Browse CIBC
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card

Welcome Bonus of 15,000 Aeroplan® Miles. Earn 50% more miles at gas, grocery and drug stores.
Average Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Close X Review Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
27
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
14
39 out of 60(65%) of clients would recommend CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Review 1 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Time to move on
Date:April 12, 2014
I have been an aeroplan member for 15 or more years. At one time I was a super elite member due to flying for work. Now just a regular member who still flies pretty often for pleasure. Good luck trying to use up 300000+ points plus I still have accumulated. You either cannot get flights, even well in advance and with very flexible dates. Or you end up flying in the middle of the night. Or you end up with multiple stops and ridiculously long travel times.
For example, I recently looked at a flight to Bakersfield Calif from Calgary. I realize this is not a super popular route but Air Canada can get you there with 1 stop and about 4 hours travel time. Via Aeroplan, 3 stops and 20 hours travel time. What's the point?!
So Aeroplan and CIBC, as we are approaching the annual fee payment time I will be canceling my infinite visa and using up my aeroplan points as best I can and then moving on to a loyalty rewards program that actually values my loyalty.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 14, 2014
Thank you for your comment regarding the Aeroplan Rewards Program.

Any flights that you redeem your points for are subject to availability at the time of booking. However, I can certainly appreciate your concerns with regards to booking flights.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 2 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Tilgaz
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Consumer beware
Date:April 10, 2014
Have been collecting and using Aeroplan points from the days of CP Air (who?) and travelled the world in business class for peanuts. Those days have come and gone unfortunately. All travel reward cards have basically become a scam.
Don't forget that Aeroplan and Air Canada are two separate entities. Whereas Aeroplan used to be a loyalty program from Air Canada, it is now a BUSINESS, independently run and owned. They are only interested in making money of Aeroplan members, not to serve them and they do this in coordination with the airlines. That is why all airlines separate the taxes, fees and "fuel surcharges" from the ticket price. That way, no matter what you book, you will still get nailed for those charges in cash. As anyone knows, sometimes the fare is (sometimes a lot!) less than the cost of the taxes and fees.
The day is not far off where everything will be charged separately from the fare. We already pay separately for the taxes, various government fees, navigation fees, fuel, baggage and food. Don't be surprised if in future you're being asked to pay separately for aircraft maintenance, the pilots and crew, tire wear, hydrolic fluids, navigation equipment maintenance etc. Ultimately, fares will go down to $1 per flight and the rest is made up in fees, payable in cash. Perfectly serves the purposes of:
1. Aeroplan, which can then charge 25,000 points for a $1 flight and
2. The airline, which will still nail you for $750 cash on s $751 dollar total fare.
If you are considering this card (and I have one), the only time you will get a real benefit is on long haul trips, flying in business class. For short haul flights it has become completely useless. The difference between the cost of the fees and the total fare is sometimes only about $200 dollars and for that, using your points, you are being asked to fork over 25,000 points, i.e. will have to spend $25,000. And don't make the mistake of thinking you get a better deal with an Aventura or RBC Avion card. There are limits on the cost of the ticket you can get with your points and you will be required to pay the difference in cash! That means big bucks on long haul or business class flights.
Read the fine print for these cards before buying into the hype. Of course, if you only want to get economy tickets inside North America you may do alright.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Aeroplan Rewards Program.

Any taxes, fuel surcharges, and fees are charged directly by the airlines. Regrettably, Aeroplan and its competitors do not have the ability to cover these fees, as they are airline implemented fees.

I can certainly understand your frustration with regards to this issue, and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.
Review 3 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:CanadGal
City:Winnipeg
Province: MB
Benefited but there are better cards out there
Date:March 30, 2014
I have been a loyal Visa infinite member for maybe 5 years. I definitely have benefited greatly from the rewards program. However, I am at a point where I spent most of my rewards and will likely just cash out the rest for a measley store credit. Where do I begin. The blackout dates are inconvenient and the browser is aware of your searches, so the date you have been researching the last few days is magically no longer available the day you decide to book, requiring you to redeem additional points. When searched in a different computer with a different browser, surprise surprise, the date you wanted has the original redemption points required. Travel times suck compared to RBC avion's flight availability thru travelocity. Plus flying with United is the worst. Thanks Aeroplan for the business all these years, but I'm afraid I am moving on. In addition, I had to call aeroplan regarding flight changes that they had not informed me, whereas a flight booked with rbc avion found out 4 days earlier.....
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorApril 1, 2014
I have happy to read that you have enjoyed the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Card.

Please note that flight availability and bookings occur during real time through the Aeroplan website, and that airlines book flights through multiple outlets, such as in person, over the phone, and online. As a result, ticket availability can change by the minute. As is the case with supply and demand, prices fluctuate as a result.

