Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card

Get a Welcome Bonus of 15,000 Aeroplan® Miles, plus earn 50% more miles at gas, grocery and drug stores.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
9
27 out of 31(87%) of clients would recommend CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Review 1 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:toronto
Province: ON
fair credit
Date:June 26, 2014
i already got a mastercard, but thinking it would be harder to get a mastercard from this bank, i had one yrs ago and paid it off completely, when i sold my house, but times changed, and wondering if you got a credit card for low credit, people to build their credit back up.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By PaulinaCIBC ModeratorJune 27, 2014
Thank you for considering CIBC for your credit card solutions.

Give us a call at our Telephone Banking and let us help you find the right card that will suit your current needs.


Review 2 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Attawapiskat
Province: ON
Was a good run, i'm divorcing CiBC
Date:June 15, 2014
Been a loyal customer with CIBC and this card was my preferred choice. Now that they transitioned my card to TD i have no choice but to leave CIBC. Wherever Aeroplan goes i will go.... I need an account to automically pay the new TDaerogold visa card. But paying from my CIBC account won't do as it would take several business days for the payment to be applied and when i'll see my funds on the TDvisacard. Starting fresh but have to let CIBC go :(
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorJune 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

The AutoPay pre-authorized payment service you set up with CIBC to make the monthly payment to your CIBC Aerogold credit card account will continue after your account servicing is transitioned to TD. There is no action required on your part to continue those automatic payments.

Your bank account will continue to be debited to pay either the minimum payment due or the full balance on your TD Aeroplan account, as shown on your monthly statement, depending on the option you selected.

Thank you.
Review 3 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Thank you for not honoring loyalty
Date:June 5, 2014
I have been with the CIBC for many years. I had had this Aerogold card for years as well. I recently found out that my card has been given to the TD. I have no dealing with the TD, and find it sad that CIBC thought so little of me as a customer to just give my information away. When I called and asked if I could keep my card with the CIBC, I was told I had to reapply for a another card. Makes no sense, been a cardholder in good standing for years and now I have to reapply. Shows how little the bank really thinks of its customers.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By HatemCIBC ModeratorJune 7, 2014
I certainly understand your frustration.

In September 2013, CIBC, TD and Aimia Canada Inc. (who owns and operates the Aeroplan program) announced an agreement that will allow both CIBC and TD to offer Aeroplan credit cards to their clients.

In December, CIBC announced that approximately half of CIBC’s existing Aerogold credit card portfolio had been sold by CIBC to TD. If you have any other bank products or services with CIBC, these are not and will not be impacted.

The servicing of your account will be transitioned to TD on June 16. CIBC will continue to service your account before June 16.

Please refer to the personalized letter you receive from TD late April or early May for more information about the transition of your Aerogold credit card account servicing to TD. It includes a summary of changes to your account and important dates to keep in mind — plus contact information, should you have any questions.

Thank you.
Review 4 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Brampton
Province: ON
was a good card for 21 years
Date:May 27, 2014
We had two of these for 21+ years, however CIBC has just rewarded us by selling all of our information to TD bank. I was informed that the card would be cancelled and that I am now a TD customer. Thanks but no thanks. If you are going to force me to redo all my pre authorized payments, and lose my history, I’m now leaving you.
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Can not depend on CIBC Aerogold card
Date:May 1, 2014
After paying my bills in full every month for 10+ years , I missed a payment because I was in Florida and CIBC cut my credit off without a call or an email.
Amex would not do this - I cannot depend on this Card for anything important like monthly scheduled charges
The agent said to switch to electronic but I could not find the site to do it and who wants to spend all your time on vacation checking for email bills.
I am phasing it out
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMay 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our Aerogold Visa Card.

I would like to have someone look into this situation, as we do not close a Credit Card if a customer misses one payment.

Please note, a hold may have been placed on your card if we were not informed of your travel plans in advance of your vacation.

Please send us additional details through the Message Centre. In the subject line, please put BV#57957704. To avoid getting an automated response, please select Other and Other from the drop down menus.

