Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Online Banking

Online Banking
Average Customer Rating:
3.499 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (4,132 reviews)
5 stars
1,854
4 stars
633
3 stars
361
2 stars
289
1 star
995
2,296 out of 3,169(72%) of clients would recommend CIBC Online Banking to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Online Banking
Review 41 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Regina
Province: SK
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Lack of response
Date:January 4, 2016
The convenience of sending secure messages is excellent and the promise to reply within 24 hours is great. Unfortunately, I have not received any response to my Messages which were sent on December 23 and 29, 2015 and it is now January 5, 2016. If this is because of the holiday season then maybe there should be a message posted to advise customers when they should expect to receive an answer to their questions.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2016
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We recently experienced technical issues with Message Centre in Online Banking. A fix has recently been implemented.

To better assist you, please send a secured messaged with BV99202950. For immediate assistance, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422.
Review 42 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
No response from online secure message
Date:January 4, 2016
Great disappointment with CIBC secure message, I have wrote since 19 December 2015. I have sent 5 messages and after sending the message it always indicate a 24 hrs response. It is 4 Jan 2016 and there is not a single reply.
How do you value your customers?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2016
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We recently experienced technical issues with Message Centre in Online Banking. A fix has recently been implemented.

To better assist you, please send a secured messaged with BV99200652. For immediate assistance, please call Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422.
Review 43 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:mississauga
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
available funds
Date:December 30, 2015
I received a message regarding some funds available but they weren't transferred into my account not even after 10 days ! This is ridiculous
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2016
I apologize for any inconvenience.

I would like to review the original e-mail you received, as this may be a form of e-mail fraud called "phishing". Phishing e-mails claiming to be from legitimate companies target wide distribution lists. Please forward the e-mail to fraud@cibc.com. Do not copy and paste the e-mail. Once we review it, we will write again.

To investigate this matter immediately, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

To be connected to a live representative, or if you do not have access to a touch tone phone to navigate the telephone menu, please remain on the line. The automated message will repeat itself and you will be automatically transferred to a representative.
Review 44 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
iOS app broken, otherwise fine
Date:December 30, 2015
Online and telephone customer service are excellent. Anything involving actual humans (other than my local branch) is great. Please keep up the good work and make sure your people know they're appreciated by customers!
Online banking via browsers is OK for providing the necessities--no better than any other bank, and with less searchability on old transactions than some other (non-Canadian) banks--adequate but nothing spectacular. On the other hand, this is just banking, it's just the provision of a service--like electricity, water, garbage collection, internet and other telecomms--so not something to get excited or enthused about...
But when all that's really needed is a basic service, the app is a miserable failure. It is currently not working and has not been working for a while. Please, CIBC, make some effort. Also its security is poor (compare to other banks in other countries, on which see recent UK work on banking security.
This is an area in which CIBC could afford to invest, and which could give them an edge over competitors; the other main areas would be if CIBC were to reduce their charges and to offer ethical investments, and to do so as the norm rather than the exception.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2016
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

On behalf of CIBC, I want to thank you for your praise of our customer service. Your compliments are very much appreciated.

We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 45 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Abbotsford
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Complete Satisfaction
Date:December 29, 2015
I am satisfied with internet banking and use of credit card from Pakistan. My family is also highly satisfied with CIBC banking in Canada.
I just want to say keep it up.
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2016
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

On behalf of CIBC, I want to thank you for your praise of our services. Your compliments are very much appreciated.
Review 46 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Good, but missing some important features
Date:December 29, 2015
I like the overall interface and the features are well implemented. However I find it frustrating that I can't set up a wire transfer online, or set up a recurring transfer without using a pre-authorized debit. Using the pre-authorized debit is fine if you want someone to regularly "pull" money from your account, but what about being able to regularly "push" money, i.e. transfer it, to someone's account?
Like I say, the overall quality of CIBC's internet banking is high, but there are features that I take for granted with other online banking services that should be implemented by CIBC.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
Thank you for your suggestion. Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service.
Review 47 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Listowel
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
Frustrating
Date:December 29, 2015
If you enjoy always having to get on the phone and talk to someone as to why your online banking doesn't let you in and then calling someone and being put thru drills as to each account activity line to get it resolved, and then if you don't remember, it is a matter of getting on your boots and coat and physically going to the bank and get a print out and then it defeats the purpose of online banking!!!!
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
I apologize for any inconvenience.

