Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card

Welcome Bonus of 15,000 Aeroplan® Miles. Earn 50% more miles at gas, grocery and drug stores.
Average Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
35
3 stars
24
2 stars
17
1 star
22
39 out of 60(65%) of clients would recommend CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Review 1 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Kanata
Province: ON
Great if you like spending hours on hold!
Date:July 19, 2016
Aeroplan and Air Canada truly have the most appallingly bad customer service of any company I've dealt with. I have been a loyal CIBC customer for years and spend a significant amount each year on this card, but after my most recent Aeroplan experience (trying to simply change a flight) I am seriously considering switching to another travel card. Aeroplan is awful. Just horrible.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Lack of available flights
Date:June 29, 2016
I have been. CIBC client since my first bank account at age 18. I spent 18 years of my career with CIBC so my loyalty stems from that. I am however increasingly disappointed when trying to use the Aeroplan points to travel!!! I've tried numerous dates and locations in North America and have yet to find a return flight with the minimal points required. I either have to use a crazy amount of points or pay almost a regular fare to upgrade to use the points.
I am truly considering a no fee card with other rewards you can actually benefit from.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Collingwood
Province: ON
Never able to use points to travel.
Date:June 23, 2016
I have had this card for a few years now and have over 300,000 points. I am in their Black Distinction but still have never been able to book a flight using my points because of no availability or huge extra fees and taxes....better to just pay cash. Would never recommend this card to a business associate!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Richmond Hill
Province: ON
Infinite Colour on New Card
Date:March 18, 2016
Not sure why CIBC would change "Infinite" colour at bottom right corner from White to almost invisible small letters in dark colour. This makes it very difficult for Air Canada agents to read.
21 of 23 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorApril 6, 2016
Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. I appreciate you taking the time to bring these comments to my attention.
Review 5 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:thunder bay
Province: ON
Good of you really like Air Canada
Date:February 18, 2016
I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with this card. I have been a member for a very long time. We do a lot of travelling and routine travelling to destination hot spots using points is almost impossible UNLESS you are willing to redeem a ton of points to get the seats. Period blackouts or limited seat availability is routine. Having said that, we did manage to fly first class to/from Barcelona a couple of years ago. Customer Service at Aeroplan has always been very helpful in planning itineraries. Still, I want to fly where I want when I want while redeeming a reasonable amount of points. So I am looking at other travel credit card options. It would even be nice if there were some perks, but AC obviously does not care and neither CIBC nor the other cards that use Aeroplan points seem to be able to deliver.
37 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Sundridge
Province: ON
Secondary card holder
Date:January 19, 2016
Me and my wife got this card about 2 years ago and we are happy with it for the most part. We travel a great deal so this is why we went with this card. Our problem we have with the card with is that the primary card holder is the only person who gets any perks. If I am traveling by myself we get no points(other than the price of the ticket), no priority boarding and no lounge.
CIBC and Areoplan may want to re-think this policy to grab more customers from TD. Allowing a "shared" program will help draw people to this card rather than TD's.
Since i pay have of the bill and book the trips with air Canada on my card we feel I should receive some perks too!!! Thank You
26 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
If it offered 20,000 miles like TD's
Date:November 29, 2015
I love CIBC credit cards for the CreditSmart feature that allows to precisely track your expenses, set up spend alerts, categorize all expenses and create own categories for spend intelligence available at the fingertips. I had CIBC Aerogold before, missing CreditSmart on my AmEx...To some reason this feature is not mentioned as CIBC card benefit anywhere, either in the CIBC cards descriptions or in the third party comparisons...Would love to get rid of AmEx and get this Infinite but I am on the fence because CIBC no longer offers 20,000 sign up bonus like TD. Hope it will match TD's offer before the year-end...
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Surrey
Province: BC
Great unless you want to use the extras
Date:August 5, 2015
You can only get the priority check in and boarding rewards if you book your flight using your Aeroplan points and if the airport / Air Canada makes these benefits available to you - which they don't.
What's the point of offering your clients all these member benefits if they are not available to use, when you need them?
A complete waist of time and energy, which left me angry.
71 of 75 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorAugust 10, 2015
Thanks for giving a review.

