BV108073398 in the subject line.

Alternatively, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422 for assistance.
Review 57 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
CIBC ONLINE BANKING REVIEW
Date:April 14, 2016
5 stars in customer service. I have been a client for more than 4 years now.
4 stars given for features as there is always a room for improvement. Up to the minute credit card transaction history is very much welcome. This will help confirm the most recent transactions of the card holder, instead of waiting 2-3 business days before the latest transaction to appear in the credit card transaction history.
5 stars for convenience
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback!

Thank you for your suggestion to have up to the minute credit card running balances added to Online Banking. Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service.

For CIBC credit card accounts, the Account Details view displays all transactions received from the merchant and processed by VISA or MasterCard. This includes transactions for the last 13 months. Depending on the time it takes the merchant to process the transaction, the update to your Account Details view can be delayed by a few days.

For the most up to date information on your credit card, please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653.
Review 58 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Global transfer
Date:April 13, 2016
New Global transfer is secure to use and the money reaches in time where it is needed urgently. It shows the rates clearly. No one can use you number to do illegal transactions. The fraud team is in alert. Thanks Fraud services department. Overall, the customer service both at the branches and main office is very good and considerate. I have registered in online-banking.
Issa
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By MorganCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased that you are enjoying the convenience of Online Banking and that you have taken the time to express your satisfaction.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue looking after your banking needs.
Review 59 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Can never connect anymore.
Date:April 13, 2016
I'm sick and tired of trying to get to your on-line banking page. Every time I make an attempt lately, I am not able to connect. Yes I've tried everything under the sun but all to no avail. Very frustrating.
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By morgan CIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
Please accept my apology for any inconvenience this has caused you.

If you are still experiencing difficulties signing on to Online Banking, our technology team would like to investigate the issue you have experienced. At your earliest convenience, please forward more details to feedback@cibc.com with BV107405631 in the subject line.
Review 60 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Very bad online service
Date:April 13, 2016
Very bad online service. You are talking to a machine that picks answer from templates that close to your problem.
They should know that is not working for all cases.
10 years a go CIBC representative used to call and discuss the issue, solve it in couple of days.
Now a day I got 4 emails 3 to 4 days a part with standard template to one confirm the branch address, the second one to confirm the address, etc..
Just buying time and not solving problem.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By CristianCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2016
I'm sorry for the incorrect response that you received.

To maintain our service level commitment to you, we sometimes use the automated response capability of our software to help send a quicker reply.

Accuracy and clarity are among our top priorities, however errors do occur. To minimize the possibility of error, we regularly test the automated function of our system and manually review the responses that are sent out. This process also allows us to track your suggestions for system or product enhancements.

When contacting CIBC through Online Banking, please send us a secured message through the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre. This ensures that we have a representative take care of your inquiry directly.

Once you are signed on to CIBC Online Banking, select My Message Centre from the left panel and select New message. A window will appear. Please choose "Other" in both the Category and Sub-Category to avoid an auto-response. After you compose your message, select Send.

For immediate assistance to future inquiries, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422.
41-60 out of 2708 reviews <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 136 next>>