Furthermore, Aeroplan does not contact customers with flight updates, as this is a service supplied by the airlines.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 4 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:Calgary
Province: AB
What happened? Ditto
Date:March 24, 2014
I agree with the review below that sent January 1, 2014 with the title "What happened?"
"We have had this card for almost 20 years and have used it to redeem for travel and car rentals. I tried to book a flight last week and for three flights, the cost of just booking with aeroplan was only $500 cheaper than paying the full rate. We will not be renewing, this cards travel rewards are a rip off. Never used to be, but are now. $700 per flight for taxes and fuel surcharge? Give me a break!"
I was looking at booking a flight to Naples Italy using Aeroplan miles and the cost was $700-750 in taxes/surcharges. That is ridiculous!!! I, thereafter, looked at booking the exact same flight on the United reward program and the cost was $200. Aeroplan is most definitely NOT competitive with the other airline reward programs available.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorMarch 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Aeroplan Rewards Program.

Please note that taxes and surcharges on flights are implemented by the airlines. Aeroplan has no say on these costs. However, I can certainly appreciate your concerns regarding these costs not being covered by the points you earn.

Communications such as yours help us to determine areas which require our attention. Your comments will be forwarded to Aeroplan for consideration.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 5 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:bernmond
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Improved?????
Date:February 14, 2014
I have been a CIBC Aeroplan user since time began.
Recently with competition I thought things would change. Not in your life.
Each time I try to book a flight with Aeroplan I quickly find out that any flight that has reasonable hours you're going to pay a premium. Travel after midnight NO PROBLEM. Travel a 6:00/7:00AM NO WAY unless you pay a premium.
They are not customer friendly. They're a BANK!
24 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:RonL
City:Edmonton
Province: AB
Travel Benefits
Date:February 6, 2014
I received a letter on January 16 that indicated the card benefits would now include purchase security, extended warranty protection, and trip cancellation insurance. Have these benefits been implemented? I have been an aeroplan member for 15 years, however I will change to a card that offers theres benefits if they are not included.
19 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:rgoldchain
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Not registered
One fatal flaw
Date:February 4, 2014
In the event of a dispute between the card holder and a service provider, the card company will decide in favour of the merchant despite good evidence the customer is right.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:RDTS
City:Narol
Province: MB
Online Banking: Not registered
statement amount
Date:January 24, 2014
In the monthly email which you send to me there is always the minimum payment noted. Please also include the total monthly statement amount as well.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:TYTO
City:Toronto
Province: ON
Online Banking: Less than 2 years
Aeroplan miles
Date:January 23, 2014
I liked the original 15000 miles offer.
The rest of the features such as insurance coverages are also helpful.
The statement alerts needs to be reviewed, since I get payment notification reminder alert 2 days after I made my payment.
Other than that in general I am happy with this card.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Raymond
City:Mississauga
Province: ON
Visa Options
Date:January 21, 2014
I have used CIBC Visa since the late 1980's. The options have changed over the years. I have tried the Aeroplan Infinite Visa card. I prefer the simple plain CIBC Dividend Visa.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:karen
City:Calgary
Province: AB
great travel card
Date:January 19, 2014
I love this card, we have travelled many times with no concerns in relation to flying on aeroplane miles.
It is pretty much acceptable everywhere. The bonus miles sure add up.
Suggestions for making this the best card ever.... No black out periods, unlimited access to the airport lounges, and the option to use points for the services fees such as airport tax.
I am a little confused with the benefits of the distinction level though and know there are services that I am unaware of. Not sure how to access medical insurance while travelling abroad etc, so better means of informing the consumer would be appreciated.
Thanks so much for the travel benefits. Without this card I would not be travelling as much as I do.
I highly recommend this card for sure.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 22, 2014
I am pleased to read of your satisfaction with the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.

For your reference, more information regarding Aeroplan’s Destinction status and benefits can be found by following this link:

http://www4.aeroplan.com/LearnMoreDistinction?currentLanguage=en&icid=ban1001203

Thank you for your comments.
Review 12 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Shilla
City:Toronto
Province: ON
New Infinite Aerogold card benefits
Date:January 9, 2014
I am very happy that effective Jan 16,2014 my card will now allow me Priority boarding and use of Air Canada lounge.
I have 2 questions
1) Am I allowed to bring a guest into the AC Lounge with this card
2) Since my flights are purchased by my company on a corporate card, do these benefits still apply based on just showing the card.
27 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Alan
City:Vancouver
Province: BC
Benefits are good but falling behind others
Date:January 8, 2014
I have been a Aeroplan Visa cardholder for over 12 years and have enjoyed the benefits. It had many good benefits that others didn't when I first signed up.
Over the past few years, the redemption of Aeroplan points for flights have been more difficult and more costly with extra fees. The credit card has useful benefits like the concierge, rental car insurance, travel interruption insurance. However, compared to other credit cards with an annual fee of $120, this card lacks benefits such as purchase security, extended warranty, price protection, trip cancellation insurance and annual renewal bonus points that others do. Since this is the credit card that I use for overseas travel, one feature that I would like to see is No Foreign Currency Transaction Fees that are available on some cards now.
I'd like to see if CIBC Aeroplan Visa will introduce new benefits to be competitive with other cards, otherwise it makes sense to move to another card with all the benefits I've mentioned above for the same annual fee.
32 of 33 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.