The primary cardholder of the Aerogold Visa Infinite is eligible for Air Canada benefits.
Air Canada benefits, including priority check-in, apply only to the primary cardholders when travelling on Aeroplan Flight Rewards booked from their Aeroplan account on all flights operated by Air Canada, Air Canada Express or Air Canada Rouge.

To further discuss this matter, please call Credit Card Services at 1-800-465-4653.
Review 9 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Don't expect to get any advertised benefits
Date:August 3, 2015
I have been a long time loyal customer with this card and have gotten little to nothing in return for my years of loyalty. I specifically need travel benefits rather than any of the other benefit cards as I am an avid Aeroplan user. Yet I receive terrible service from customer service phone lines, emails, and chats, as well as in-airprot service when trying to redeem my benefits. I have been to Toronto Pearson 3 times this year, on using tens to hundreds of thousands of aeroplan reward points yet was denied each time access to the lounge I paid for, by the service representatives who's salary I help to pay. Back when vouchers were mailed things went a bit smoother. However, these days I ask an excess of airport attendants and customer service reps how to redeem my benefits and they all say to just present THIS card and the aeroplan booked trip I have at the lounge, and then they say something else at the lounge and shut me down. This is a HUGE inconvenience to somebody who pays an annual fee for this benefit and when is in need of the service they pay for is left out to dry. Upon calling CIBC to complain about the lack of service with this card, I get pushed around from CIBC to Aeroplan to Visa and back to CIBC, nobody knows how to help get me the benefits that I specifically pay for, year in year out for many years now.
Would highly advise against getting this card, if you need aeroplan rewards just collect them with the aeroplan card itself and ditch CIBC's latch affiliation with them.
79 of 81 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By RawanCIBC ModeratorAugust 10, 2015
I'm very sorry you didn't receive the attention you deserve and expect from us. I would like to forward your concerns appropriately. To do so, please send a message to feedback@cibc.com with BV84466526 in the subject line. Briefly include details of your concern..
Alternatively, please call Credit Card Services directly at 1-800-465-4653.
I appreciate your cooperation.
Review 10 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Nanaimo
Province: BC
Booking reward flights
Date:April 20, 2015
Of late it has become increasingly difficult to book connecting flights from Nanaimo to Vancouver that are convenient for the onward or return journey from Vancouver. Frequently we have to book from Vancouver, because there are no flights available from Nanaimo that day, often requiring an overnight stay in Vancouver. This adds an extra expense to the trip. We booked our trip almost 9 months ago (2 executive class tickets to Lisbon) and I am still trying to book seats to get us home on the same day on the Dash 8 that services our airport. Aeroplan agents are really helpful, but it appears that there is little that they can do.
Otherwise, we find that the card suits our needs just fine. Any issues are dealt with promptly.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By SheddowCIBC ModeratorJanuary 26, 2016
Thank you for your feedback, Axel.

We're always looking for ways to improve the customer experience for our CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ credit card holders. We have taken your comments into consideration.

Aeroplan reward bookings are subject to capacity controls and blackout periods. The numbers of seats allocated for reward travel varies according to factors such as flight frequency and demand. This is a standard practice in the industry.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Review 11 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Markham
Province: ON
travel rewards poor
Date:April 2, 2015
Collected over 100,000 points over the last two years, tried booking a flight to Caribbean, 11 months in advance, could not get a flight! Tried many options on availability calendar tool, useless, more like non availability calendar
Maybe not suited for this region?
Also cannot pay for taxes!
Currrently looking for a new card, will not limit myself to CIBC
31 of 32 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By Ryan CIBC ModeratorMay 4, 2015
Thank you for your comments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite.

There are many options available to redeem your Aeroplan miles. It is always recommend that you discuss your options with a representative. If you have any questions regarding your Aeroplan account, please contact Aeroplan Customer Service directly at 1-800-361-5373. Assistance is available seven days a week, 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. eastern time.
Review 12 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Burlington
Province: ON
The Only Card I Use
Date:March 14, 2015
I have been using the INFINITE Aeroplan card for many years. I pay for everything with VISA, to collect points. And pay it off promptly. They were even forgiving once when my payment didn't process over the weekend to make the no interest cutoff. The card usually pays for 2-3 trips a year.
Love the new benefits - complimentary priority boarding and check-in. I have a question though on guest lounge access. It says it applies to the primary card holder only. So if I'm travelling with my wife, who also has a card (on my account), she does not get access to the Air Canada lounge?
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorMarch 31, 2015
Thank you for your comments.