Once we receive your message, we will have a specialist look into the matter.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 6 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
This WAS a good card.
Date:April 23, 2014
My CIBC Aerogold VISA card was my preferred credit card for the past few years. I use it all the time, and the free flights I have earned has more than made the $120 annual fee worth it. Why one star? Because my business is not valued by CIBC despite having a CIBC credit card since I was 18 years old. My account has been sold to TD, and I am in the process of closing this account. If I wanted TD's new Aeroplan card, I'd have applied with them.
12 of 20 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 24, 2014
I am delighted to read of your satisfaction with the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card, and that you have been able to take advantage of free flights due to the points that you accumulated.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 7 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Absolutely useless.
Date:April 9, 2014
I had this card for a year and accumulated points. Apparently there is some time frame within which you have to you redeem them, otherwise points expire, just like mine did, so I have 0 points now. Aeroplan website is horrendous and getting to customer support will take hours. Such a useless card this, which I had to pay for an annual fee.
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Aeroplan Points policy.

Aeroplan has had a mileage policy since 1997 which states that mileage will expire in accounts that have had no qualifying activity in the previous 12 months (1 year). This means that you must earn or redeem at least 1 mile in a 12 month period to keep your account active.

Details regarding their policy can be found at this link:

http://aeroplan.frontlinesvc.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/709

For more information, Aeroplan can be reached directly at 1-800-361-5373.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 8 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Saint John
Province: NB
My Card of Choice
Date:April 3, 2014
I recently applied for the to Aerogold Card and have not regretted it. I really enjoyed the customer service at the Branch because there was an issue with card. Since the card was activated, a lot of Aeroplan Miles have been accumulated and for that I was able to redeem for a flight. Thank you for the great customer service
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

With this card, your Aeroplan Points can accumulate rather quickly, as you can earn twice as many miles at over 150 Aeroplan Partner brands worldwide when you pay with your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card and show your Aeroplan Card at the time of purchase.

More details can be found at this link:

http://www3.aeroplan.com/EMTCibcCards.do?card=aerogold

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 9 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Maple Leaf Lounge access
Date:March 30, 2014
Hello, I have had my Aeroplan card for many, many years.
At December 31, 2013 I had my Maple Leaf lounge access card cancelled and my fee refunded as part of the TD take over.
It is now March and I still don't have clarity on whether CIBC will be providing me with new lounge access in the future. This is frustrating as the travel season approaches and a long time client has been left hanging.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 1, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to clarify and address your concerns regarding the Maple Leaf lounge access and Aeroplan.

The Maple Leaf lounge access is affiliated directly with the Aeroplan rewards program. If your CIBC Aerogold Card was transitioned over to TD, then you will receive a new card directly from them with the Aeroplan Rewards included. As your Aeroplan affiliated card will now be with them, you will not receive lounge access through a CIBC card.

More information regarding Aeroplan and the Maple Leaf Lounge feature can be found at this link:

https://www3.aeroplan.com/mrch/travel/travel-gift-cards/air-canada-maple-leaf-lounge-pass/prodMZ1998.html

Thank you for your comments.
Review 10 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
An excellent service
Date:January 31, 2014
Have been a holder for many years. Would never change it!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent in every way
Date:January 29, 2014
I have no complaints about this card and especially want to express appreciation for the fraud alert feature. Recent fraudulent usage was identified immediately and they did not receive any money. I was notified; the card was cancelled and I was sent a new card. Bravo! Much appreciated.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:North York
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Great card
Date:January 5, 2014
The thing I love most about my credit card is that it is recognized world wide so there is no problems using it while travelling. It's convenient and the different features offered are great.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am happy to read that you are enjoying the convenience of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 13 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Saint Laurent
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Credit card features
Date:January 2, 2014
I like very much the fact that i accumulate so many aeroplan points . I use this credit card for all my expenses as it pays off when time comes to redeem my aeroplan points .
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Aeroplan Points can be redeemed for anything from flights to activities and merchandise.