Our technology team would like to investigate the issue you have experienced. At your earliest convenience, please forward the answers to following questions to feedback@cibc.com with BV98584643 in the subject line:

- What is your full name?

- What is your postal code on file?

- What is the name and version of your browser?

- What is the name and version of your operating system?

- What were you trying to do when the problem occurred? Provide the exact steps you performed on your computer to trigger the issue you encountered with as much details as possible.

- When was the exact date and time you last experience the issue you encountered?

- Were you able to perform the action that triggered the issue in the past without problems? If yes, do you remember when you were last able to perform that action?

- Was there an error code or error message displayed on the page? Please provide description.

- If you access Online Banking using another computer, are you able to replicate the issue?

- If you access Online Banking using a different browser, are you able to replicate the issue? What is the name and version of that browser?

- Did anything change on your account or card recently?

- Did you change anything on your computer recently?

Once we receive your response, we will forward it to our Technology Department for further investigation.

For immediate assistance, please call CIBC Online Banking at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Review 48 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:lethbridge
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
ENOUGH OFFERS
Date:December 28, 2015
Please stop putting offers on home page over and over and over
also please notify when you know people are doing email scams on your behalf.
They look very official and I am sure you are aware. Customer first every time
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
I would like to review the original e-mail you received, as this may be a form of e-mail fraud called "phishing". Phishing e-mails claiming to be from legitimate companies target wide distribution lists. Please forward the e-mail to fraud@cibc.com. Do not copy and paste the e-mail. Once we review it, we will write again.
 
For recommendations that will help protect you when performing online transactions, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/legal/olb-safety-tips.html.
 
If you are a CIBC customer who provided personal banking information through a link in an e-mail, please call CIBC Online Banking immediately at 1-888-872-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You will be asked for your card number and other information to initiate an immediate investigation. If you visited the fraudulent site, please clear your browser's cache, then close it and reopen it before accessing CIBC Online Banking again.
 
If you have used your CIBC Online Banking password for any other services or websites, we recommend you reset your password at your earliest convenience.
 
For example, your Online Banking password should be unique and not the same as:
- your personal email account such as Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, Rogers, Shaw, Sympatico …
- for Social Media/Networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest …
 
In order to reset your Online Banking password, please visit https://www.cibconline.cibc.com/olbtxn/authentication/ForgotPassword.cibc .
Review 49 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Overseas
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Customers address
Date:December 28, 2015
.... and another thing!! It seems that cibc only caters to clients that live in Canada, and assumes that their customers never live any where else. A perfect example is this review I am completing now. My only options for location are the provinces of Canada. I also find that ALL correspondence from cibc only has 1-800 telephone numbers for contact. It is very, very rare that an area code telephone number is supplied so it is extremely difficult to reach the bank by phone. I cannot believe that I am the ONLY customer who lives outside Canada. At least put 'other' or 'outside Canada' as an option, so we don't have to put in a made-up address!
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

If you're calling from outside Canada and the U.S., you may be able to reach us toll free at 888-872-2422 provided you're calling from one of the following countries:
 
§ Australia
§ Austria
§ Belgium
§ Denmark
§ Finland
§ France
§ Germany
§ Hong Kong
§ Ireland
§ Israel
§ Japan
§ Malaysia
§ Netherlands
§ New Zealand
§ Norway
§ Singapore
§ South Korea
§ Switzerland
§ Taiwan
§ United Kingdom
 
To use this number, dial the international calling code, then the number, followed by 1 (e.g., 001 then 888-872-2422 + 1).
 
