Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card

Get a Welcome Bonus of 15,000 Aeroplan® Miles, plus earn 50% more miles at gas, grocery and drug stores.
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
5
27 out of 31(87%) of clients would recommend CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Review 1 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Michael
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Absolutely useless.
Date:April 9, 2014
I had this card for a year and accumulated points. Apparently there is some time frame within which you have to you redeem them, otherwise points expire, just like mine did, so I have 0 points now. Aeroplan website is horrendous and getting to customer support will take hours. Such a useless card this, which I had to pay for an annual fee.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Aeroplan Points policy.

Aeroplan has had a mileage policy since 1997 which states that mileage will expire in accounts that have had no qualifying activity in the previous 12 months (1 year). This means that you must earn or redeem at least 1 mile in a 12 month period to keep your account active.

Details regarding their policy can be found at this link:

http://aeroplan.frontlinesvc.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/709

For more information, Aeroplan can be reached directly at 1-800-361-5373.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 2 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:agjeffnb
City:Saint John
Province: NB
My Card of Choice
Date:April 3, 2014
I recently applied for the to Aerogold Card and have not regretted it. I really enjoyed the customer service at the Branch because there was an issue with card. Since the card was activated, a lot of Aeroplan Miles have been accumulated and for that I was able to redeem for a flight. Thank you for the great customer service
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

With this card, your Aeroplan Points can accumulate rather quickly, as you can earn twice as many miles at over 150 Aeroplan Partner brands worldwide when you pay with your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card and show your Aeroplan Card at the time of purchase.

More details can be found at this link:

http://www3.aeroplan.com/EMTCibcCards.do?card=aerogold

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 3 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Maple Leaf Lounge access
Date:March 30, 2014
Hello, I have had my Aeroplan card for many, many years.
At December 31, 2013 I had my Maple Leaf lounge access card cancelled and my fee refunded as part of the TD take over.
It is now March and I still don't have clarity on whether CIBC will be providing me with new lounge access in the future. This is frustrating as the travel season approaches and a long time client has been left hanging.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 1, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to clarify and address your concerns regarding the Maple Leaf lounge access and Aeroplan.

The Maple Leaf lounge access is affiliated directly with the Aeroplan rewards program. If your CIBC Aerogold Card was transitioned over to TD, then you will receive a new card directly from them with the Aeroplan Rewards included. As your Aeroplan affiliated card will now be with them, you will not receive lounge access through a CIBC card.

More information regarding Aeroplan and the Maple Leaf Lounge feature can be found at this link:

https://www3.aeroplan.com/mrch/travel/travel-gift-cards/air-canada-maple-leaf-lounge-pass/prodMZ1998.html

Thank you for your comments.
Review 4 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:quiggo
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
An excellent service
Date:January 31, 2014
Have been a holder for many years. Would never change it!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Matey
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent in every way
Date:January 29, 2014
I have no complaints about this card and especially want to express appreciation for the fraud alert feature. Recent fraudulent usage was identified immediately and they did not receive any money. I was notified; the card was cancelled and I was sent a new card. Bravo! Much appreciated.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:CupcakeQueen
City:North York
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Great card
Date:January 5, 2014
The thing I love most about my credit card is that it is recognized world wide so there is no problems using it while travelling. It's convenient and the different features offered are great.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am happy to read that you are enjoying the convenience of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 7 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Dina
City:Saint Laurent
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Credit card features
Date:January 2, 2014
I like very much the fact that i accumulate so many aeroplan points . I use this credit card for all my expenses as it pays off when time comes to redeem my aeroplan points .
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Aeroplan Points can be redeemed for anything from flights to activities and merchandise.