I am delighted to read of your satisfaction with the card and the service received.

With regard the lounge pass, it does apply to a single entry during the calendar year for which it was provided, by the primary cardholder only.
Review 13 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Very difficult for travel - constant fraud alerts
Date:February 28, 2015
I have been a CIBC customer for over 20 years and am now changing institutions - I contacted CIBC 6 months ago to report a possible fraud charge, and they re-issued by card. Since then, I have been constantly subjected to Fraud Alert blocks on my card. I travel frequently, and notify CIBC whenever I leave the country to avoid issues with foreign transactions, but in spite of this, my card is declined frequently. The last incident involved an airline ticket purchase, and after sitting on hold for 22 minutes, the customer service rep finally came on the line, assured me the card wasn't blocked (it was), and I lost the tickets. This resulted in rebooking the tickets for hundreds of dollars more (using another institution's card), and sure enough, when I contacted CIBC again, they said a block was on my card due to high activity (third block in three days). If I can't use the card without receiving a block for "excessive activity", what value is there in having a card? Goodbye CIBC - I support and understand the Fraud Alert concept, but your customer service is incredibly poor (long hold time, incorrect information, inability to resolve the issue).
25 of 27 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorMarch 12, 2015
I am truly sorry to read of your difficulties using your CIBC Credit Card.

Your feedback is important and we would like the chance to discuss where we went wrong and how we can better our services.

Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will escalate your concerns to the appropriate department.

Please choose “other” as the category and sub-category and “BV #74092335” as the subject.

Thank you.
Review 14 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:#212 8955 Edward street
Province: BC
Never availability - Opposite of other cards
Date:February 26, 2015
Aeroplan has just sunk to the bottom. We are going to change cards and bleed off a flight or to whenever we can. Availability is ridiculous but hey they sure have no problem charging you 4 times more points for a flight from the airline that is 50% more than what a travel agent charges to suck the points out of you as fast as possible.
In a time were competition should be telling you something, aeroplan is deaf as a hammer.
19 of 20 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorMarch 12, 2015
Thank you for your review of the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.

Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements to our service.
Review 15 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Waterloo
Province: ON
Air Canada doesn't recognize priority boarding
Date:February 26, 2015
No matter how many flights I book with this card, or how many times I have tried to phone, neither Aeroplan nor CIBC can tell me why I don't get the priority boarding that this card is supposed to offer. CIBC agents are unaware of the features of this card; one told me that I had to be on an Aeroplan reward flight to receive the priority boarding benefit. This is not what it states in my Cardholder Agreement. Air Canada is downright rude about it. If you want a straight-up card that offers you Aeroplan points, and you like the online interface of CIBC (which I do), the card is fine. Just don't expect to receive the benefits you thought you would receive, and don't expect customer service.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorMarch 12, 2015
Thank you for your comments.

As stated in the terms and conditions of the card, the benefit only applies when the primary cardholder has booked their Aeroplan flight reward by redeeming the miles from their Aeroplan account. If this is the case and you continue to experience difficulties, you may wish to contact Aeroplan directly.

Thank your for reviewing the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.
Review 16 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Dartmouth
Province: NS
Confused
Date:February 15, 2015
Originally had this card for a few years and one day informed that I was being transferred to TD Aergold Infinate. I went back to the branch and applied to get the CIBC card back again as a new member again and i didnt recieve 15000 aeroplan miles. When I asked the lady she said that promotion was not on at the time. Has anyone EVER seen this promotion not on? I was not impressed.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorMarch 12, 2015
I apologize for the incorrect information received.

New applications (in most cases), are eligible for the welcome bonus.