If you're calling from another country, or are unable to get through on the above toll free number, please call 1-902-420-2422. Collect calls are accepted. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
 
For more information, please visit https://www.cibc.com/ca/inside-cibc/dept-contacts.html
Review 50 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Overseas
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
Account transfers
Date:December 27, 2015
First - I don't like that the payment to Visa does not show right away on Visa. I know the funds are available but I want to see it on my online Visa statement immediately, once it comes off my bank account. Don't see why we have to wait - sometimes up to 4 days. Second - why do we have to scroll down to get the transfer confirmation number. Why can't it show on the same part of the screen as the rest of the info. Do you really have to put such big gaps between the info, so that the confirmation number is out of sight. A small thing, but it really annoys me!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
We welcome comments and suggestions about the content of future upgrades to our online services. Your remarks have been noted for review with the Internet Banking team.
Review 51 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:kuujjuaq
Province: QC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
please change
Date:December 26, 2015
i would like to change my email from my cibc please
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
To change your e-mail address, just sign in to CIBC Online Banking with your card number and password, and:
 
1. From the left-side navigation bar, select "Customer Services"
2. Select "Change Your Contact Information"
 
Updates to your contact information will take effect immediately.
 
If you have used your CIBC Online Banking password for any other services or websites, we recommend you reset your password at your earliest convenience.
 
For example, your Online Banking password should be unique and not the same as:
 
- your personal email account such as Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, Rogers, Shaw, Sympatico …
- for Social Media/Networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest …
 
In order to reset your Online Banking password, please visit https://www.cibconline.cibc.com/olbtxn/authentication/ForgotPassword.cibc .
Review 52 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: Not registered
site set up
Date:December 24, 2015
I liked the way my mobile banking page was like before. And someone there made me change to this site, I even had to reenter my card. Donot like this set up. Thanks for screwing it up.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 29, 2015
I apologize for any inconvenience. Communications such as yours help us determine areas of improvement.
Review 53 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Checking my account balance
Date:December 24, 2015
I want to find my balance and transactions. Why do you make it next to impossible to get this basic information. In short - how do I get this.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2015
Upon signing into Online Banking, you will be presented with a one-page snapshot of your bank accounts, loans, mortgages, credit cards and investments.

The balance displayed for your bank account is the most up-to-date balance that we have and includes your most recent transactions. Please keep in mind, however, that your balance may not reflect all cheques that you've written or payments that you've authorized because they may not have yet have cleared your account.

The most recent balance on your personal credit card account will be displayed, but again will not include all transactions or accrued interest.

Please note that some new accounts can take up to six weeks before the balance can be displayed online.

If you have any questions or have difficulties accessing this feature, please call an Online Banking representative at 1-888-872-2422. If you don't have a Telephone Banking password, at the start of your call press 0 twice to be connected to a representative. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Review 54 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Carleton Place
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Account Transfers & Bill Payments
Date:December 23, 2015
Deliberately slow to transfer funds to pay CIBC VISA or other Bills. Deduct funds immediately from account to reduce potential interest accrual and hold funds with the anticipation CIBC VISA will be overdue and charge late fee interest charges. Takes longer than 3 business days to transfer money to an accredited Canadian financial institution. Not reliable service
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2015
Thanks for bringing your concerns to my attention.

CIBC credit card payment made through CIBC Online Banking is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for 1-3 business days. Whether the payment is made using the Pay Bills or Transfers features of Online Banking, it is immediately shown as available credit and can be used for new purchases, unless you are over your credit limit. You may need to sign off from Online Banking and sign on again to see this update.
 
If you transfer funds from your CIBC deposit account to your CIBC credit card through CIBC Telephone Banking or at a CIBC bank machine, it is credited on the day the payment is made, but will not show up on your credit card balance for 1-3 business days.
 
If you deposit the payment directly to your CIBC credit card account at a CIBC bank machine, it will be credited and show up on your credit card balance within 3 business days.
 
Payments made at a CIBC branch will not show on your credit card balance for up to 5 business days. However, payments are dated for the day they were made.
 
Payments made through other financial institutions will be posted to your credit card account within 3-5 business days. Payments are dated for the day CIBC receives them.
 