More information can be found by following this link:

https://www4.aeroplan.com/home.do?currentLanguage=en

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 8 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Adrian
City:Moncton
Province: NB
Very frustrating web site !
Date:December 29, 2013
I have spent a lot of precious time trying to figure out how to find th login page. Nothing works including google search.
7 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Fort McMurray
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 20, 2013
I love my new visa! I would have preferred to have a higher credit limit, as mine is $500.00, which forces me to use my CIBC Visa Gold to purchase larger items, and pay my rent, etc. However, in time, I'm confident my limit will be increased. Thank you, CIBC, this new card rocks :)
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Review 10 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:GKToronto
City:Aurora
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Experience Thus Far
Date:December 12, 2013
Does exactly what a credit card supposed to do.
I have only run into one store that doesn't accept my card, which has hardly been a burden.
Love the tap to pay feature, while simultaneously hating the chip/pin to pay.
The rewards aren't great for what I spend on the card. For those with a higher income who like to travel or spend a lot on flights I imagine the rewards would be more appealing.
Never had any major issues with customer service.
Overall a good card. I feel I am better suited for a different card as I don't take advantage of the many benefits of this card.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:CarloLab
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Great Card, Great Points. Annual Fee
Date:December 5, 2013
If not for the annual fee this card would get the perfect 5*'s. I use this card a lot for work expenses and I like that when $ is transferred to this card the funds are available immediately.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2013
We are pleased to read of your satisfaction with the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Review 12 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
A way to go!
Date:November 30, 2013
I have had this card for more than 20 years and would not be without it! Through Aeroplan points we have traveled to many parts of the world including Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii. Other shorter trips, too! It has also be my major method of personal requirements. Never a problem!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Nelson
Province: BC
Not bad at all :)
Date:November 18, 2013
I used this card for about two years. It has been working properly without any problem at all. I managed to collect enough points and travelled quite a lot.
I must say though, that this card is FOR those who spends a lot on regular basis. $120 is surely not inexpensive fee to pay every year but if you are a solid spender like myself and spends ($150,000 - $200,000) through company/personal expanse, then the fee basically pays itself off on the 1st trip you make.
It comes with almost every benefits as well (except the 15days out-of-province medical insurance, I think). I recommend this highly for those people who are bound to spend much.
I stopped using this card, however, since I don't use it for my company anymore. (No point using it if you spend less than $50,000 a year, in my opinion.) So I got myself Dividend Infinite Visa instead. I figured if I don't spend more than $50,000 a year, it is more beneficial to stay inside $50,000 and collect cash back at the end of the year. That's up to $1000 cash back. Plus, this card comes with every benefit/insurance there are.
If I suggest one thing to CIBC Visa, that would be the design of the cards. They seem to always go for that 'classy' looks but it would be much more fun, for people like me at least, to get 'fun' or 'simple' looks on the cards.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorNovember 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you compliments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

I am happy to read that this card has suited your needs, and that you have been able to make use of its associated reward and features.

We welcome comments and suggestions regarding our products and services. Your suggestion regarding the appearance of your Visa Card has been noted.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Review 14 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Monk
City:Montreal
Province: QC
If you're using this card for flights, think again
Date:October 21, 2013
We've been using the CIBC aeroplan aerogold card for over 10 years now. We chose this card because we collect a lot of miles and would like to redeem them for flights, which we have, but it's VERY difficult to book flights even 6 months to a year in advance. In order to book a flight we always have to use at least two times the amount of basic points aeroplan says is necessary (i.e. a flight to Florida should be 25,000 points, but it always ends up being at least 80,000 points per person) and you still have to pay half the cost of the flight. What's the point of paying for the credit card ($170 for two people), then using double your rewards to redeem and then still pay half the price of the airplane ticket. We flew oversees a few years ago, used almost double the aeroplan miles we needed just to get the flight and then still had to pay $2500 for 4 of us to fly. Just doesn't make sense. I will be getting a different credit card that doesn't use aeroplan.
40 of 42 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorOctober 22, 2013
I am pleased to read that you are enjoying the use of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

We're always looking for ways to improve the customer experience for our credit card holders. Thank you for your suggestions and will take them into consideration. Please write to us again if you have other recommendations.
Review 15 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Uniuonville
Province: ON
Date:October 16, 2013
Site keeps changing ... cannot find where to log in ......how stupid are your IT People !
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorOctober 23, 2013
I’m sorry to learn of the difficulties that you are experiencing with your access to the online banking services.