Your comments are valuable to us as we monitor customer demand and evaluate the feasibility of various enhancements for this product.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 14 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:bjp1
City:Kamloops
Province: BC
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Been using it a long time, and never had complaint
Date:January 8, 2014
I am happy with the card, have had one for years with no complaints. It is accepted everywhere, provides the right amount of services I need. I use it as my primary card now.
The Aeroplan program is sometimes difficult to book flights on short notice, but I am hopeful that will change with the adjustments as of 2014.
I did have the card "highjacked" a few years ago while travelling, and a car rental agent used the number to book several rugby players from Capetown to Edinburgh, but this was easily sorted out by the card company. I am now careful when traveling overseas to report the travel first, so they can be aware of misuse earlier
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I am happy to read that you are enjoying the use of your CIBC Aerogold Visa Infinite Card.

For your reference, more information regarding updates to the Aeroplan Program can be found on their website by following this link:

http://www4.aeroplan.com/language.do?lang=E

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Review 15 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Steamed
City:Caledonia
Province: ON
What happened?
Date:January 1, 2014
We have had this card for almost 20 years and have used it to redeem for travel and car rentals. I tried to book a flight last week and for three flights, the cost of just booking with aeroplan was only $500 cheaper than paying the full rate. We will not be renewing, this cards travel rewards are a rip off. Never used to be, but are now. $700 per flight for taxes and fuel surcharge? Give me a break!
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorJanuary 8, 2014
I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns regarding redeeming your Aeroplan Points.

Please note, taxes and of fuel charges are implemented specifically by the airlines and are in no way effected by the Aeroplan Points Program. Taxes and service charges on flights are consistent with all major airlines.

Thank you for your comments.
Review 16 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Amin
City:Whitehorse
Province: YT
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Very important comments
Date:January 1, 2014
It is very good that you are asking for comments, I hope you listen and improve, I am a long time heavy user of your card.
1. on the statemnt, we will like to see little more description of the retailer so that we can identify the retailer. retailer # does not make any sence to us.
2. Annual fee of $120 is extremely high. If you can waive it for new customers, give 15000 miles as start up bonus, definitely you can do that for exixting customers as appreciation too. If we cancel and take a new card we can get that easily. It does not make sence, you will loose customers.
3. Offer free cards for spouse and dependents with a seperate statement , so that they can develop some credit records, this will be your investement for future.
23 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Service
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:Pointless Points
City:Richmond
Province: BC
What happened?
Date:December 2, 2013
I have used my CIBC Aero-plan Gold Infinite card since it was offered. It included services I thought I would need: all available seats, concierge service travel agents but it has been a disappointment. All seats available (on participating airlines) is a rather cruel joke. I cannot get seats unless I buy them. If I can buy then are they not available? Concierge services are OK for Toronto, maybe, but not for me. I pay money for something that gets me points for merchandise I do no need and will not buy. Get our new card? not bloody likely when the one I did get did not meet its promises, no matter what the lawyers put in the small print. A poor investment.
33 of 33 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorDecember 4, 2013
I can appreciate your concerns with the Aeroplan Travel Rewards Program.

The Aeroplan Miles you earn can be redeemed for hundreds of Aeroplan
Rewards. You could travel to over 1,000 destinations around the world, enjoy perks at the airport, and get exciting travel packages, all by trading in your Aeroplan Miles.

More information can be found directly on the Aeroplan website:

https://www4.aeroplan.com/home.do

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Review 18 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended:No
Reviewer:fraser
City:Calgary
Province: AB
Card is Good, Aeroplan is not
Date:December 1, 2013
We have had the card for many years but we will be switching. Not because of CIBC but because of Aeroplan. When you redeem points for a flight, Aeroplan adds a 'fuel surcharge' fee. As an example, our recent request for a flight to London, UK from Canada cost 60,000 points and $704. in fees. The price for the flight was $1034. So, in reality, our points only yielded .5 percent. Not very good.
31 of 31 found this review helpful.
Response from CIBC:By ShaunCIBC ModeratorDecember 3, 2013
Thank you for you sharing your feedback regarding the Aeroplan Rewards Program.

For your reference, the Aventura Points Program may better suit your needs. Points can be redeemed for any airline and any seat, along with being used towards the full airfare, including taxes and fees.

More information can be found by following this link:

https://www.cibc.com/ca/features/aventura-rewards-program.html?WT.mc_id=Int-SPOT-AventuraPointsOffer-E

We appreciate your business, and thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Review 19 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:samb
City:st. john's
Province: NL
Online Banking: More than 5 years
Best Card I have
Date:November 22, 2013
I use my aeroplan gold card as my main card...It is convenient and has great benefits...for example, I purchase Gas at Esso & I receive double aeroplan miles.
Customer service has always been pleasant and efficient.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CIBC Aerogold® Visa Infinite™ Card
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended:Yes
Reviewer:Anonymous
City:London
Province: ON
Online Banking: More than 5 years
points
Date:November 21, 2013
We use our visa for everything. We travel a great deal , and we use our points to fly. My compaint is that to fly on points I am limited as to what airline I use and I usually have to book a year in advance to get a seat in business or otherwise.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
1-20 out of 86 reviews 1 2 3 4 5 next>>