Payments made through mail are credited and the available credit updated the next business day after they are received at CIBC Credit Card Payment Processing Centre. However, they are dated for the day they are received.
Review 55 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Moncton
Province: NB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Slow Visa transaction updates
Date:December 21, 2015
It really bothers me that I can't see the transactions on my Visa card as they happen. I can see them in my bank account. AND, don't give me some processing mumbo jumbo, because I can see the transactions as they happen with a credit card from another bank, so why not CIBC? There's no reason why I can see the available credit, but not what this credit is being spent on. In fact, in this day and age it's not safe.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 56 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Date:December 19, 2015
I tried to re-order cheques on-line like I have in the past, but the name that came up on the sample was my name only instead of both mine and my wife's names. I could not change this. What is happening to this on-line service?
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 57 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Huntingdon
Province: QC
Online Banking: Not registered
ABM changes
Date:December 16, 2015
Great improvement. Easier to use - touch screen a big improvement - has familiar feel with the advent of touch screen phones and iPads/tablets. Faster, more convenient, particularly the elimination of the deposit envelopes! Terrific to have a copy of the deposited cheque on the deposit slip.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 17, 2015
Your compliment about the new ABMs is very much appreciated. I hope future enhancements will continue to meet your expectations.
Review 58 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Convenience
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sometown
Province: BC
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Held customer funds
Date:December 16, 2015
I have two personal accounts with CIBC, savings and chequing. My business also banks with CIBC, the accounts are not connected to each other. The main issue I have; is whenever I deposit a cheque into my personal account that comes from my business, is that the funds are held for up to a week. And yet when I check the business account, the funds are withdrawn immediately. Why are the funds held from my account? Where does MY money sit for that week? People work for two weeks, then they get paid. Why do you hold their money for an extra week? Some people are not millionaires and actually need the money in order to live. Your banking system is a backwards system, you reward the rich and penalize the poor.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 17, 2015
I understand your frustration at having funds held whenever you make a deposit.
 
When you deposit funds into your account, they are held for a minimum of 3 business days after the day of deposit to allow time to process the deposit. Before providing access to the funds, we must confirm that the cheque or cash is included in the deposit envelope and that the amount indicated is correct. For cheques, we must also confirm that the payee and the date are valid. A hold may be extended beyond four business days for personal cheques or large sums. Deposits at a banking centre may also be held at the discretion of the branch. A certain amount of any deposit you make may be available for you to use immediately. This would have been conveyed to you when you opened your account.
 
We rely on the information provided by the credit bureau when we establish a banking relationship with you. Your hold limits are based upon the information received from your application, as well as that obtained from the credit bureau. This information is different for every applicant and therefore, the hold limits and access to funds vary from customer to customer.
 
Holds can also apply to certified cheques, money orders or bank drafts, even if they are deposited at a branch, if the item cannot be verified.
 
Funds deposited to your account electronically excluding eDeposit (such as direct deposits of pay, etc.) are not subjected to any holds.
 
Visit http://www.cibc.com/ca/chequing-savings/article-tools/hold-policy-cheques.html for details.
 
To discuss your hold on funds or to review your hold limit, please call CIBC Telephone Banking at 1-800-465-2422. Assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Alternatively, you can place your request at your home banking centre. Such a review is subject to the length of time you've held the account, and the nature and frequency of deposits you've been making.
Review 59 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
AMAZING CARD
Date:December 16, 2015
For someone that has Timmies every morning, this card is amazing. I make all my purchases from gas to furnitures on this card. The incentives are and their customer service is on point. They go out of their way to help you with their problems. Considering, it is fairly new, it is amazing !
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 17, 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I'm happy to know you start the day with us. Moreover, I want to thank you for your praise of our customer service. Your compliments are very much appreciated.
Review 60 for CIBC Online Banking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Seniors Account dilemma
Date:December 16, 2015
I have been trying to determine whether I am to be charged a monthly charge for this account and then have the charges reimbursed. I have had many confusing answers. I have been told I don't have a Seniors account and I need to set it up and then I do have a Seniors Plus account that does not have a charge associated to it but then I still get charged but then reimbursed. All I want is a straight answer folks!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorDecember 16, 2015
Thanks for reaching out to us.

I'd certainly like to get you the answers you are looking for. To allow me to look into the matter, please send me a secured message through the CIBC Online Banking Message Centre with BV97508789 in the subject line.
41-60 out of 2532 reviews <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 127 next>>