We have not implemented any recent changes to our home page or the secured sign on process.

We would like to view the web page you are using, as it may be a form of spyware. At your earliest convenience, please send us a screen shot of the sign on page you are viewing. To do so:

1. Hit the "Print Scrn" key.
2. Open a new Word document and paste the screen print on it:
a. by simultaneously holding down the Ctrl and V keys, or
b. by right-clicking in the document and selecting "Paste"
3. Save the document and name it "Screen Shot Name" – with the "Name" being your name.
4. Forward the document as an attachment to feedback@cibc.com . Please include in the subject field BV# 47776729 so that we can reference your posting.


Once we receive your message, we will forward your concerns for investigation.
Review 16 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Mutton chops
City:Sault Ste Marie
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Aerosols visa
Date:October 4, 2013
The reason that I have this card is to collect points for travelling ,always limited to one company and I do not find the rewards are that great. It took me a long time to get enough to pay half the bill of my flight. Not sure its really worth it
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorOctober 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with CIBC. I appreciate your feedback. We will use your review to improve our products and services in the future.
Review 17 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Disgruntled
City:Sechelt
Province: BC
Can't book flights
Date:August 14, 2013
I fly to the UK quite often and it is a real hassle to get a Direct Business Class flight. There are way too few seats allocated to Aeroplan. I have tried booking OFF Season and 6 months ahead and still no flights available. It used to be just "difficult but available" now it's just impossible.
I will be cancelling this card.
I do not agree with your "Terms & Conditions" and checked the box under protest in order to file this review.
33 of 40 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Khalid
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
One of the best cards in Canada
Date:July 9, 2013
I've had a few credit cards with several banks and financial institutions and this one is by far the best!
In less than a year, I was able to accumulate more than 100K aeroplan points and I could redeem some of them for flight tickets with a total value of $2500 or even more. The card also got all the features you would need like collusion damage waiver for car rentals and some others. Don't be fooled by cash back cards. Do the math!
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:JeffScott66
City:Middlesex Centre
Province: ON
AeroGold Offer
Date:June 29, 2013
Recently, CIBC offered to 'upgrade' my fee free CitiPlatinum MC to AeroGold Visa, with 15,000 AeroGold points. Sounds good, fee free for 1 year, then $120. So I did the math. First, most Canadians live within 60 miles of the Canada/US International Border. Most Canadians, unless business tend to fly south. I currently have a 'elite' credit card with another Big 5 bank, utilizing another Canadian Airline. In August, we're heading to LAX. Flying from YYZ $1781 pp, and from DTW $402 pp! (Three can fly out of Detroit for less than one from T.O) - based on $3000 per month in cc charges, this reduces the Canadian charge by $600, then adding card fees...$170 - same flight from T.O. Is now $1351, and still two can fly out of Detroit for less than one in Canada, even with reward credit cards. Now, if CIBC, or any of the Big 5 can develop a credit card with a US airline, sign me up! (One major US airline currently has a MasterCard in Canada (unfortunately with a company with a sketchy Cust serv history I would not sign up with, ever)) so it can be done. Airline travel out of Canada is extremely cost prohibitive, fees and taxes laden, while most Canadians can, and do, drive almost the same distance to a US airport as they can a Canadian one, the cards, rewards, and fees do not offer significant value for the frequent Canada-US traveller, or the fees charged.
36 of 52 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorJuly 3, 2013
We're always looking for ways to improve the customer experience for our credit card holders. Thank you for your suggestion. Please write to us again if you have other recommendations.
Review 20 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Judy
City:Mesachie Lake
Province: BC
Booking flights
Date:June 27, 2013
After saving for a trip when I tried to book for next January was told NO flights available. We are flying through Air Canada who show on their website many available seats however only 10% are reserved for users of Aeroplan. Will definitely be applying for a different card. One would think 6 months in advance would be adequate time for booking.
41 of 43 found this review helpful.
1-20 out of 31 reviews 1 2 next>>