More information can be found by following this link:

https://www4.aeroplan.com/home.do?currentLanguage=en

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 14 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Moncton
Province: NB
Very frustrating web site !
Date:December 29, 2013
I have spent a lot of precious time trying to figure out how to find th login page. Nothing works including google search.
9 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Fort McMurray
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 20, 2013
I love my new visa! I would have preferred to have a higher credit limit, as mine is $500.00, which forces me to use my CIBC Visa Gold to purchase larger items, and pay my rent, etc. However, in time, I'm confident my limit will be increased. Thank you, CIBC, this new card rocks :)
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Review 16 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Aurora
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Experience Thus Far
Date:December 12, 2013
Does exactly what a credit card supposed to do.
I have only run into one store that doesn't accept my card, which has hardly been a burden.
Love the tap to pay feature, while simultaneously hating the chip/pin to pay.
The rewards aren't great for what I spend on the card. For those with a higher income who like to travel or spend a lot on flights I imagine the rewards would be more appealing.
Never had any major issues with customer service.
Overall a good card. I feel I am better suited for a different card as I don't take advantage of the many benefits of this card.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Great Card, Great Points. Annual Fee
Date:December 5, 2013
If not for the annual fee this card would get the perfect 5*'s. I use this card a lot for work expenses and I like that when $ is transferred to this card the funds are available immediately.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2013
We are pleased to read of your satisfaction with the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Review 18 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
A way to go!
Date:November 30, 2013
I have had this card for more than 20 years and would not be without it! Through Aeroplan points we have traveled to many parts of the world including Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii. Other shorter trips, too! It has also be my major method of personal requirements. Never a problem!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Nelson
Province: BC
Not bad at all :)
Date:November 18, 2013
I used this card for about two years. It has been working properly without any problem at all. I managed to collect enough points and travelled quite a lot.
I must say though, that this card is FOR those who spends a lot on regular basis. $120 is surely not inexpensive fee to pay every year but if you are a solid spender like myself and spends ($150,000 - $200,000) through company/personal expanse, then the fee basically pays itself off on the 1st trip you make.
It comes with almost every benefits as well (except the 15days out-of-province medical insurance, I think). I recommend this highly for those people who are bound to spend much.
I stopped using this card, however, since I don't use it for my company anymore. (No point using it if you spend less than $50,000 a year, in my opinion.) So I got myself Dividend Infinite Visa instead. I figured if I don't spend more than $50,000 a year, it is more beneficial to stay inside $50,000 and collect cash back at the end of the year. That's up to $1000 cash back. Plus, this card comes with every benefit/insurance there are.
If I suggest one thing to CIBC Visa, that would be the design of the cards. They seem to always go for that 'classy' looks but it would be much more fun, for people like me at least, to get 'fun' or 'simple' looks on the cards.
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorNovember 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you compliments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

I am happy to read that this card has suited your needs, and that you have been able to make use of its associated reward and features.

We welcome comments and suggestions regarding our products and services. Your suggestion regarding the appearance of your Visa Card has been noted.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Review 20 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Montreal
Province: QC
If you're using this card for flights, think again
Date:October 21, 2013
We've been using the CIBC aeroplan aerogold card for over 10 years now. We chose this card because we collect a lot of miles and would like to redeem them for flights, which we have, but it's VERY difficult to book flights even 6 months to a year in advance. In order to book a flight we always have to use at least two times the amount of basic points aeroplan says is necessary (i.e. a flight to Florida should be 25,000 points, but it always ends up being at least 80,000 points per person) and you still have to pay half the cost of the flight. What's the point of paying for the credit card ($170 for two people), then using double your rewards to redeem and then still pay half the price of the airplane ticket. We flew oversees a few years ago, used almost double the aeroplan miles we needed just to get the flight and then still had to pay $2500 for 4 of us to fly. Just doesn't make sense. I will be getting a different credit card that doesn't use aeroplan.
42 of 44 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorOctober 22, 2013
I am pleased to read that you are enjoying the use of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

We're always looking for ways to improve the customer experience for our credit card holders. Thank you for your suggestions and will take them into consideration. Please write to us again if you have other recommendations.
1-20 out of 37 reviews 1 2 next>>