Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card

Get a Welcome Bonus of 15,000 Aeroplan® Miles, plus earn 50% more miles at gas, grocery and drug stores.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
9
27 out of 31(87%) of clients would recommend CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Review 1 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:sammi_3
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Love my Aerogold Visa!
Date:June 5, 2012
Since they lowered the min income to 15k, I've been able to use the AErogold Visa. Best way to earn Aeroplan miles - adds up so quick! Have redeemed 2 flights already for me and hubby!
50 of 79 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
Excellent card!
Date:February 19, 2013
Very pleased with my upgrade to this card. Fast way to earn miles (they add up quite quickly). Love the bonus opportunities. Excellent customer service from CIBC. Annual fee and interest rate is a bit high. I would definitely like a "low-rate" option for the card.
37 of 52 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Khalid
City:Ottawa
Province: ON
One of the best cards in Canada
Date:July 9, 2013
I've had a few credit cards with several banks and financial institutions and this one is by far the best!
In less than a year, I was able to accumulate more than 100K aeroplan points and I could redeem some of them for flight tickets with a total value of $2500 or even more. The card also got all the features you would need like collusion damage waiver for car rentals and some others. Don't be fooled by cash back cards. Do the math!
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
A way to go!
Date:November 30, 2013
I have had this card for more than 20 years and would not be without it! Through Aeroplan points we have traveled to many parts of the world including Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii. Other shorter trips, too! It has also be my major method of personal requirements. Never a problem!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Fort McMurray
Province: AB
Online Banking: Not registered
Date:December 20, 2013
I love my new visa! I would have preferred to have a higher credit limit, as mine is $500.00, which forces me to use my CIBC Visa Gold to purchase larger items, and pay my rent, etc. However, in time, I'm confident my limit will be increased. Thank you, CIBC, this new card rocks :)
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Response from CIBC:By WilliamCIBC ModeratorDecember 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card so far. For your reference, you can request a credit limit increase after six months online by



1. Log into CIBC Online Banking or CIBC VISA Online and click on "Customer Services".
2. Then click on "Request a Credit Limit Increase"
3. Fill out all required fields on the form and click "Next".



If an increase in your credit limit is approved for the amount you request, or a lower amount, the new limit will be available immediately. Please call CIBC Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653 if you experience any issues.
Review 6 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Dina
City:Saint Laurent
Province: QC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Credit card features
Date:January 2, 2014
I like very much the fact that i accumulate so many aeroplan points . I use this credit card for all my expenses as it pays off when time comes to redeem my aeroplan points .
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Aeroplan Points can be redeemed for anything from flights to activities and merchandise.

More information can be found by following this link:

https://www4.aeroplan.com/home.do?currentLanguage=en

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 7 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Matey
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Excellent in every way
Date:January 29, 2014
I have no complaints about this card and especially want to express appreciation for the fraud alert feature. Recent fraudulent usage was identified immediately and they did not receive any money. I was notified; the card was cancelled and I was sent a new card. Bravo! Much appreciated.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:quiggo
City:Scarborough
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
An excellent service
Date:January 31, 2014
Have been a holder for many years. Would never change it!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:agjeffnb
City:Saint John
Province: NB
My Card of Choice
Date:April 3, 2014
I recently applied for the to Aerogold Card and have not regretted it. I really enjoyed the customer service at the Branch because there was an issue with card. Since the card was activated, a lot of Aeroplan Miles have been accumulated and for that I was able to redeem for a flight. Thank you for the great customer service
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 8, 2014
I am delighted to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

With this card, your Aeroplan Points can accumulate rather quickly, as you can earn twice as many miles at over 150 Aeroplan Partner brands worldwide when you pay with your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card and show your Aeroplan Card at the time of purchase.

More details can be found at this link:

http://www3.aeroplan.com/EMTCibcCards.do?card=aerogold

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 10 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:sally
City:winnipeg
Province: MB
Payment Protector: not helpful, Opt out!
Date:February 3, 2013
I have been with Aerogold for a while now and I have been happy.
Although, their payment protection program I would not suggest to you. I realize that this is a separate insurance company outside of visa but Visa should still be concerned with that particular customer service aspect. I was laid off from my job a few months back and decided to go ahead and use this feature. It was very difficult, no one called you back, hard to get information, hard to speak with a live person, the phone operating system itself was terrible. When you finally did get to speak to someone they were not exactly overly friendly. Just seemed that they did not want to make it easy for me to receive the money the I was entitled to. I ended up finding a job before this got resolved and gave up, but obviously ended up getting charged interest. Needless to say I will be opting out of this $50/month option.
41 of 45 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Date:February 6, 2013
Pros: Good points system, easy to use, no hassle and the shiny gold card is easy on the eyes.
Cons: Annual fee could be less, could have more features,
It would be nice to have promotions where your interest rate drops for a few months once every few years. Or any perk aside from gaining points would be great.
28 of 40 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorFebruary 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your valuable feedback. I've passed on your suggestions to our credit card department for review.
Review 12 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:JHAM
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Annual Fee and PPI
Date:May 31, 2013
This card is very good for collecting lots of Aeroplan miles. However, on the international flights about half of the cost is fees, taxes, and surcharges. For example, Average fare to Europe is $1200, including fees of $600 approximately. Aeroplan seats are not changeable. So if you only adjust the date, you have lost the whole ticket including these surcharges, and have to re buy it. That is why I mainly use these tickets for domestic flights with lower surcharges, or international ones where I know the date is fixed.
The annual fee is worth it if the card is used a lot, and the 1.5 x points options are maximised. Some people put household bills on it.
A note about Payment Protection Insurance (PPI); this is a controversial area. Please be aware that PPI was deemed illegal in the UK, and there are ongoing major payments being made to those who formerly signed up for it.
34 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Nelson
Province: BC
Not bad at all :)
Date:November 18, 2013
I used this card for about two years. It has been working properly without any problem at all. I managed to collect enough points and travelled quite a lot.
I must say though, that this card is FOR those who spends a lot on regular basis. $120 is surely not inexpensive fee to pay every year but if you are a solid spender like myself and spends ($150,000 - $200,000) through company/personal expanse, then the fee basically pays itself off on the 1st trip you make.
It comes with almost every benefits as well (except the 15days out-of-province medical insurance, I think). I recommend this highly for those people who are bound to spend much.
I stopped using this card, however, since I don't use it for my company anymore. (No point using it if you spend less than $50,000 a year, in my opinion.) So I got myself Dividend Infinite Visa instead. I figured if I don't spend more than $50,000 a year, it is more beneficial to stay inside $50,000 and collect cash back at the end of the year. That's up to $1000 cash back. Plus, this card comes with every benefit/insurance there are.
If I suggest one thing to CIBC Visa, that would be the design of the cards. They seem to always go for that 'classy' looks but it would be much more fun, for people like me at least, to get 'fun' or 'simple' looks on the cards.
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorNovember 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you compliments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

I am happy to read that this card has suited your needs, and that you have been able to make use of its associated reward and features.

We welcome comments and suggestions regarding our products and services. Your suggestion regarding the appearance of your Visa Card has been noted.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Review 14 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:CarloLab
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Online Banking: 2 to 5 years
Great Card, Great Points. Annual Fee
Date:December 5, 2013
If not for the annual fee this card would get the perfect 5*'s. I use this card a lot for work expenses and I like that when $ is transferred to this card the funds are available immediately.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorDecember 6, 2013
We are pleased to read of your satisfaction with the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Review 15 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:GKToronto
City:Aurora
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Experience Thus Far
Date:December 12, 2013
Does exactly what a credit card supposed to do.
I have only run into one store that doesn't accept my card, which has hardly been a burden.
Love the tap to pay feature, while simultaneously hating the chip/pin to pay.
The rewards aren't great for what I spend on the card. For those with a higher income who like to travel or spend a lot on flights I imagine the rewards would be more appealing.
Never had any major issues with customer service.
Overall a good card. I feel I am better suited for a different card as I don't take advantage of the many benefits of this card.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:CupcakeQueen
City:North York
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Great card
Date:January 5, 2014
The thing I love most about my credit card is that it is recognized world wide so there is no problems using it while travelling. It's convenient and the different features offered are great.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am happy to read that you are enjoying the convenience of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 17 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:denise
City:toronto
Province: ON
fair credit
Date:June 26, 2014
i already got a mastercard, but thinking it would be harder to get a mastercard from this bank, i had one yrs ago and paid it off completely, when i sold my house, but times changed, and wondering if you got a credit card for low credit, people to build their credit back up.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By PaulinaCIBC ModeratorJune 27, 2014
Thank you for considering CIBC for your credit card solutions.

Give us a call at our Telephone Banking and let us help you find the right card that will suit your current needs.


Review 18 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:nLight
City:Richmond Hill
Province: ON
CIBC Customer: Yes
Great Card, High Interest
Date:August 7, 2012
I have used this card for years. The points are really worth while. The only problem I have is the interest rate is too high and have never received and special interest rate offers.
33 of 48 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RachaelCIBC ModeratorAugust 8, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention. We appreciate the time you have taken to write us.

Interest rates on CIBC credit cards are very competitive compared to cards issued at other financial institutions. In some cases, the rate is the same for comparable products offered by other companies.

In addition to a competitive interest rate, CIBC provides value to its cardholders in other services, such as world class fraud detection and monitoring system, electronic and Online Banking options, reward programs, insurances, etc.

CIBC credit cards are also more economical than department store credit cards as interest rates are typically lower, and CIBC credit cards offer more value-added features and benefits.

CIBC may also offer cardholders balance transfer opportunities with attractive interest rates that are lower than interest rates charged on store credit cards.

For more information, please call CIBC Credit Card Services directly at 1-800-465-4653.
Review 19 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Tomis
City:Langley
Province: BC
CIBC Customer: Yes
Aerogold or not?
Date:September 18, 2012
I agree with previous comment. I also have this card for long time - 10+ years. The Aeroplan points quickly add up. However, no special interest rate offers for long time customers makes you second guess. Otherwise, pretty good card to have.
19 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Mutton chops
City:Sault Ste Marie
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Aerosols visa
Date:October 4, 2013
The reason that I have this card is to collect points for travelling ,always limited to one company and I do not find the rewards are that great. It took me a long time to get enough to pay half the bill of my flight. Not sure its really worth it
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RishiCIBC ModeratorOctober 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with CIBC. I appreciate your feedback. We will use your review to improve our products and services in the future.
1-20 out of 37 reviews 1 2 next>>