Please contact Credit Card Services directly at 1 800 465 4653 to have them take a look at your file and confirm. If required, you may also ask to speak directly with a supervisor.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 17 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Ameliasburg
Province: ON
unhappy long term cardholder
Date:January 31, 2015
Trying to contact CIBC about the use of benefits on this card is impossible. They promise you a lot but do not deliver. For example- they offer Maple Leaf lounge passes as part of the benefit package but not one in 15 years have I received passes. Not once. Usually this is not an issue but this year I plan on taking a rewards flight with an extended layover. I have been trying for 3 days now to get information on how to get passes. One person said they had been mailed in my Visa statement- Nope. I have the statement right here. No passes. Another said "maybe they come separately" . Another said they mailed them the first week of January. Well it is Jan 30th and no passes - the statement wanting money got here fine though. I am on my 5th call and Fourth Department and over 1.5 hours total on hold. If you are thinking of this card you may want to check out RBC's offering. I know that I am going to.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2015
Thank you for your comments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

We would like to look into your concerns. Please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre after signing into Online Banking. We will escalate your concerns.

Please choose “other” as the category and “BV #71154903” as the subject.

Thank you.
Review 18 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Poor availability
Date:January 26, 2015
I am extremely frustrated with this program. Have been searching almost daily since September for dates in February and/or March using numerous options for both domestic and US destinations, using multiple dates, cities and airports. No availability anywhere, anytime. Would not recommend this card.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2015
Thank you for your comments.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

With the Aerogold, Aeroplan Miles are redeemed through Aeroplan and includes flights with Air Canada and the Star Alliance network. The Star Alliance network includes 28 member airlines and offers more than 20,000 daily flights to over 1000 destinations in 181 countries.

For assistance with flights and discussing your options, please contact Aeroplan Customer Service directly at 1-800-361-5373. Assistance is available seven days a week, 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. eastern time.
Review 19 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:toronto
Province: ON
Not the best travel card out there
Date:January 26, 2015
I had this card for a couple of years now only because the annual fee was waived. I don't know how CIBC is going to compete with other travel cards as this one offers less benefits. For example: capital one offers 30k welcome points, every $1 gives 2 points regardless where you shop and redemption is at 1 to 1. When I called to cancel my card at CIBC, they didn't offer to retain my business by offering me more points or waiving annual fee etc like other companies do. Clearly the acquisition dept isn't working with the retention dept at CIBC to stop customers from leaving. Overall, not the best card out there and customers should do their research to compare.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorFebruary 10, 2015
CIBC is committed to making sure we have the products and services that meet our client’s needs. CIBC credit card products are competitive with those offered by other financial institutions in Canada on similar credit card products.

The Aerogold Card offers other benefits such as:

Air Canada priority check-in
-Dedicated counters with personalized full check-in service available across the Air Canada network
-The customer boarding pass will include a code confirming their eligibility for this benefit. If the customer doesn't have a boarding pass, the agent screen will show that they're eligible
-The primary customer may use priority check-in, where available
-Available whenever travelling on an eligible flight operated by Air Canada, Air Canada Express or Air Canada rouge

Complimentary first checked bag
-The primary customer receives a complimentary first checked bag, up to 23 kg (50 lb), whenever travelling on an eligible flight operated by Air Canada, Air Canada Express or Air Canada Rouge:

However, your comments and feedback are valuable, and communication such as yours help us determine areas that require our attention.
Review 20 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
About Airport Benefits Aerogold Infinite-Aeroplan
Date:December 7, 2014
I have been trying to convince people at Air Canada about my benefits, specifically priority check-in and priority boarding, even I showed them the letter I received from CIBC in Feb 2014. NOBODY at Air Canada counters knows about these benefits, nobody knows at the AC call center. CIBC customer service is not familiar with the benefits. I traveled three times this year and my benefits were denied. AC does not recognize the partnership Aeroplan/ CIBC
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShanelleCIBC ModeratorDecember 11, 2014
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you.

I’d like to look into your concerns, please send us a message through your Online Banking Message Centre, or at feedback@cibc.com with the subject BV#68262902. Be sure to choose “other” as both the category and subcategory.

Please include your full name, postal code on file, and a phone number you can be reached at.

Once we receive this information, we will forward it to the appropriate department for review.

Thank you for your comments.
1-20 out of 121 reviews 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>